Why do Millennials don't want babies?

26 42
Avatar for Don26
Written by
3 years ago

Disclaimer: Some of you might disagree with the points that I'm about to mention here but this is from a millennial's point-of-view and how they think raising a family is crucial nowadays.

People nowadays are more focused on their careers. Some don't have enough personal time. One of my colleagues told me that he doesn't feel the work/life balance anymore, not because he's too workaholic but work demands most of his time. Some don't really like the idea of having kids even if they are in a relationship for a long time.

I saw an article before while browsing on the internet and I found out that I am not the only person who doesn't want to raise kids in the future. Don't get me wrong. I love kids. I love them because they're still innocent and they just sleep, eat, and play. They look like a mini version of their parents.

Raising a family is no joke. You have to be financially & emotionally ready if you really want to settle down. Most of my age nowadays can't even manage to have a better life for ourselves and what more if we already have a family.

Think of it. You have to save funds for the house, for your wife's maternity. well, the government will help you with that but what if you don't have any government benefits like most of the teen nowadays. and that's not the only thing after your wife gave birth, it is now the start of another huge responsibility and that is you need to raise this child from day 1 and until this finish college.

Sometime my friends who already have a family, shares their experiences as a father. They told me that there are times that they have to keep some cash for theirselves because their wife don't give them money and all the hard worked money will go to the family's budget. ( That's what you call responsibility and I understand that, but there are times that you have to treat yourself too ) but when you start a family, it's not you anymore. You have to always consider everyone in your household.

I always hear this to my friends who started a family at an early age. They are still not done being single and tries to continue with the things that they usually do when they're still single.

Then, one time I got to ask a wife. Just to be fair because I want to hear both sides.
She said that even if her husband gave all the salary to her, whenever her husband wants something she lets him buy it as long as it will not affect the family's budget.
and that enlightens me. Your wife is incharge of the family's budget. period.

I have a sister and they live with us with her 2 kids. Her husband died in an accident a couple of years ago. It is never easy to settle down but what more if you're doing it alone. I'm always seeing her stressed and always irritated with her children. Well, I do hope that she can still find a partner so I don't get irritated when she's irritated to her childrens too. lol

I know that there's still a lot of people who loves the idea of raising a family in the future. No one's stopping you from that. Even if you're not financially and emotionally ready, if you really want to settle down, settle down. Life's too short, do the things you love to do.

While in my case, I might end up supporting this family forever. I can't imagine my family without me. No one will support them financially and that might be the biggest factor on why I don't want to build my own family because it seems like I was born to be like this.

However, I will always be grateful for my parents. They sacrifice a lot for me and my sibs. and I will always treasure everything that they did for me. Salute to all the parents out there and for making this world a better place for your children.

Keep safe.

;

3
$ 0.22
$ 0.12 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Macronald
Sponsors of Don26
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Don26
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

I think it still depends. But yes mostly doesn't want to raise kids in the future.. Maybe because they don't like to take the responsibilities..and just want to enjoy life.. It also my reason.. I don't want to have a baby.. Because I already know how it feels to raise a kid.. I just want to spend my life doing things that will make me happy... But for some ladies, they don't want to get married but they want to have at least a kid... Their reason is, so there is someone who will look after them once they get older... Not all Millenial think alike.. It always depends on the person

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I understand. But I can't help myself but think about raising a child. Even though as an uncle I can already see and experience how it feels to have a child. and yeah not all millennials think alike but as for me, having a child is a big no.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So you are single? 🤣 takot klng ata sa responsibilities eh 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Not that I'm afraid but I had enough responsibilities as a breadwinner and I don't wanna add more. lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh. We are the same. . that is also the reason why I don't want to get married. I still have 7 little siblings at home that needs to finish their studies 😅 forever single na ata ako nto lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The main reason is children are expensive. It already starts with the pregnancy. In my country everything needs to be done by the rules set. There's no support and you need to work which means the state or who knows who will raise your child while you keep working your asses off and need to pay everyone and for everything.

Besides in a world where killing is the new norm, cutting off throats and people are doomed to live inside on a few square meters it isn't wise to start a family.

I don't think my youngest will have a great, promising future ahead. If they finished school their study was useless and most likely they end up at home.

Most if us can hardly manage if it comes to finances, children demand, need a lot and will not be grateful. I really hope for not having grandchildren ever. I want my children to have a good life, not sacrifice themselves for children. It's not worth the energy, time, money, health issues. For sure they won't take care of their parents. It's no custom, there's no need to with social security.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Another point (in my case) is that we already grew up raising kids our own parents (relatives too sometimes) don't even have the time to take care of. Do you tthink some people wouuuulllld eeeven want to have kids of their own even after raising so many kids that weren't even theirs and having to feed and spend for them? Sure the feeling is said to be different since it's your child but they don't get that people want to stay away from children after those experiences. In the end, it's up to them but please be considerate with people who really don't want to have kids. They probably already had their fair share of chaotic little devils in their lifetimes

$ 0.00
3 years ago

and I hate the idea of passing the responsibility to the grandparents while the parents of the children are working.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's what I hate too, as a parent and grandparent. I took care of siblings, a crazy mother, my own children and will never take care of my grandchildren. I want to be free, finally be free.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True and that "batang ina" challenge that went into circulation when the quarantine started, i swear. Don't the kids feel bad for their parents though? Just to follow a stupid trend? As if they have the capacity to take good care of a child even with free public school and all. Don't they want a better life at least? The kind of life where they can actually travel or buy stuff they want instead of constantly stressing themselves because of a kid

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I know right haha anyway that's their life haha. I just felt bad for their parents because I know its the parents who will shoulder the responsibility since they're still young.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't know why the parents of some millennials keep on talking us into getting kids at the age of 25 or smt though. Shouldn't they be proud that we leaned from their mistakes??? :""

$ 0.00
3 years ago

25 is not young, I talk my children out of having children. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

25 is still young. As long as it's still in the calendars, I'd count it as young but hey, even i talk my siblings into not getting families too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

For years it was quiet normal to be married at that age. You finished school, your education and found a job.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I know but this generation is changing everything too much and everyone is too cautious with the idea of starting a family

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I doubt everyone is. At least not over here. We can ask the government to forbid marriage for 6 months because if the pandemic and pregnancies. 🤔

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well the marriage parts are forbidden but i don't think anyone can put a stop to the pregnancy part

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Marriage is forbidden? Let's see what happens if it's forbidden and there's no medical help.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The ceremonies are since the country is still inder a lockdown and all but hospitals here never closed so childbirth is still done

$ 0.00
3 years ago

With us it's allowed only a max of 30 and for now 20 guests.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's pretty much the ideal number of guests though (well in my case 😂😂😂) that many people isn't even that bad

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is indeed. I find it hard to believe people have more real friends or close family members.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

haha I can relate. Like even if you don't have kids you already experienced having not just one.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I see that and the fact that you have nephews and nieces too ;;-;; must be so stressful, specially with the wfh scenario

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I knoooow hahaha the struggle is real.

$ 0.00
3 years ago