Boljoon: A Heritage Site in Cebu

6 63
Avatar for Donnabel8.-
2 years ago
Sponsors of Donnabel8.-
empty
empty
empty
Boljoon Escuela Catolica

As we all know that each country has its own environment. In my staying here in the Middle East has changed my way of living and how I adapt to the place, foods, and people. I could still remember there was one night when I and my partner had a long conversation about our decision to go back to the Philippines and choose where we should stay.

The Final Decision

We decided to live in the province because I witnessed and experienced what kind of life it is . I am originally from the city but I know I can adjust the way I did when I was still in abroad. We have so many plans and traveling is part of it.

On Our Way

It is included in my itinerary to travel all around Cebu Province. We did a road trip going to Boljoon because I was requesting to visit the Patrocinio de Maria and do my “church time”. The road was a bit tricky though it is cemented which I find it difficult especially big trucks were passing by.

Safely Arrived

So safety first is highly recommended by following the rules strictly. After we parked , this was caught our attention. I quickly run and see what’s behind it. We explore but was not able to get in because I was a bit scared since there’s no one there who can assist us. There were fewer people at that time. I can only see my him,a mother, and a child nothing else which I find a bit weird. As you can see in the pictures, this is an attractive spot right next to the church because it brings you back from the history. Actually Boljoon is the only province in Cebu who has lots of histories which made it a candidate for the UNESCO World Heritage Site of the Philippines.

Built-in 1940 ,It is used to be a dormitory for children taking their first communion who were required to stay at the Escuela the night before taking the Holy Communion.It was used as a school for religious teachings and for a time was a primary school. It is now serves as meeting place for the Parish's various religious groups.

Factual Source:http://www.boljoon.com/escuelacatolica.php

Opposite to that is this great wall. I am really curious what’s inside the El Gran Baluarte but then again it’s locked. I considered this as an instagrammable spot which is really catchy too.

El Gran Baluarte de Boljoon

Lit the Candles

While I am praying, I was shocked because there was a cemetery literally next to the church which is my first time encountering this kind of combination. We were able to gain additional knowledge about the Church where it was ruined by the pirates a long time ago. It’s a great feeling to be in a new place especially a place that is peaceful and full of discoveries. There were many good places to go within Boljoon, but I just went to the first part.

After that, we sat, relax our minds and stay calm breathing the fresh air and hearing the ocean waves. I really love the color of the water because it’s Aqua blue which can attract more tourists. I was glad because during our visit it was not crowded, which I considered as our lucky day to enjoy watching the view and imagining what’s life during the old times. I am planning soon to come back and experience in Ablayan Peak which was popular too in Boljoon.

📸All photos were mine

📍Boljoon, Cebu Philippines

4
$ 1.35
$ 1.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Talecharm
Sponsors of Donnabel8.-
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Donnabel8.-
2 years ago

Comments

Wow kanindot. Nice kaau mka visit dre ba.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako step mom kay from Boljoon and hoping makabisita ko puhon sa ilang lugar once makabalik sa Cebu. Nindot ng heritage house, unta puhon makapapicture Sab ko Diha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Puhon mam maayung lawas. Aside from heritage spots nila Ang view gyud sa dagat Kay nice pod kaayo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh Mao? Wow ka nice d i Diha. Puhon² kung ok ang panahon ug ang lawas, suruyan na ko na Diha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

O, nakalaag ko dinhi pero wa kaayo ko kapamicture aning heritage house ay. nice unta kay rustic look kaayo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lage mam. Instagrammable kaayo. USA pa daghan pod kaayo mga devotee ngari labi na ika fiesta dugukon gyud.

$ 0.00
2 years ago