My regrets in Life

0 18
Avatar for Don26
Written by
3 years ago

When I was young, I am annoyed by this song called " You're too young " ( Batang-bata ka pa ) in my language. This song is about telling the youth that they're too young to know everything in life. I am annoyed because I felt like I have nothing to prove as a child. But that changes when I grew older and I realize that this song turns out to be true.

Some adults say I want to go back to the days where I don't have to pay bills. Days where your parents will let you sleep in the afternoon and you'll get spank if you don't. Now, you're a sleep-deprived corporate slave. You have no choice but to get up early in the morning and finish some tasks even after working hours. Adulting. It's a trap. Now I know why peter pan said don't grow old. ( He's my favorite character by the way ).

When I started working, I don't have any concrete idea about my plans in life. All I do is work and spend. that was the year 2014, fortunately, I landed my first job at the age of 19. 2 years had passed, I have nothing but memories from my travels and concerts that I attended. I spend a lot of my salary for all the experiences that I wasn't able to attain when I'm still jobless. No regrets but I wish I save.

Someone asked me. " what is your biggest regrets in life ".

I told them that I haven't got the chance to tell my dad that he can retire from his work and now it's too late because he's no longer with us.

Everyone was crying after I said that. We always want the best for our family and sometimes I felt like I'm not giving enough effort to obtain my goals in life.

What I hate the most before is when my mom needs to ask someone to lend her some cash just to survive for a week until payday. It always ends up that the hard-worked salary will go to the debts. We're like a one-day-millionaire. We can only eat decent food every payday but they next day it will get back to normal. Canned goods, instant noodles, and worst are condiments.

I told my mom I don't want to go back to those days. I'll try my best. I'll work hard to give her a better life. Yes, that is my responsibility now.

Some might say that your children should not be considered as your retirement plan but as a child who grew up seeing my parent working hard day and night just to sustain our needs, It is my honor to give them the life they deserve.

Dad will be forever in my heart and I promise him that I will take good care of my mom until my last breath. I can't wait to share my dreams slowly turning into reality with my mom.

I'm 25 now. I always thought that I'm running out of time but the truth is I still have more time to reach my goals in life.

Keep safe. Love your parents.
goodnight.

;

2
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Don26
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Don26
Written by
3 years ago

Comments