"Things to know about Filipinos": Ating Diskubrehin

9 54
Avatar for Donnabel8.-
2 years ago

"MANO PO"

Image source: https://www.john15.rocks/filipino-values-month/

"Mano po" is an act where the younger ones bow down their heads and grabbing the hand of older people to show respect to the elders. We commonly do this whenever we meet our Grandparents, parents, relatives, and families older than us. This has been practiced from generation to generation. It is still fresh in my mind how my grandmother always reminded me to do this good act because this represents who we are and our culture on showing respect towards other people. For example, our family decided to visit our relatives in the mountain areas. When we arrived at their house, this should be the first action we need to do because it can be a part of greeting them and welcoming us to their homes. I highly salute those parents who never let this tradition dies itself. Even if we are now in a modern way or a new generation, we are still practicing this. When I decided to stay in the province, I witnessed how children here were so respectful. Every time they see me, they will say "Mano po" to me. My height was not that tall enough and there are moments that the teenagers were taller than me and doing "mano po". It's kind of awkward, but the important here is highlighting how these young generations learn to respect and know how to value it.

"KAMAYAN"

Image source: https://www.beholdphilippines.com/filipino-traits-that-foreigners-find-funny-peculiar-and-adorable/

Don't you know that we Filipinos are used to use our hands while eating than having a fork and spoon? You might find it a little bit weird but it's more fun to eat with your hands. When I was small, my mother got mad at me because I am not so good at eating with my hands and there is no chance I will drop food on the floor. She doesn't like the way I chew because it creates an irritating sound but later on, in my day-to-day practicing, I learned its proper way. There is a different feeling when you use your hands or "kamay". You are free on how the way you eat the food. You don't need to be conscious of how you were able to eat the fish. I just want to share a funny story with you. I have never been to a restaurant that uses chopsticks because never in my life I tried and know how to use them. That's is why when some of my friends inviting me to dine with them I refused to. I rather eat at home with my hands to get full and satisfied than eating outside when I am not comfortable with it. There are foreigners who tried to visit the Philippines and they are very open and wanted to learn about the culture. Some of them experience "kamayan" with the rest of the Filipinos and I can see how they enjoyed it not just about that but the food rather.

"MAMA, BAYAD PO"

Image source: http://chickensopas.blogspot.com/2013/09/mama-bayad-o-eksena-sa-jeepney-part-1.html?m=1

Your great experience will never be completed if you haven't tried to ride on a jeepney. "Jeepney" is a kind of vehicle in our country. Aside from that, it's cheaper than taking a taxi. When I passed the examination to my dream school for high school, It was the time I started to commute in my whole high school to college life riding a jeepney. I can remember from my place to the school will only cost me 0.15 dollars or 7 pesos but due to pandemic, it became lesser people driving jeepneys and that's why there are modern minibus implemented. It's a great journey when you are inside the jeepney because you met new people, situations, and experiences. This is good also for those people who easily feel dizzy for long rides since it's an open window to breathe some air. The question is, where are your favorite seats? at the end or in the first one? some people are not comfortable near the driver's seat because they are the ones who will always receive the payments from the people but for me, I don't mind it. I took it as a positive it's like giving help to them. I suggest you always prepared an exact amount of coins to pay the fare easily. For those who are planning to experience this, all you have to say to the person next to you is "bayad po" it means you are pleasing them to pass it until it reaches the driver. Don't forget the magic word "please".

I would like to share some dramatic experiences I had when I was still a high school student. My mother gave me an allowance of 20 pesos or 0.42 dollars. While I was waiting for the traffic lights to turn green, by chance I grabbed my pocket from my skirt and I was shocked because I lost my money. I was scared because I was thinking about how I can go back home without any money with me. I am shy to ask strangers to beg for money. What I did was, I walked from my school going back to my home. I arrive late at night and I cried that time. I was mad at myself for being careless but I do believe that this experience will teach me to be more responsible in the future. To let you know, it's not near and it was a long journey for me. I am proud of myself at the end because it's fine to walk with sacrifices than riding a jeepney and making a trick to the driver.

"TANGGAL TSINELAS"

Image source: https://www.shopback.ph/blog/pssst-pinoy-ka-ba

"Tanggal" means to remove while "tsinelas" is slippers. We Filipinos have this kind of habit whenever we enter a house, we always leave our shoes or slippers outside or near the door. This was already practiced when I was small. We Filipinos felt shy if we are wearing any shoe wear inside on someone's house that's why we rather are on bare feet. That's why when you see houses here in the Philippines, there are slippers scattered outside near the door. This is another way of how we show respect to the owner of the house.

"KANIN"

Image source: https://www.rappler.com/hustle/food/healthy-alternatives-white-rice

We Filipinos cannot live without rice on our plates. Rice has been the partner in our lives. We can serve it for breakfast, lunch and even at dinner. That's why when you visited some food stores or restaurants, they offer unlimited rice meaning you can have as much as you want. We were considered as one of the consumers and producers of rice in the field of agriculture. Rice is perfect for different Filipino cuisines. Here are my top 3 Filipino foods with rice.

