Melatonin Rush: Daily dose of sleepy laziness.

5 37
Avatar for DocLayla
2 years ago
Felt
Really
Lazy
To 
Write
Today.... This space is meant for 
Flexing my fingers.Don't mind me. 

SLURPILY SLEEPILY LAZY

"Get your sleepy bones out of the damn bed!" Her voiced boomed across the room like an RPG hitting a rock instead of its target. She slammed the door shut then opened it again, "and stop snoring like a pig who's gotten no hay for the day!." Storming angrily out of the bedroom, she headed towards the kitchen to prepare breakfast.

Madinah:

To be honest, her snore is soo annoying and exasperating. I feel like crying some times when I sleep near her. You know the sound an iron metal makes when drawn slowly on a hot tarred road? That's exactly how I would describe it. That "groink, groink sound!". Can you believe that despite making referring to her as a pig, she still didn't budge?

God! I pity the husband she will get married to in the future. I think he would have to have his headphones on during sleep or if it got worse, donate his ears to charity. Mommy would ask her "Basma, is this how you'll be sleeping when you finally get admission into the Uni? You know things happen there, you'll always have to be on the quivive." But what else can mom do except talk? She is as soft as a snail's skin. I swear if I was Basma's mom and not her sister, I'd extract all the melatonin in her body! I have never seen a girl as lazy as her. Dishes she won't wash, house she won't sweep.

*****************************

Storming out of the bedroom and heading towards the kitchen, Madinah was as furious as hell itself. Basma rolled on the bed, her swiny snore ceasing, her eyes opening. "if only they would just let me be", she said sleepily. Getting of the bed, she search for her shoes with her feet, found them, slid on her feet and dragged them towards the toilet.

Basma:

I wonder how wonderful the world would have been if we don't have to do anything, just laze and laze and sleep and sleep. Working is really stressful. I hate the sun. I hate the hotness of the sun, the feel of water on my hands, the sweat on my head except the one gotten from sleeping.

Yes, I am very lazy. I am not denying the fact. I can't say I am proud of that but I can't say I am ashamed either. I have always hated work. My friends refer to me as "kasa" (a snake that spends 20 hours sleeping). Out of the 12 periods we have in class I only manage to get though 7, for the other five I go to the library to feign reading when I actually sleep till closing time. Madinah always make it a habit to talk of how my future husband would cope with me. Well... If he can't cope with my sleepiness I am better off alone then. It isn't a must to get married anyways. *Yawns.. I should go now.

***************************

Breakfast was prepared and served by Madinah. Dad and mom are busy enjoying their breakfast of fried eggs and bread with tea. Dad commended Madinah on the meal saying it was good. "Where is your sister", mom asked. Just then, Basma came to the dining room to see only three dishes instead of four. "Madinah where's my food?". "you can always go and prepare it yourself. You know how to fry eggs, make tea and bake bread. I hope your laziness haven't made you to forget all that",madinah replied. Mom and dad were looking. "But why?" Basma asked "you prepared food for the whole family but excluded me!. I was sleeping you could see that. How could you have done such?.

" I repeat, you know where food is, go and prepare it". Madinah said nonchalantly. Basma stormed out of the room and headed towards the bedroom. Madinah got up to clear the table.

Madinah:

Yay! I have always had this idea in mind. I am extra glad that mom and dad said nothing and did nothing. An additionally annoying thing about this girl is her gluttony. She knows how to sleep, laze, and do nothing but she also knows how to put her gullet in good use. She sure has alot in common with a pig. She snores and eats alot. I'll be looking for other similarities in the future. I hope this serves as a lesson for her..

Basma:

I don't know what exactly is wrong with this girl. How dare her prepare food without including my ration! She only prepares it, it isn't hers! She didn't buy it with her money. You know what? ..... No problem. I will just go prepare my meal. But ughh! It's to hard to prepare bread. I guess I will just drink tea and egg.

******************************

As Basma headed towards the kitchen, she clashed with Madinah coming out of the kitchen. Madinah drew a long hiss you'd think she was a venomous snake. Basma got into the kitchen, had some trouble finding the lighter and when she finally did, turned on the gas. Had trouble getting ingredients in order and when she did, put the pot on the gas cooker and set to make some noodles..she turned on the other gas to make eggs and a mini stove to make tea. "All set",she said with a satisfied grin.

Mom:

These girls never cease to amaze me with their drama. As a mother I try to reason things with both of them as Basma's Lazy habit is having an effect on her relationship with her sister. I guess I will have to talk to her when she finishes preparing her meal. No... I will talk to them both. Basma needs to stop being lazy. This laziness if affecting her relationship with she friends, her studies and her mental well-being. If I had taken her to a boarding house against her father's will when she was much younger I think she would not have been the way she is now. She would have been more disciplined. Besides what's that smell I am sniffing? It's really weird. Is it coming from the neighbours or is it another stupid prank from the street kids? Why should I be concerned anyway?

*******************************

"Mommy! Mommy! Come and see!", Madinah stormed into mom's room in a frenzy. She beckoned to Mommy to follow her, mom was dumbfounded and followed her to where she was heading. They both arrived at a kitchen filled with smoke to find Basma dozing off on the kitchen stool. If there was a higher temperature for water than 100°,then the tea surely did arrive at it. The noodles was all burnt while the egg formed a dark patch in the pan that was already flaming badly. Madinah gave Basma a resounding slap that startled Mommy to the point of forgetting that the house would have caught fire had Madinah not noticed. "Basma how could you....."

The end.

Thanks for reading my dear readers. This article or story is in response to @JonicaBradley new prompt #19_laziness. I hope you all enjoyed reading it. Can you see how Lazy Basma is? God! She even didn't hear the smell of burning food!

Thank you all for reading once again.

If you intend joining,

At the end of this article, I want to express my profound gratitude to my new est two sponsors namely @Khing14 and @BCH_LOVER

You made my day today. Thank you very much. I feel loved and encouraged.

Yours Layly,

Don't forget to like and subscribe. :)

Sponsors of DocLayla
empty
empty
empty

3
$ 0.05
$ 0.03 from @Ling01
$ 0.02 from @Khing14
Sponsors of DocLayla
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DocLayla
2 years ago

Comments

Laziness is just a state of mind. And I believe Basma has the only power to overcome her laziness!...she only need to change her mindset.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with you on this one. If Basma continues like this as a woman she will live to regret it. Madinah also ought to be closer to her too. Sometimes gentleness is the best approach.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

exactly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And this is the consequences of being lazy. I'm lazy sometimes but I don't want to end so much like this

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As you can see hers is very much worse, she's always sleepy as well as lazy. I pray there's still hope for her since she's still very much young.

$ 0.00
2 years ago