“Cancel Culture” 

0 22
Avatar for DianaGal
2 years ago

What is the meaning of cancel culture? Is cancel culture something new, or is it just intriguing because of who gets "cancelled"? Have you ever been rejected, and if so, at what point in your life?

Being canceled is nothing new to us, not only for celebrities who have gone through it, but also for ordinary people like us. I'm sure we've all been canceled in some situation, whether it was at school, work, or other events. Before I tell you about my canceled culture experience, let us all understand what this means.

"To argue that cancel culture is anything new is actually incorrect," says Konrad Rudnicki, an Antwerp University researcher. "It's basically ostracism," he continues, noting that the only new variable is social media and the Internet. "One of the most fundamental methods for defining the borders that define a group's identity is ostracism. Those who do not obey our group's guidelines are excluded. "Individuals' physical and psychological well-being are threatened by ostracism (being ignored and excluded) and other forms of interpersonal rejection (Williams and Nida, 2011).

If one of the family members does not follow his parents' rules, he may be dismissed or face consequences from his parents, or if one of the classmates in a small group at school does not follow group norms, he will almost certainly be an outcast or hated.

How do I come across cancel culture, and how do I deal with it?

Image from Unplash

When I was in college, I had my first experience with this cancellation issue. My parents told me that they couldn't afford to send me to college due to financial constraints. There is one person who has given us hope by offering to assist my parents financially in getting me into college. I was overjoyed at the time and tried my best to make sure my good grades so that the person who assisted would not be disappointed with my performance. 

Suddenly, we received such pretty unpleasant news after the first semester of my first year in college. My mother informed me that the person who had helped me get into college was no longer doing so, but the worst aspect is that we don't know why. Why is it so quick to cancel, what's wrong, did I make a mistake, or was she brainwashed to stop supporting me? 

We haven't figured out the real explanation until now. I was so depressed at the time that I felt I wouldn't be able to finish my studies. Maybe I'd understand if she explained to us why she was canceling, perhaps confronting me if I did something wrong, but we didn't get a valid reason, and that hurts my feelings.

My parents, on the other hand, were extremely responsible and did everything possible to help me finish my studies. They found a new job that paid well enough for me to continue my studies, and I did my best to support my parents by applying for scholarships and selling items. In addition, for a semester, I was also experiencing being a working student.

My life at the time was not easy, but I promised myself that I would graduate on time so that I could repay my parents' sacrifices by financially supporting them; assisting my siblings in enrolling in school and completing their studies, and, most importantly, constructing a concrete comfortable home for them.

And now I'm better. I've completed my education on time, and I'm able to support my family. I deal with the cancellation situation by remaining positive. Maybe there's a purpose or maybe it's not my future, but I turn negative into positive.

Other thoughts

Cancellation can take several forms. One of the current trends is to ruin your image through social media or any other platform. Celebrities, influencers, and ordinary people are the ones who are most affected. Cancel culture teaches us that if you offend someone, you will never be forgiven and your life will be devastated.

On the other hand, when you confront and inform that person of the legitimate reason for canceling someone, this cancel culture can be justified.

How about you, have you ever been affected by cancel culture, and if so, how? I'd like to hear your thoughts.

Thank you to everyone who has upvoted and read my articles. I hope you find my writings interesting. Many thanks!

If you have any questions or concerns, please leave them in the comments section below; I would love to hear from you. I appreciate it.

LIKE & SUBSCIBE mwaaah!

Sponsors of DianaGal
empty
empty
empty

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for DianaGal
2 years ago

Comments