Letter to The Future

4 33
Avatar for DiikaanYe
1 year ago

Do you sometimes wish you can travel to the future and see what it's like? Or perhaps you can just swing in there and have a little nice conversation with your future self to see how things turned out and gets his opinion on how to navigate today so you have a better future?

So I had quite an interesting day today with a lot of things not going according to plan and the frustration just got to me. At some point I started wondering about the future and what it holds for me. I mean, if you're a Nigerian you'd understand that a lot of things are in a messed up state.

So while thinking, I decided to just pen a little letter to my future self to check up on him and fill him in on the current state of things. So here it goes.

Dear future self,

I hope you are doing well, I hope you're doing way better than you were five years ago. I hope you've finally achieved all the lofty dreams and ideas that your younger self could only dream of.

I hope clarity about your purpose has been achieved. I hope that you've not changed your principles and has continued to hold strong to your value systems.

I hope the fear of failure has not crippled you and kept you stuck in the doldrums. I know you're intelligent, smart and adventurous, I hope they've only made you a better person.

I'm writing to you to let you know that I'm striving hard to lay the right foundation for you. I'm fighting everyday to make sure that the dreams of today becomes your reality.

I'm using today's reality as motivation to attain tomorrow's glories, in order so you don't have to experience what I'm experiencing today.

The current situation of things today is appalling, from lack of security, to lack of jobs and yeah! ASUU is on strike so the boys are on the streets looking for alternatives for survival.

Gone are the days when education was the key to success, nowadays the keys to success is based on the skills one can perfect and exploit. We're in the trenches getting rekt regularly (lol). As school is not in session, I'm learning new skills on a daily in order to add more value to my life.

It's the electioneering period again and politicians are all over us with their usual falsehood, promising heaven and earth. Many of them are still the same crop who's been in power for decades with no evidence of development to show for it, other than the accumulation of massive wealth through unknown sources.

But not to worry, we've got our voters' card and hopefully, we'll get it right this time around. Hopefully we'll be able to vote in someone who understands the economy, has the interest of the masses at heart, and works towards the development of the country.

Just as the economy is crumbling, crypto and Decentralized finance has come to the rescue of most of us. Though the technology is still in its infant stage and I get rekt more often than not, there's hope that you'll be reaping the fruits in ten folds.

I've decided that I'm going to perfect every skill I have right now so that you won't have to face what I'm facing currently. I'm daily working to improve and perfect my video editing and motion graphics skills as well, while crypto seems to be the future.

It's stressing and distressing to be in this era, but then it's okay, I mean there's no gain without pain. And I'm taking all these pain in just so you won't have to feel anything like it.

I'm trying to learn finance management so when the funds finally come you'll know how to manage it effectively. I'm daily learning and planting seeds so you can enjoy its fruits later. When you finally find true, sincere and peaceful love, hold it close and cherish it for the kind is rare.

I know that you probably have a very busy schedule, so I'll save your time by concluding here. Remember never to let the evil in the world change you for the bad. Trust your instincts and go after your heart desires.

Try as much as possible to be good to people, help them whenever you can, and never hurt anyone intentionally. Be quick to forgive, for by doing so you save yourself of the baggage of keeping unnecessary grudges.

Remember family is the most important set of people in your life, love them and provide for them, and again, when you finally find true, sincere and peaceful love, hold it close and cherish it for the kind is rare.

Cheers 🥂 to a better life.

Sponsors of DiikaanYe
empty
empty
empty

Welcome to my blog, you can relax and be rest assured of quality content on diverse topics. You're free to air your views and opinions in the comments section, It'll be my pleasure to learn and engage.

4
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @Bibijani01
Avatar for DiikaanYe
1 year ago

Comments

I just hope the future gets to read this... God heal your country

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope it does. Amen and thank you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are welcome

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope it does. Amen and thank you

$ 0.00
1 year ago