Buhay OFW:Cultural transition and adaptation

6 45
Avatar for Donnabel8.-
2 years ago
Topics: Culture, Food, Travel, Environment, Life, ...
Sponsors of Donnabel8.-
empty
empty
empty

I never dream to work abroad but I believe every path in our lives ,there's a calling that pushing me through. It wasn't easy traveling with no ideas about Middle East where majority is Arabic people. The way of living , culture , beliefs , and more made me worry.

The moment I stepped on Dubai Airport, I saw Arab women wearing a black long garment which they called "Abaya" and "hijab" which covers the hair. Emirati women preserve the Islamic and religious plain black dress over modern. I was taught how to wear it with pride by my eldest sister who is a Muslim.

This photo was taken in my 23rd Birthday ๐ŸŽ‰

Attractive Henna designs

Women are fond of having henna most specially if they have important events or occasions . This is a well-known ritual for Emirati women. It will last most likely 2-3 weeks. Black henna is "haram" or prohibited in UAE. So what are you waiting for? Choose your design now!

Me and my eldest sister

Spending winter in the Desert?

To experience the best Desert camping spend your night during the cooler months . Match it with Chiken kabab barbecue and of course Karak chai (tea)which gives a relaxing feeling.

With my cousin ๐Ÿคฃ

What to expect when you ride a camel?

Of course I will not miss to ride a camel in my journey here in UAE. This was taken in Al ain , Green mubazzarah. Half hour sitting on camel's hunchback was quite nerve breaking . I will not reveal what's behind that camel surely you will never forget. Ride and you'll know then.

2nd day of my Birthday celebration

You'll get use eating Arabic foods

We are now in 2018 but the tradition on how they eat remains as it was. You can see how we sat and the foods prepared.The favored meats are lamb and mutton . Spreading plain yogurt on Mutton biryani and deep in spicy tomato paste will give a satisfying meal.

How your name written in Arabic ?

I witnessed many times how Arabic teachers taught children in writing. It should start from right to left and top to bottom .

Example:

I'm Donna and it can be seen as (annoD).

I'm glad you read my article this time and hopefully this will help you .

All photos were mine๐Ÿ“ธ

๐Ÿ“Sharjah, United Arab of Emirates ๐Ÿ‡ฐ๐Ÿ‡ผ

3
$ 1.35
$ 1.34 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Mafer8866
Sponsors of Donnabel8.-
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Donnabel8.-
2 years ago
Topics: Culture, Food, Travel, Environment, Life, ...

Comments

Culture is the way where we can appreciate the essence of a country, what a beautiful way to connect with the world. leave something and take something

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was a bit difficult at first to adjust but in the long run, I am used to it and loving their own. Having a sister who is a Muslim and staying in one roof was challenging but I am glad she still value the way we Filipinos used to.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow I can acquire morr about arabic. Now I know why their name seems like hard to read.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes Miss, I was working in an international school there. Even British and American students need to learn Arabic as part of their subject.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also wanted to work abroad but I think I won't handle it. Riding that camel looks fun though. ๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's nothing wrong for trying. I was on that stage too but not all my expectations happened. So, if you have the desire then go for it. Who knows, you are really destined there. Always remember, every place , there's an experience.Before I will end this, may I know what country you love to travel ?

$ 0.00
2 years ago