Dead.

12 35
Avatar for DocLayla
2 years ago

Dead. I died a long time ago but they wouldn't believe it. Five years ago I lost my beloved wife and she was buried alongside my heart, leaving me without one. I still had to love our son being the only thing I had left in this world. I loved him with my soul because my heart was no more and when he died two years after the death of my wife, I became soulless. What use is a body without a soul. I died.

I can't really remember when I died. What I remember is the moment my beloved wife died my heart stopped pumping blood...and that was when I started dying. My soul took total control over body and by some miracle, I lived. The soul couldn't take it any longer after my son died from pneumonia and it departed me, leaving me with a body devoid of the mos essential partsโ€”my heart and soul. Tell me what I am if not dead. You too don't believe it do you?

When I look at the world, what do I see? Nothing! All I see are a bunch of mortals going about their daily businesses and in hope that they get something out of the day. Their life was so futile and fickle that I stopped paying much attention to them. I abandoned the house I once lived in with my dead family and went far away from people. I found an abandoned farmhouse and made it my cocoon. God! How relieving it feels to be away from these mortals! Death isn't that bad afterall.

Staying in the farmhouse was way better. I could stay in it for days, or weeks without seeing the rays of the sun..I was totally okay with that.

With time, I finally gave up on food as I se no point why a dead man should eat like mortals. I didn't wash nor bath.. nor talk, nor move. I kept my position on an old creek chair for three days.

"How pleasant death is!", "He who despises death is a fool and knows nothing about life!", "What futility and vanity would this earth bring you!". "Die now and live forever!"

My screams were so loud that despite being distant from people, I was heard tha night. It had rained so people retired home early. The air was still making my screams more heard as it reverberated into the neighbouring houses. I staggered out of my farmhouse and fell in the ground. I managed to make out small blurry black objects heading in my direction. These mortals found their way to where I was lying. They proceeded to dragging me to my feet. There is this man I recognised, he must have led here. He had been monitoring me closely ever since I found the farmhouse, I didn't pay attention to him because he doesn't matter, besides he is a mortal. Perdition fall on him!

They dragged me to my feet and I heard one day "he looks famished and tattered, he must be a mad man", the rest muttered agreements as two hefty men lifted me up, carrying me on their shoulders as the rest followed suit. Of course I resisted but it was to no avail. They took me to a madhouse and locked me up. If only these mortals realize that they are the ones on the brink of insanity, they wouldn't have brought me here.

"I am not mad!", "let me out of here you stupid senseless mortals! you can't lock me up for long! My soul will definitely come for you all!" I kept yelling at the top of my voice, shaking the locks and crossbars. I do that till date but my soul hasn't yet come for me. Although I feel it drawing closer with each yell and scream. One day I shall be set free...

*******************************

Cortard's Syndrome is a rare and bizarre neurological disorder where a person believes he is dead or doesn't exist. He might also believe that he has lost some body organs even when they intact and working. People with this disorder tend to show very antisocial behaviours and get totally withdrawn from people. In extreme cases, these people might stop speaking. Their perception of reality gets so warped up that no amount of persuasion could change the belief that they're dead. Therapy and anti-depressants can be of help in some cases.

The cause of this syndrome is yet to be ascertained but seems to be linked with other diseases such as stroke and Parkinsons disease.

Next time you see someone with this, do not think he's a ghost lol. He's probably suffering from Cortard's syndrome.

Thanks for reading.

To all my sponsors, up voters, viewers and commenters I say a very big thank you to you all.

God bless you all.

Yours Layly,

๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’œ

Lead Image from Unsplash

11
$ 4.05
$ 3.75 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Lovelyfaith
$ 0.04 from @Princessbusayo
+ 9
Sponsors of DocLayla
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DocLayla
2 years ago

Comments

Reading about that syndrome, I felt so sad about people who are going through that, beautiful perspective post

$ 0.01
2 years ago

A very sad situation indeed. Thanks ๐Ÿ˜Š friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't even imagine having such a syndrome. It is indeed quite a bizarre one

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Indeed. There are many of them out there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Humans are facing more critical problems nowadays. Most of them are related with mental issues.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

..and are often neglected. Mental health is as important as physical health.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I canโ€™t imagine loosing my partner after several years of marriage must be hard ๐Ÿ˜ข

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Very hard indeed. Losing loves ones can be devastating.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is very informative Doc. I thought the word dead is just a figurative language and I understand him for labeling him as dead because his wife and son left him for good but it turns out that it wasn't a figurative language at all. And that he really believes he is dead. Omyy, this is the first time I have heard of this syndrome. This must be difficult for him and his family.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes. It's a very strange situation. Depression and agony can lead to many things we know not of. Turned out the man meant it in both ways.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seems like he gets crazy because of depression and sadness. But he's life is totally lonely.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You can imagine the situation here. The death of loved ones can cause a lot of adverse effects. The ability to bear pain is a superpower on its own.

$ 0.00
2 years ago