Death is my motivation.

10 49
Avatar for DocLayla
2 years ago

....but not my inspiration..

Death; on of the greatest mysteries on earth..if not the greatest. A lot of questions revolve around this inevitable phenomenon that eventually becomes the lot of each and everyone of us at some point in time:

Why do I have to die? Where does a person goes when he dies? What does it feel like in the moment of death? Is the torment or enjoyment of the grave real?

Would there be an air-conditioning system in the grave?(lol but sometimes the mystery of death make us asks questions like this. I don't think they are dumb though).

All the above questions, despite several attempts to answer most of them, have remained unanswered. It gets to a point where we ask ourselves these questions, not to find answers but to further deepen the mystery of death in us. We assume, we theorise, we fantasise but no one really knows what the moment of death feels like as the people who know wouldn't be able to tell you.

Okay(sighs), this article isn't an attempt to answer any of the questions nor is it an attempt to unravel any mystery. What is the effect of these thoughts on you? How do you see yourself with regards to this thought? Some people like me think of death constantly while in the case of others, it's a fleeting thought. In whatever case, how do you feel when you think about death?

Some people will say "well... f**k it, I only live once, so I might as well do whatever I want" and then they indulge in hedonistic affairs. Others, upon the thought of death, feel tranquillity in their souls for a while. It doesn't mean either of them is better than the other, it's all about the perspective and how we view death.

Personally when I think of death, I feel humbled and serene. I reflect on how I live my life and them make amends on areas that need it. How have I bettered myself today? Do I focus on things that matter since I'm getting more closer to my grave with each passing nanosecond? Have satisfy my soul and make others happy today? These are questions I ask myself, and I feel motivated to do things that make me a better person. Is it then safe to say that death is my motivation? Or is it because I don't think of it in a way that depresses me?

I make it a habit to visit graveyards every Friday. When I walk on that vast space of graves and grasses, when there aren't onlookers, I stop at certain graves that have attractive inscription then after offering prayers to them. I imagine them sleeping peacefully inside on lofty beds, with angels singing lullabies for them. That's how strong my imagination is lol. This life is indeed a mirage, only the unwise see it as water. This life is indeed an illusion, only the foolish see it as real. But that doesn't stop us from making the best of it while we live in it.

The fear of death :

Among others, there are those that fear death.Does the fearr of death makes it farther away from us? Sometimes we get lost in the fear of death that we forget to love and enjoy the moment. Instead of seeing death as an end, how about seeing it as a transition? Or a means of escape from a chaotic world? So do we then love it? No.... Death is not to be loved. I mean if death was a person, no one would love the guy who create orphans, childless women, widows and widowers huh? I don't think it should be hated either. The best way to go about it is to accept it.

Acceptance :

In accepting the reality of death, we don't love nor hate it. We simply acknowledge its presence without allowing it to affect how we go about our lives. When we learn to accept the reality of death, we carry it in out hearts all day. It makes you fully aware of the possibility of you falling dead at the exact moment you're reading this. Same way it makes you appreciate the life there is in a moment, it opens your eyes to how much things you change in a nanosecond. It makes you fully aware of the power of now.

Now, that's all we've got. Alot of things can go away in the next second, including your life. In living in the now, we experience things from different dimensions : happiness, sadness, comfort and so on. We become dedicated to serving ourselves and others whenever we can, it makes us prioritise our happiness and peace of mind over all things, which include deriving pleasure in making other people happy, not for us to be remembered when we are dead, but for the mere sake of it.

Sponsors of DocLayla
empty
empty
empty

My bio reads "I live only for today", to be more honest I live only for now. Now, I am not dead. Now, I am typing this. Now, I am reading this. Now, I can do whatever I wanna do. The next moment isn't mine until it comes.

That being said ; I will love to leave you with this amazing quote:

"By contemplating the impermanence of everything in the world, we are forced to recognise that every time we do something could be the last time we do it, and this recognition can invest the things we do with a significance and intensity that would otherwise be absent."

~William B Irvine.

Thank you for reading.

To all my sponsors, up voters, commenters, and viewers here is a big heart ❤ for you. Thank you all. You're part of the inspiration.

Yours Layly,

💜💜💜💜💜💜.

7
$ 3.06
$ 2.87 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.03 from @Fexonice1
+ 5
Sponsors of DocLayla
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DocLayla
2 years ago

Comments

Beautiful content. Loved the way you explained it dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you very much friend. I am glad you like it.🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Be inspired by your life, but be prepared for your death. Before it happens, live your life beautifully

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We never know when we would get hit, it might just be a step away. Enjoy this moment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't really think I have thought of death and I will be scared before, I see it as a normal thing now even though it only inspires me to live a righteous life. I haven't felt remorseful after thinking of death at all

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's aimless being scared of death, we only scare for what might not happen. Death is a given.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A lot of people fear death but forget to note that death is not escapable... Everyone at the end of the day gats die so we have to live and enjoy every part of our lives like death is close by

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right. This life is all we've got.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Is there air conditioning? I don't know but it better have wifi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha. Being in the grave would have been way better then.😅😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago