21 Poetry Antun Branko Šimić

2 27
Avatar for Dimke
Written by
3 years ago

Biography

Antun Branko Šimić was a Croatian poet, essayist, critic and translator.

Antun Branko Šimić was born in Drinovci in Herzegovina in the family of Vida and Martin Šimić. He attends elementary school in his native Drinovci. Antun Branko Šimić is finishing three grades of the Franciscan Classical Gymnasium in Široki Brijeg. After Široki Brijeg, he enrolled in the fourth grade of the high school in Vinkovci. In the eighth grade, in 1917, he dropped out of school due to the publication of the literary magazine Vijavica in Zagreb, and started the literary magazine Juriš in 1919 under the influence of the expressionist newspaper Der Sturm. In 1923, he started a third magazine, Književnik.

In literature, Antun Branko Šimić appeared in 1913 with the Winter Song (magazine Luč). At the time when he started Vijavica, Šimić turned partly to the expressionist understanding of art and presented his poetics in his programmatic texts, published in Vijavica and Juriš. During his lifetime, he published only the collection of the Transfiguration (1920), in which he partly collected poems that had already been published in periodicals. With this collection, Antun Branko Šimić introduced himself to the readers as a distinct avant-garde artist, who builds his verses on the basis of the astonishment of the world, and regardless of the rules of the traditionally established linguistic and formal structure of poetry.

After a severe pneumonia, in 1924 he contracted tuberculosis and tried to be treated in Dubrovnik and Cavtat, and in 1925 he returned to Zagreb, where he died at the age of twenty-seven. Antun Branko Šimić was buried in the Mirogoj cemetery in Zagreb.

DATE PLACE

BORN November 18, 1898 Drinovci

DIED May 2, 1925 Zagreb

1.20 years

I'm young

I want a life full and stormy

I want a life like God

It's all mine

In the lap of my thoughts everything falls apart

Days

Every day of mine is equal

The sky above your head

Houses of people around me.

Countless people go.

I'm on all the streets.

I smile into all the beautiful eyes of women.

I'm listening

when dresses and movements pass through the air.

Lost

I'm waiting on the corner

to be found by one white hand

and led away from the cold corner

No one ever comes to me.

The women pass

everything sinks to the bottom of the street.

Alone on the corner

zebem.

Mourning.

Fatigue.

The space is dark.

The evening descends into space and into me.

Through the blue evening sky, the yellow stars

Through the blue evening greenish lamps

Music is pouring out of the night houses

into the streets and into me.

I would dance just one dance

I would like to be everywhere

I would like the joy of all people

I would like to kiss the faces of all women.

Looking for

I get a cold look everywhere

I'm a stranger to everyone

o I am a stranger to all, and I am alone

I'm running

away from the last houses of the city.

I wrap myself in the night: in a black and heavy cloak

and crying

I scream in the night black and unknown

The wind carries a scream down the empty street

I can't be alone at night.

Around me my friends.

Red alcohol rustles in front of me.

Let the sad heart sink into the night.

My mother is dreaming

In the dream her hand searches my face through the night.

I'm gone

Red alcohol rustles in my soul.

My sister wakes up in the night

My sister is afraid of the night and me.

Her cry wanders lost in the darkness.

The soft moonlight came

her face is covered with a blue cloak.

Is there another hand looking for me?

Is there another white girl crying for me?

He sings red alcohol to me.

Cold white moonlight wanders outside

Outside, time passes quietly through the night.

My heart dreams at the bottom of the night.

My longing for the bottom of the glass dies.

My heart is dead at the bottom of the night.

At night, the black cloak be good

Wrap my dead heart softly

At night, the black cloak of eternity

Morning

Light

Houses awake open their eyes

White shadows creep up on me

My dark soul hates light

My face is not for the sun and people.

I will never be loved by beautiful women.

Children will run away from me in the morning down the street.

A drunken singer goes singing stumbles.

To see me

the little sister would scream in fright

cried the mother.

Let me go

I will always love my darkness.

Dear place

sister's place

mother's place

Death will kiss my forehead.

Yellow candles will not shine on my death

soft bells will not ring

the mother will not cry.

Cold white stars will shine on my death

My death will be barked by a night dog in the city.

Nothing is mine

I am the game of my God.

I stand alone on the edge of night and all experiences

Behind me lies a black past buried

I am now a dark frontier

I am born

God throw life at me

I am the sea waiting for the red life of the sun in me

God, be Your will

I stand on the edge of my past

I am the dark frontier

My soul trembles

the bride on the first timid blue night.

My soul trembles

in front of You

an endless and secret dark curtain.

2.April

Transfigurations

In the garden under the April sun

the first buds shoot slowly

They play and laugh along the paths

girls

I go in and sit on the bench

to smoke a cigarette

in the prancio

Girls are ashamed to leave toys

who to say:

It's not for us anymore

I smoke

Some rustle close

Hidden behind a bush

he measures me with mute glances

girls

I see how she sometimes goes astray with her hand

and pressed under a light spring suit

heart

Scream!

He saw that they had been discovered

and laughing they fled abruptly before my eyes

for tall shrubs in the garden

3.April Dreaming In Dubrava

I escaped from the black and another city

In the woods, glamorous and full of shade,

To sail under a vit with a scent

I find the past life again and the hours of serenity…

And here I am dreaming of a small and small flute

And I experience light nymphs as a joke.

No nymph, no; they hid in the woods,

Well - maybe - satires kiss happy and chile;

There are no nymphs, just above the forest clearing

Butterflies turn yellow in the sun, which is hot

Tired lawn and leaves and flowers -

It flies a yellow swarm of butterflies, with air, it flies

And I would sleep so sweetly as a child,

Lots of dreams about flying butterflies,

Yes between the leaves and behind the shrubbery

I did not see the familiar face and two dear eyes:

My gold has come after me

The field paths and the grove and the dark forest,

so she is more beautiful to me - my nymph and fairy:

All the splendor and charm and splendor of the blossoming April.

4.Bacteria

I'm being eaten by bacteria

Rotten rotten poor flesh

God, aren't you sorry?

I am a child. God! Child!

Some nights some wine

some flowers hands eyes dark eyes

Now: the ruin of meat disease

bacteria

Nothing

God!

Fiancée what will You

meat that sledge

eyes like two dead black flowers

one child burning to ruin?

The gas fires the dreams of the star

The fiancée of Your fire my dream stars

Dead eyes become in the night

Meat is sprayed into some atoms

Your fiancée, my flesh

Bright, hide your black holy eyes

Listen: the noise is the sound is: it's coming

horror of time:

deep in the night my soul dies

And from the night one Hand comes

insensitive to my soul over things.

5.Without Love

We look at ugliness in each other

the distances of the world are too small to separate us

I feel close to you already because of who you are

and again

so much longing for love

and by uniting as before

Gone is the love (as it already happens)

We know that now

Someone intervened

and someone is squeezing us, pulling us

and we strain helplessly

to return and irreversibly

We are without love

and in vain desires powerless and short

6.It used to be

It was something beautiful and it passed,

- Or it was just a dream -

More beautiful than the stars, more beautiful than the roses

And the smile of mountain fairies.

The nights were moonlit, beautiful,

And full of hot joys.

The gardens were full of scents,

And the roses are blooming white.

There was laughter, long looks,

What do they know but to say,

There was happiness, sighs of sorrow,

And a hymn to the magical May.

She was a soul full of sunshine

And fiery longings, son

Sometimes like the sky a firefly shines

Then he dies and dies.

It used to be. Darkness is everywhere now

And pain, which burns and burns.

It was a dream, it was a story

One fine evening.

7.Blessing

Summer and life!… Sunny gems

It shines with the glow of burnt gold.

Lovely merry nightingales sing;

A new joy of the heart is captured from the song.

As long as everything flourishes so profusely,

They tremble with joy at every tree branch.

Listen! not far from the shout of the multitude of the world

Ori shouted violently: “Hosanna! "Hosanna!"

The azure turns blue like the ocean.

With a cheerful smile of a sumptuous summer,

With a shout of tumultuous joyful world.

