Greedy

6 27
Avatar for Don26
Written by
3 years ago

My grandma once had a bunch of properties under her name. My mom said that she came from a wealthy family and her parents inherited her some lands. However, my grandmother wasn't able to finish schooling so she doesn't know how to handle money that well. She thought that a small amount of money is a huge amount already cause she doesn't know how to count. She also has this attitude of selling everything she has for a small amount of money.

I am one of her 6 grandchildren and when I get older I can't help but get annoyed by her decisions in life. I grew up renting, we almost got kicked out of the house we're staying in because we cannot afford the rent when my dad lost his job.

When I got older and I can't help but think what if she just gave us even 1 of those properties that she sold for a small amount of money. Maybe we're not like this. Maybe, the only problem that I have right now is saving for the construction of this house.

I can say that she's a greedy person.

I remember when my mom told me that my grandmother's mindset is like it's better if she sells those properties for a cheaper price instead of giving it to us, to my mom. Look at her now, she's living with us for a long time. After she sold everything she had, she keeps on building a small room beside every land that we rented and even connects to our electricity, and sometimes her food is on us too.

I understand that she's getting old and she needs someone to take care of her but at the back of my mind, she's still that greedy person. My mom is her daughter and she let her experienced being mocked and ridiculed by landowners even if she has properties where we can build our home. Last time, we were eating lunch and my mom told me that she's going to give our leftovers to my grandmom because they don't have food. I agreed but I got annoyed because it seems like their food is my problem too.

I'm not mad at her for no reason. She always tells everyone in the neighborhood everything that is happening inside our home. Our family doesn't get along with the neighborhood that much because the only thing that they wanna do is gossip. They love to talk about everyone's lives while they can't even manage to have a decent one.

There comes a time when my dad finally got the chance to have a few possessions. My grandma told him that he will not able to attain those without us, his children. I was like, and now what? I think my dad deserves to have all these things after all these years. and what important is we don't ask anything from her.

I want to build our home away from them.
I want to build a home away from this neighborhood too.
but how can I do that if my grandmother is always building an extension of her house beside ours? I don't know anymore. I wanna abandon her like the days she still has everything. I don't care if she keeps on telling people that we are treating her unfairly because she always comes back to us.

My mom was the total opposite of her attitude and I am so glad of that.

She keeps telling me that she doesn't want us to experience everything that she experience when she was little. Everything she experienced from my grandma.
From going to school without anything in her pocket and not supporting her with schooling so she ends up only finishing 2nd year in secondary education but still managed to give us a decent life.

:'( that's why I'm working really hard to give my mom a better life. she deserves everything and I love her so much.

;

4
$ 3.63
$ 3.63 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Don26
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Don26
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

That's really the boomer generation's problem. It's either they're greedy as heck or all they know is that family is the ultimate goal for every human when there's so much more than that now

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah. Before, I thought that you can only see this kind of attitude in local movies. lol. Actually, not only my grandma but most of my aunties has this attitude. They keep on asking you about personal stuff like how much is your salary and everything money-related.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm honestly happy that since my aunts and uncles see me as the black sheep, they do their best to avoid me in all occasions that I'm around 😂😂😂 but i swear, they can't adapt the mindset of this generation. Money isn't everything that matters. Like whenever i feed stray dogs, my grandmother would always tell me off. They need the food more than i do when they can't even fend for themselves. Yet their primary concern is wealth that they don't even have

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I know the feeling and I'm slowly turning my back on them. I felt like I don't need to associate myself with them. They keep on reminding me of the things that they did for us as if I'm obligated to pay every cent. You can really tell that they're helping and expecting something in return.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well that's the mindset they grew up with. Something about utang mg lood so i don't think the people in the boomer generation actually did help just for the sake of helping. Idk, the older generations always make you feel like they're watching your every move, ready to make a profit from you whenever the chance allows it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

they're watching your every move, ready to make a profit from you whenever the chance allows it

I know. haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago