A male Flammulated Owl doing what he does best during the day

19 25
Avatar for Dipubiswas07
3 years ago

A male Flammulated Owl doing what he does best during the day, roosting against the trunk of a Douglas fir, to which he is perfectly camouflaged.

This photo is the result of 11 days hiking by myself throughout the backcountry of a mountainous region in British Columbia’s Southern Interior, searching specifically for these amazingly cryptic birds and their nests. Despite being the smallest owls in Canada, they migrate thousands of kilometres to and from their wintering grounds in Mexico; returning each spring to the mountains of the western US and British Columbia. Here in BC, they favour the Douglas fir / ponderosa pine forests found east of the Coast Mountains where the rain shadow effect creates a more arid, sparsely-treed landscape. Raising their young in vacated cavities created primarily by woodpeckers, they subsist entirely on insects. Of particular dietary importance are owlet moths which are capable of flying in the sub-zero temperatures the owls are often met with upon arrival to their breeding grounds in early May. Strictly nocturnal, and with a penchant for concealing themselves incredibly well during the day results in these owls being very seldom seen.

My main motivation when it comes to nature photography is having the opportunity to develop a deeper understanding of the many birds, animals and landscapes that have captivated me since I can remember. I’ve found that personally, the most rewarding approach begins with a blank slate; slowly solving the many puzzles that are inherent in the world of observing wildlife behaviour. This can often be as much a physical challenge as it is mental; something that rang true throughout this particular trip. Thankfully, my sometimes overly ambitious goals tend to be met with enough tenacity, and while I consider myself a fairly gregarious person, there’s simply nothing I enjoy more than spending days alone, steeped in the world of my subject. I look forward to sharing more images of these fascinating birds with you all throughout the coming weeks!

12
$ 0.00
Avatar for Dipubiswas07
3 years ago

Comments

Nice article Dear, pls subscribe me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Al ready sub done

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I subscribed you .Please subscribe me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What an article!! I love this kind of articles.😊😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Awesome

$ 0.00
3 years ago

❤❤❤❤❤❤👍👍👍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

i want to see one owl someday too😊 coz I haven't seen that yet in person😅 pls check my article too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I cheak you post all time

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thank you☺️ i really appreciate it ☺️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Most welcome

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nature keeps our mind fresh. Your writing skill is very well.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank u so much @fami

$ 0.00
3 years ago

WoW Great article dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank u dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are most welcome dear,,,Keep it up...

$ 0.00
3 years ago