The heavens whisper softly Hymn holy:

Let the glory roar up and whirl

"Lord, to You!… Hosanna - Hosanna!"

8.Blessing of the Wheat

The sun shone from the third hill this morning

In dense jets. It's getting hot.

Bright dust floats in thin clouds

Over the whole field and down over the valley.

Under the white tent misnik Mass Mass:

Kazula shines like silver in the sun,

The holy words ring and the sounds of silence are heard

In the whiteness of the day and the light of the air clean.

So when the sound of the bell Raising the java

Two white minstrels resembling two lilies,

The regiment bends… and the ears of the pig have a thin head;

Holy time; just buzzing in the ear silence.

As far as the white cloud from the heights

A face smiles well and eyes are blue,

And two long arms transparent and white

They share blessings with wheat and the people.

9.God And City Afternoon

A young man in a coffee shop all afternoon

thoughts of God

The waiter circles the tables forever

Piccolo - lame - offers cigarettes

and sometimes a hand glows a glowing ear

Faces are gray dull and empty

Two blue-cheeked women laugh

(I guess they are ladies from varietea)

and after grimacing they despise everything

sit down

and call: Cigarettes, Cherry Cobler

On the ceiling faun rutav flute playing

and lures naked nymphs to her

Smoke from tobacco rises more and more into spheres

The cafe hovers colorfully fantastic and woods and dreams

It is already dusk behind the windows

The cafe is a train, it travels and will arrive almost at night

(Night is a station "on the other side")

Bright lights

Chess players wake up from their sleep

The young man is ashamed of the nauseating sweat

He gets up paces as pale as a somnambulist

Behind him, someone shouts: pay!

There is an eternal race on the street

Twilight lights the bell of the people

The young man is standing, he thinks

The young man's brain is bursting into countless pieces

The street flies and where it turns

It's night

thread.

10.God And My Body

The path of my body through the world

What should I sing about my body and about myself?

God is throwing my body away

from bright mornings to the abyss of dark nights

God is throwing my body away

through the torments and joys and passions of the day

into the blue sky of a night's sleep

What should I sing about my body and about myself?

I am the river

I'm running

And somewhere during the day or maybe hours (I don't know)

stands my sea

Oh, when will I arrive?

And when will my pregnant head rest in his lap?

Not!

I'm not going

I'm standing

And days are constantly coming to me

And to me

across the ground, fields of tree houses hills

the sea is coming

insurmountable and immeasurable, heavy sea

11.The God of My Childhood

From my world, where you were a miracle,

you are leaving forever. About what will

of my miracles to stay in the world of other people?

Oh why, my miracle, you will part with me

and be someone just a woman?

What can you be on earth, the star of my sky?

12.God the Torturer

Hatred suddenly enters our souls

- O our crooked lips, torn faces! -

Behind us stands an invisible and cruel God

in the dark

Darkness is his cloak

and his huge invisible body disappeared in the heights

We stick out like trees when the storm passes

Next to us the hours rustle about the suits

In our faces

compassion cuts a gentle and deep laugh of reconciliation

And the dark God turned to light

what is rolling out the spaces

and it rushes wildly to our windows

13.The patient

Autumn afternoon draws on the yard

Rooms with a thin shade of fruit and twigs,

Everything is so beautiful that it makes us dream better

The patient is beautiful on an old bed.

Red reflex some, and with high descends

From somewhere in the garden, her face is caressed,

The yellowish color lights up and burns

For a while, so does the life of the dream go out?

Everything is yellow, oh yellow: the room and the glow of the day

And he lowered a leaning branch to the window;

And the yellow smell to be, that's why they're in the pot

Two yellow marigolds near their end.

So that someone doesn't often come into the room,

Here the old autumn would weave thin nets

I covered myself with the dust of silence and a thin veil with my lap

The patient and hers all night and day.

14.Patient

Transfigurations

My body is sick

and longs for a quiet one hospital

Hospital without forests and without a city

in an empty pale day

A pale day is a reflection of a pale sky

In the dead garden the winter sun walks

We silent monasteries without God

in our white deserted rooms

we forget life

we dream

long sad pale empty our days

Our windows hit sometimes

the cry of dance and the joy of life from the city

- Oh city!

O restlessness powerlessness of our hearts!

Oh we are long gone from life

and we are just our memories!

Only the door of our house opens to death -

For the edge of the earth, the sky collapses

Evening

15.Future

Transfigurations

Because they already were

and everything was already in the first hour

in the infinite view of God reflected

From time: from the deep dark wing of God

continuously into the light surface

coming in the future

In the abyssal eye of God

myriads of future worlds are reflected

16.Bule

Afternoon. In summer. The branches of the vine hide

Yellow refrigerator above the Turkish julienne;

In the refrigerator, yellow bulls laugh

And they drink coffee from colorful finds.

On the table pears - wasps drink sweetness -

And white handkerchiefs and branches of lilac;

Outside comes the sweet breath of the day -

Il peaches ripen somewhere nearby.

Take it easy! Who should see

Those white shadows, which the refrigerator hid!

Only the sun stares through the cracks.

And as long as the water from the fountain is leaking,

They were already dreaming of bubbles in the mist of blue smoke

Closing his eyes like under kisses.

17.Chanson

In your little garden

The fridge is beautiful

Oh, how it smells like spring,

My love.

In your orange garden -

Tanana trees.

Beneath them he sings from a guitar

Song sanana.

Listen, the night is everywhere - it smells,

Easy - easy.

Or my soul sighs,

dear - dear.

I will shadow your madman

love all night

Al, in the morning you will be with the sun

You - lose.

In your little garden

The fridge is beautiful.

Oh, never again - never,

My love.

18.Chanson Triste

They asked me, when I was a child,

Why am I sad forever and my face pale,

Why do my eyes fly into the distance,

When dusk sits on our blue hills.

They asked me, and I stopped silently,

I didn't know a word to say.

They asked me, but now no one else

He neither asks me anything, nor looks at me.

I am everyone in that life and solitude,

I shed tears and sob in the middle of the darkness.

There's just an old woman somewhere,

What a son waiting for a lost son.

19.Flower In The Cafe

Transfigurations

Under wide-brimmed hats, in apart clothes

- in the pockets of the hands and in the souls of secrets

buried deep -

from the winter white night

they enter and rush to their permanent table

Coffee Cigarette Liqueurs

And the hour has come

to get into trouble slowly

Secret fires are burning and burning on their faces

flames flames

Suddenly

all the paths lead them into a dry yellow and infinite emptiness

Where?

The soul begins to hate the soul

and torments

Hidden secrets come out of the souls

With his hands under his heavy heads on the table

shut up

In a vase among them

forgotten

quiet and red

flower of love

burning

20.Cacuga

My parents were human

I carry a certificate of this with me for anyone who would doubt it.

Of gypsum or clay is not my body

But the world has kneaded everything it wants from me

I have changed my shape and face so many times!

In the twenty-fifth summer I realized one wisdom:

I decided to be what I am inside and out

stay in the shape I am in

And so independent, his own, and a man in his place

now I could mix everything I wanted from others

I have always longed for a woman and came to my friend's wife

- I had friends now because I had money -

and I told her desperately about the misfortune that followed me:

I am drawn by women on all sides, I cannot step away from women

Of course, she believed and bonded with me ever since

with his sad looks. But I stayed tough

only later did I give up

A bit later

I kicked a friend out of his house

and I sat alone inside

21.Boat

The silence of the night was everywhere

And full of sorrow, warm peace,

Somewhere just an old piano is whimpering

And a bat wanders through the air,

So resent the sadness - warm peace.

He swims down the silver water

I'm a moonlight boat,

It's like an ostrich dreaming in it,

Where a strange blue flame burns.

Lagacko sails the boat alone.

I stand silently by the shore sto

- Oh, will he ever come back

Driving Happiness? ”I am afraid

Yes, the night will seduce him

And it will never come again…

5
$ 0.08
$ 0.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Dimke
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Dimke
Written by
3 years ago

Comments