Philippines: A Home of Many Great Singers

7 42
Avatar for Dolores
3 years ago

Do you know some great Filipino singers? Join me as I tell the things I know that explain why there are lots of good singers in the place.


Voices that are as sweet as apples. Astounding whistle tones. Melodies that are good to ears and soul.

Phrases that can best describe how I feel about the Filipino singers.

Philippines is an archipelago which is situated at Southeast Asia in the western Pacific Ocean. This is the country where I came from. Yes, I am a Filipino.

One of the best singers we have is none other than Lea Salonga. She is a broadway singer and actress who is known worldwide for her amazing and very powerful voice.

We also have many more great singers like Regine Velasquez-Alcasid, Lani Misalucha, Dulce, Sarah Geronimo-Guidicelli, Garry Valenciano and many more great singers either young or old around the Philippines.

The question is, why Filipinos are great singers?

One of the reason is that, our nation has a long-lasting tradition about music. Music is already part of our history and it is imparted in our souls. Almost every house, there are musical instruments. Whatever the occasion is, singing of songs can be heard - it will never be removed.

In fact, a Filipino by the name Roberto del Rosario, holds the patent of Videoke or simplified word for video karaoke. Videoke is a machine wherein anyone can sing along to the instrumental versions of a variety of songs. Also, you can see the lyrics of the song being displayed on the screen in time with the music.

Filipinos, whether young or old, can't be stopped once they hold the microphone and started singing while the videoke is playing. As a matter of fact, videoke is present in almost every celebration.

Moreover, parents always encourage their children to practice singing at such a young age. Parents are also very supportive for their children in joining various singing comperition. It does not only help them build confidence, it is also a great way to improve their vocals which is very helpful to help each and everyone to become good singers.

Another reason is that, we are being encouraged to sing. We also have choir members in church where they are able to make use of their God-given talents in singing, eventually improve it and using it for the service of God at the same time. If you know the word "harana," that is also one of the reasons. A traditional practice where a young man serenades a lady by playing a guitar and singing at the same time underneath the lady's window of their house at night. It is such a sweet scene, right?

There are many more reasons in my mind, but I think it will take me forever to tell it. My mind is a universe of thoughts and I really wish I can write them all in a piece of oaper at once.

If ever you want to ask me if I am a good singer also, well I can say that I am already good. I can sing well in front of the electric fan while it was turned on and most especially in the comfort room or shower room while I am having a shower. Sometimes, I like singing out loud especially when my favorite songs are being played on the radio or in the speaker. I don't care whatever they say because I am proud of my voice even if it is not that good. At least, I am proud.

Filipinos are truly known for so many things. On the other hand, we also have Manny "Pacman" Pacquiao and many more great boxers in the field of boxing, Gloria Diaz, Maria Margarita Moran, Pia Alonzo Wurtzbach, and Catriona Gray, and many more witty and beauty queens, as well as many more great Filipinos who bring honor and pride to our beloved country. With these things, I can say that we are indeed globally competitive.

Who is your favorite Filipino singer?

Thanks for reading.


If ever you felt that I am biased. Forgive me I am not. In this article that I made, I just want to share what Filipino singers have, that makes each one of us proud of being Filipino.

14
$ 0.47
$ 0.47 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Dolores
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Dolores
3 years ago

Comments

Subcribe my new account for my updats

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yup Filipino's are great singer even without in tunes they sing,,that's why there are many popular television sing contest and reality show in our program channel broadcasted..(^_^)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We have so many Pilipino Great singers, I hear so many good songs that mom always play in a cassette, they are all Pilipino old songs, I love all of them, I forgot their name but when I hear their songs, I can sing it even if my voice is just in a frog. My favorite singer is Kz Tandingan, Gary Valenciano, Martin Nievera, Ariel Rivera, and Rico J Puno. Madami pa ee, they are all great

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My husband always telling me, every Filipino can sing and he got one that can't! Hahaha.. Filipino's are really a great singer, you ask for a song they'll give you a concert!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good jll

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Woow naman po🙃😍😍🙂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article

$ 0.00
3 years ago