Uncliché plots

7 35
Avatar for Deeepensiverse
2 years ago
  • Lead image by me.

*Deeepensiverse signs in*

I have to say, I've made various bad decisions growing up, I think it started from senior secondary, it was the cusp of online books for me. I was a sucker for cliché books.

The first online novel I read was from worldreader, I can't exactly remember the name or what happened but it was about a 16-year-old girl falling in love with an older guy, I think he was 18, then they sleep together and he proposes. It was a delight watching it at the time, I wasn't up to 16 then so I always wondered how my prince charming would approach me.

WorldReader wasn't popular then so there were not many books there, I was pretty bored until I heard my classmates then talk about Wattpad and how they read this book called 'chasing red' by Isabelle Ronin. All I wanted to do was read the book. When I got back home from the hostel to prepare for a major external exam for University, I was in the school hostel at the time, I read Chasing Red. I don't know if I can replicate what I felt at the time. It was all shades of amazing, My expectations were getting higher then.

I then proceeded to read other Wattpad books, why stop at one when you can read so many?. I think the second book I read was titled 'the girl he never noticed' by Neilani Alejandrino. It was equally awesome, I think it was about a rude, rich, and handsome man that had this big company inherited from his father. He met this really poor and unattractive girl that made this mean cup of coffee and hired her to be his Secretary. They of course fall in love, the classic Cinderella story except Cinderella here had a child for the prince a couple of years back. I can't remember what happened in detail but I think that was the gist. Needless to say, they ended up together because Cinderella stories always favor Cinderella.

I think I read almost every bad boy book on Wattpad, my library was filled with books like the bad boy stole my bra, bad boy in glasses, bad boy's neighbor. It was mostly about the bad boy falling in love with the good girl and changing for her but there will be this bad girl of course that'll try to sabotage the whole thing but love always won. I had this bubble of expectations that time, I was waiting for my bad boy to sweep me off my feet, to take me on his motorcycle and tell me to wrap my arms around him, to be the focus of attraction of two guys because there's always this other guy that likes the girl, to be every girl's envy and be like 'I got the man', to take me on various adventures, to love only me and then we get married and live happily ever after.

I don't remember the point I stopped finding them interesting, I think I paused the kdrama phase then for the Wattpad phase, so I paused the Wattpad phase for the kdrama phase. Now that I think about it, I think it was because I was growing up, I started to see reality, I started to see things as they were.

I still read some bad boy books, those are more about character development than bad boy tendencies.

Uncliché plots

I read this book yesterday called 'Holding on' by joymoment on Wattpad, you can check it out here, I've read it before a while back but decided to read it again. She negated every cliche scene in a typical bad boy book on Wattpad, it is a really short book I had fun passing time with.

There's this broody, good girl that lived near a stereotyped bad boy, they don't end up together, it simply addresses stereotypes and how they can be wrong. It addresses how forever isn't certain because we really do not know if what tomorrow holds, dating since high school and getting married 6 years later is very uncommon.

I've been telling people these days, I want to read a book that the bad boy falls in love with the good girl acts like he's changed then breaks her heart into a fine powder, it'll be fun.

As I am now, I don't want a cliché bad boy, it's stressful, bad boys are toxic, Nigerian bad boys are worse.

The Stereotyped Nigerian bad boy

Nigerian bad boys don't have motorcycles or a really bad reputation. They're mostly light-skinned, I know @Jumper-01 doesn't agree but that's the stereotype, he wrote an article about misconceptions about light-skinned guys, you can check it out here, they can also be chocolate skinned, they're tall, they're smooth with words, flirty and have many female friends or presumably a 'cousin'. They'll have cars, they're chivalrous, they don't define the relationship, they are like 'let's just see how it goes' and probably be like that for 2 years, they get jealous a lot.

This isn't me generalizing it, not all guys that have these qualities are 'bad boys' but bad boys have a majority of these qualities.


Did you ever have a bad boy phase like me?

Have you ever dated a stereotyped bad boy?

How did it turn out?

My sponsors y'all.

Sponsors of Deeepensiverse
empty
empty
empty
Please do check them out.

If you're on noise.cash, let's engage, click here.

You can read my other articles by clicking here.

Thank you for reading 🤗

November 24, 2021.

©Deeepensiverse.

9
$ 3.00
$ 2.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @Jumper-01
$ 0.03 from @Greatwolfman
+ 6
Sponsors of Deeepensiverse
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Deeepensiverse
2 years ago

Comments

okay thank God when it comes to this aspect I am saved and doing well lol, bad boy qualities are not in me or am I blind to see them, no they are not.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Be deceiving yourself 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hello for the first time I read one of your posts here in read, in particular, I found it quite entertaining. I also followed you on noise. In particular, I do not know why but Wattpad I do not like very much

$ 0.00
2 years ago

First of all thank you for the mention I am really flattered and bravo I can tell you really took you time drafting this article. Weldone

Now😂 first all I am not a bad boy … second of all how do you know we don’t have a bad reputation have you dated any of us ? Sha sha girls and their expectations for a bad boy y’all read too much Romantic stuff

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you🤗

How do you know you're not a bad boy?😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have the feeling

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Leemaaaoooo, I think you are wrong but then 😁😁😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago