Holidays during pandemic

9 19
Avatar for Don26
Written by
3 years ago

I can't help but think of how this holiday will look like for 2020. Looking back to all to the previous months that we had, we can say that this year is not really something for the book.

For some, they feel the holiday vibe when the news channels start their 100-day countdown before Christmas, but regardless of the religion, I know that this is one of the most awaited time of the year. This year is very different from previous holidays.

Personally, I refrain from celebrating anything ever since my father died. 2 years ago, I don't feel celebrating my birthday, I don't feel celebrating holidays, new years, everything. The holiday season makes me more sad thinking that I can no longer celebrate this kind of special day as a complete family.

But I have to, I still have other members of the family and I don't want them to feel the same. Especially the kids, I made sure they have new clothes or the things they want during this season.

My mom always told me, " Let's cook this for Christmas ". " Let's have this for Christmas", " Let's do this on Christmas ". I told her, mom, why do we need to do all of these things only at Christmas? why not now?

In these uncertain times, I made sure that I let them experience the things that we usually do only during the holiday season.

I know things will never be the same for now but let's hope for the best.
I'm still hoping that this pandemic will end and that everything will get back to normal. I hope we'll make it through.

Sponsors of Don26
empty
empty
empty

9
$ 0.20
$ 0.10 from @wakeupkitty
$ 0.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Don26
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Don26
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

It's not mandatory to prepare something on holiday as long as everyone is safe and healthy. That's the most important .

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree po. @Xzeon. Maybe we're just having this weird feeling since Christmas used to start in ph at around September. but this year is kinda different.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I feel it too. Not much Christmas songs are being heard, not much lanterns only the cool breeze of ber months.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Life means change. For sure your parents lost people dear to them too, before your birth, as you were a toddler. Still, they celebrated Christmas with you, later your siblings if they came into the world. It is good to have something look forward to.

Try to celebrate, make a new ritual if you like, it's what I did and it's good as any other.

It's true nothing will be like it once was but that's life. We change, grow, without we are bored and die.

I doubt the pandemic will change anything if it comes to cel, celebrating Christmas. With us Christmas is celebrated inside our own home, it's winter. The longest night just passed (actually this is the original celebration...I live in the old world)

In advance I wish you all love, quality time together and fun during those dark days.

💕🍀

@charmingcherry08, @Clarissa_KG, @esciisc, @gerl, @gertu13, @Hanzell, @heartbeat1515, @Jane, @Jdine, @lioness777, @marblely, @Mehedi01, @psychie, @Purplesky, @Urmeelaurmee122, @Xzeon

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The thing is you don't really need a holiday to celebrate anything? At least in my case? I just eat what i want when i want and and give gifts when i want too and so does my family. Holidays and birthdays really are just an excuse but when something good or bad happens it's enough a reason to celebrate or prepare things to cheer everyone else up

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Since I was a child our family does not celebrate any holiday. But we do buy this, cook that, give gifts even without an occasion.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It'll be really different this year. But let's be thankful that we still have our family to celebrate it with, and not forget the reason for why we are celebrating Christmas. And pray that soon this pandemic will end and the world will be back to normal 😉💖

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree. Let us still be thankful for what we have now and for the future blessings that we are about to receive. @issquo

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Exactly! Let's always be grateful

$ 0.00
3 years ago