Do you believe in superstition?

2 23
Avatar for DonyaBonita
3 years ago

Here in the Philippines there are a lot of superstitions, and you can't keep up if you will follow all of it.

In this modern day, perhaphs no one will belive on those beliefs, especially if there is no science behind it, right?

But I had one, that made me think if what happened that time was because of the superstition or just a coincidence.

It happened 7 years ago, I was a working student overseas that time on and it's a tought day, so when I got home I just clean myself up and straight to bed. Maybe I was so tired, that I had a weird dream; I was talking to someone I don't recognize and suddenly my teeth drop one by one until it all gone, I was so freaked out when I woke up and it is so clear and so weird so I posted it on facebook ( my younger self, always need to update everyone on social media.) and go back to sleep.

Next morning my post got 2 comments from my aunts, first aunt comment "please pray" and then my second aunt says "always take care",

...wait what? I felt confuse

So, I called my Mom and tell her what happened, and she explain to me that it was a superstition in the Philippines that if you dreamt about your teeth falling, one of your loved ones or relative will die and I need to bite my teeth to any metal or before I tell that dreams to anyone I should tell it first to a plant (living plant not the plastic one).

I know it's weird and how can it be related to a dream about falling teeth to someone dying, right? So, I kinda ignore it and move on to my everyday routine.

And guess what?

... after almost 2 weeks my Mom called me, and told me that one of my grandfather's brother died yesterday.

(That time I just thought,what a coincidence)

One month later, I was about to go home,and my usual tired self took a nap while on the train since it will take me a good 30 mins ride, and I woke up scared and my heart beating crazy fast, because the dream I had was me talking to someone on a restaurant and all my teeth suddenly drop one by one again.

For some I reason I suddenly called my Mom, and tell her about the dream and I told her I am scared, then she told me just pray and don't think too much.

Will you believe me,when I say exactly 2 weeks my Mom message me, they are on their way to a funeral, because the sister of my grandmother on my father side passed away that morning.

I don't know if it's just a coicidence or because of the superstition,but eversince that day I always pray before I sleep that I hope I will never have the same dream ever again.

2
$ 0.38
$ 0.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @alliborn
Avatar for DonyaBonita
3 years ago

Comments

nice writings... you know that is our culture and not only us.. even Chinese and Koreans also believed in superstitions. But what you shared here is more like of interpreting your dream. I have posted an article about dreams (Universal Symbolism) you can check it out here if you have free time.. https://read.cash/@alliborn/universal-symbolism-8b707683

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Really? I always have weird dreams since I was a kid, I check it.. maybe I will learn something:)) thank you as well..

$ 0.00
3 years ago