Monggos Sotanghon: https://www.knorr.com/ph/recipe-ideas/ginisang-monggo-with-sotanghon-recipe.html

(This is a soup made with mung beans and topped with fresh shrimps)

Inun-unan: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/431078995555525460/

(Any type of fish that is cooked with vinegar, garlic, green chillies, and onions. The simplest dish to cook.)

Utan Bisaya : https://www.google.com/search?q=utan+bisaya+with+rice&tbm=isch&ved=2ahUKEwiW-LqBx4TxAhU8y4sBHY9OChwQ2-cCegQIABAA&oq=utan+bisaya+with+rice&gs_lcp=CgNpbWcQAzoICAAQsQMQgwE6BQgAELEDOgIIADoECAAQQzoHCAAQsQMQQzoKCAAQsQMQgwEQQzoECAAQHjoECAAQGFDl6xxYtpAdYPaSHWgAcAB4AIABiwGIAYAQkgEEMTYuNZgBAKABAaoBC2d3cy13aXotaW1nwAEB&sclient=img&ei=D4-9YNa0ILyWr7wPj52p4AE&bih=937&biw=1920&safe=strict#imgrc=HWoYu6xhKPeARM

(A healthy vegetable soup matches with fried fish and chilli sauce)

"SALU-SALO"

Image source : https://jgifederizo.wordpress.com/2017/07/12/learning-pinoy-ways/

This is one of my favorites in the culture of Filipino because it's the time of meeting the relatives as one. This might possibly happen if there are celebrations like weddings, birthdays, and fiestas. For sure Filipino foods such as pancit, lumpia, grilled fish, and Lechon will never be out from the table. Women are busy entertaining and talking with other women while men sip some beer to add chills to the celebration. We Filipinos love to sing and that's why Karaoke is always present. No matter how bad or good your voice is, we sing from the heart and enjoy singing our favorite songs. It's going to be a loud celebration and crowded as well. Aside from eating tasteful Filipino foods, this gives chance to know more about the family tree and bond with your family, friends, and relatives. This is commonly celebrated at weekends where everyone is off from their duties and free.

"Ako usa ka Bisaya na Filipina adunay dako na hambog sa malamian na pagkaon na maihalad , mga maanindot na lugar na angay bisitahon ug mga butang na kinahanglan nato mahibaw-an. Hinaot sa kini na pamaagi sa akong gibuhat karon, kini makatabang ug makahatud ug kaalam hilabi na sa mga tawo na gusto gayud musulay kung unsay kanindot ang kinabuhi diri sa Pilipinas."

Thank you everyone for taking your time to read this post about things that you must know and discover about us Filipinos. I knew some of you can relate and love it so I am grateful for that. I hope I can share more ideas about our tradition and culture in the future.

5
$ 2.84
$ 2.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @ExpertWritter
Sponsors of Donnabel8.-
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Donnabel8.-
2 years ago

Comments

Yung ibang mga bata ngayon di na marunong rumespeto sa magulang at nakakatanda. Mas maigi pa sa mga kapahunan ng mga magulang natin doon talaga dapat tularan eh sa ngayon kasi unti unti nang nagbabago ang mga kabataan dahil sa Soc med. Hays 🤦🏻‍♀️

May mga maaagang nabubuntis dahil dyan, di din sumusunod sa utos ng magulang dahil sa kaka ml at tiktok ay naku

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes po, ang laki talaga naging impluwensya Ng social media ngayon. Though may mga advantages Siya but still.hindi parin dapat to prove na nagbibigay ng positive outcome .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Karamihan sa nga bata ngayon di na masyado nagmamano sa mga nakakatanda. Yung iba naman pumapasok na lng ng bahay ng iba ng di man lang humihingi ng abiso. Pero di naman lahat pero may pagbabago na talaga sa panahon ngayon. Sana mapanatili natin at maituro sa mga kabataan ngayon ang mabuting asal.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thankful parin ako kasi kahit marami nang pagbabago sa panahon natin ngayon, napapanatili pa rin namin ang kaugalian nang pagmamano sa nakakatanda..😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama po kayo mam. Kahit lumaki ako sa city, magkakapareho parin ang mga bata na marunong magtanaw Ng respeto sa mga nakakatanda sa Kanila based Lang po Ito sa experience ko. Ang sarap tingnan kahit moderno na ang mundong kinagagalawan nila , they still value the importance of "Mano po"

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's so sad po na ang pagmamano ay unti-unti ng nawawala. Pero hindi pa rin natin maikakaila na tayong mga Pilipino ay may mga magandang kultura.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It saddens me talaga na some young ones know about mano po but don't want to practice it. But I do believe parents are the keys to let them execute it day by day. Everything was learned and taught by the people older than them. So with the parents courage to motivate their children then this type of tradition will not be slowly faded

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is true po. Kaya pinapraktis ko talaga sa baby ko ang pagmamano. Sana madala niya ito hanggang sa paglaki niya.😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mabuti Naman po Kung Ganun.🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago