The story of a sad unemployed NIGERIAN graduate

2 21
Avatar for Dr_Shreds
3 years ago

The surprise

I stood under the burning sun and wondered why I was created in the first place, if I even had a purpose, maybe the gods were done with me and I closed my eyes to welcome an angel or anybody to take me home.

I could hear the heavens open and the strong sound of whirlwind fills the air as it gained momentum and speed, resonating with the flapping of the wings of an angel, Alas, I will soon be...

"Shadrach!" This sounded like the voice of an angel calling me home

"Shadrach!" Wait... sounds more like my...

"Shadrach!, Have you fetched the water I said you should fetch..." yeah... sounds like my mum... I whizzed up from sleep and checked the time 8.05 am, I had fallen asleep for just 5minutes, this was day 57 of being an unemployed Nigerian graduate and I was already losing it...

I want to share a story for all my Brothers out there who may be losing faith and waiting for the big surprise... always do your best and leave the rest for God... here is my story as it continues...

I was told if I read and worked hard and be one of the best in whatever I did, life may just be easy for me. Well, it wasn't that easy... even after being one of the best I was one of the last to get placement... but I will skip the long story and get straight to the point... I stayed one full year at home after graduation. Not funny at all, but I learned a lot in that one year. Some medics may have stayed 2 and even 5 years. Don't lose faith.

After writing so many internship exams and even called for interview for some, went the extra mile of paying for "assistance at two instances" but none produced any good news. Every day I stood under the sun and wonder why I was created, why it seemed everyone was moving forward except me, why the world had left me behind... why I couldn't catch up, and so on my deepest and darkest days I saw the advert for internship placement for JUTH, reluctantly I applied and forgot about it, besides I Wasn't going to write it anyway... I am at East, JUTH is too far.

And I received a message on a Friday inviting me for the internship exam to hold on Tuesday and Wednesday interview. I told myself I wasn't going to go, I already had a gig with FMC off, I was going to click.. lo and behold the next day FMC off the list was released and my name wasn't there... boy how a grown-up man cried... I said "connection" failed me again... a very good friend of mine Augustine pressured me to go for JUTH, give it a trial, and I said NO, lemme focus on NAUTH I began going from office to office at NAUTH looking for a savior... that night my day called me and something brought up the issue of JUTH, he said I should just go and write, besides I had nothing to lose, told him about the financial implications, I had no money again after jumping from one state to another and he told me he got me covered... so I reluctantly packed my stuff and the next day I traveled to jos...

Reached around 10 pm, was too tired, couldn't even read... the next day I rushed to JUTH and immediately I got there I discovered I left all my credentials back at Nnewi... chia, my village people have finally caught up with me, how a big boy cried that day... I just stood confused and agitated, boy I was crying... like the interview was tomorrow what am I supposed to do, I checked my watch, 7.45 am, I called my senior brother who was at Onitsha to please head down to Nnewi and get my original certificates and waybill it to Jos for me, he could hear me cry and he left all he was doing and rushed to Nnewi, got the certificates from a friend who had my keys and waybill it immediately... the interview was tomorrow, I knelt and prayed that somehow it gets to me tomorrow...

I entered the exam hall confused and unfocused, I couldn't even remember my name, I said a short prayer and wrote the exam. "Everyone comes with your original certificates or don't come at all," the examiner said like he was talking directly to me... after the very intense exam while everyone was saying it was simple, me it was very difficult ohhh... I called my brother and he said he had done the waybill... God let my coming here not be for nothing...

The next day the interview was to start by 9, I collected someone's number and told them if they started they should call me, I stayed at the park from 7, 8, 9, 10... no bus had arrived, "ehhh!! You say!! Luxurious bus kee you dre!!" I hung up the phone in anger.. my brother had done the waybill via a luxurious bus and I just heard the bus spoilt on the road... I was so devasted I just bent my head to cry.... lord... just take me.

I felt my phone vibrate, I looked at my watch 3.32 pm.. did I fall asleep or something.. 32missed calls from my brother and the guy who I told to call me, I called him back, he said he left the hospital since and when he did it was remaining like 20people to be interviewed... God what's happening... the hospital was like an hour from where I was, 2bus drops... I hurried and was asking myself why I am even in a hurry.. omo I just took my time and went to the hospital to try my luck... when I got there, the examiners were already packing up, I asked a girl where they were doing the interview and she told me they finished an hour ago but I should just enter and see if they allow me... I said a short prayer and entered

"Good afternoon sir and ma, I am here for the interview"

They all looked at me puzzled, I forgot how untidy I was, I had removed my tie, my shirt was flying out and my hair scattered...

"Please, I had a very stressful day... I forgot..."

"Did you finish from UJ"... an interviewer interrupted my explanation...

"No sir, from unizik sir..."

"I did my MSc. In unizik, did you know so and so lecturer...." and that was how they engaged me in a conversation while I tried to gain my composure...

"Sit down..." then they started asking me questions and to God be the glory though difficult, somehow I knew the answers and at every point, we discussed or derailed... after the interview... one was like "so show us your original certificates so we can tick them.."

I wanted to start explaining and the other cut in "please there is no time, and he ticked everything for me..." I was just so stunned that a big boy had to cry once more... I helped them pack up and they wished me good luck... I had to wait till Saturday before my original certificates reached jos then off I went back to Nnewi

A month later I got a message "congratulations, you've been offered internship placement at JUTH..."

See yeah, when God decides to embarrass you with blessings, he removes all avenues where man can decide to take the Glory and show you that he and he alone did it... and you know why this was perfect, I applied for something at the University of Jos last year January and I also got a mail last two weeks that I had gotten what I applied for... just see how God works... I use to wonder why JUTH, now I get it... I forgot about the second application but God never forgets when he is involved... see... work hard and pray.. you will soon get your own

"Surprise"

My tears no go waste this year...

#shreds

1
$ 0.41
$ 0.41 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Dr_Shreds
3 years ago

Comments

Wow, this is an wonderful article. I really appreciate reading your article, keep it up

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks 💯

$ 0.00
3 years ago