Susan's story #4: away from here.

1 38
  • Lead image by me.

This is the final part of this story, you can read the previous parts by clicking on the link below.

First part.

Second part.

Third part.

Susan's story

The following week was filled with apologies, Dave sent flowers each day with a card, the card read beautiful poems of love. He called me every day and asked about my day. He told me about his day, every single detail.

Dave visited me unannounced the next week. He brought goodies that he knew I liked. He brought chocolates to my office one time, he bribed me with Chicken and Chips from my favorite place on an unannounced visit to my apartment.

We went on dates the third week, we went to the cinema and tried new restaurants. We hung out despite our busy schedules.

We were in 'the honeymoon phase'.

This went on for 2 months. On my birthday, Dave threw a surprise birthday party for me and proposed to me again. He got another ring, he said I deserved something better. The ring had this cute diamond, I loved it.

I threw all caution in the air, the next three months were the best months of our relationship, things went back to the way it was before the cheating scandal, only much better.

Wedding preparations began, my mom was so happy to plan this. My family met Dave's family officially even though I was already acquainted with some of them. This was called an introduction.

Our faces glowed, we were irrevocably in love.

We had everything all figured out, Dave wanted to sell his apartment to get a bigger place but I dissuaded him. He lived in a two-bedroom apartment which was big enough for both of us. Things were perfect, I couldn't wait for us to be together forever.

A week before the wedding, the girls had decided to treat me to dinner to celebrate my forthcoming wedding. They changed the restaurant last minute, Kiki hadn't confirmed the reservation. As I grumpily drove there, I considered texting Dave about the change of plans but decided to do that when I got there.

After I parked, I saw a familiar car opposite my parking spot. I got out of my car to confirm and I saw Dave coming out of his car.

"Babe, what are you doing here? You told me you had back-to-back meetings today" I asked.

"One of my clients asked me to meet him here, I was just about to head in. What about you? Did you follow me? You told me you're supposed to meet your friends at a different place" Dave said sounding edgy.

"Why would I follow you? Kiki forgot to confirm the reservation so this was the only place available on short notice"

"Why don't I believe you? It sounds like you followed me here. You still don't trust me, what else do I need to do to prove that it won't happen again" Dave accused, I couldn't believe my ears.

"Why do you sound so worked up? What exactly is going on?" I was confused, I didn't know why he was attacking me that way.

"I'm sorry, I just thought you doubted me"

"You don't have to worry about that, what happened is in the past now" I reassured him.

I was about to tell him that I had to go when I saw that his face turn white, it looked as if color drained from his face while looking behind me. I turned back to see a very curvaceous girl walking toward us.

All I could think was 'what is going on?'

She reached us and held Dave's hand. She glanced at me said "Who's she, Dave? Anyway I booked the hotel room already"

There was a hotel opposite the restaurant.

She sounded like she was marking her territory.

Dave just stared at me.

"I'm his fiancee, who are you?" I said raising my engagement ring.

"A**hole, you didn't tell me you were engaged," the lady said, slapped him, and stomped away.

"Babe..." He started to say and moved closer.

"DON'T, Don't you dare f*cking touch me!" I turned, entered my car drove away.

He cheated again, so much for change.

Moving on would have been so much easier without my mom, she allowed Dave and his parents into the house despite my pleas. I wished I hadn't left my apartment, I missed my privacy. Dave's mom said he was sorry and that it was a mistake. Dave said he was sorry, he said he didn't want to know what he was thinking.

When they left, my mom told me that when we got married, he would change. She claimed all men were like that, she said he was probably scared of commitment. She said we could not possibly cancel the wedding because of mere disagreement. The shame would be too much. She said the main thing was that he loved me.

I couldn't understand how cheating was a mistake, I couldn't understand how my happiness was worth less than the shame of canceling the wedding. I knew marriage couldn't make him loyal.

I couldn't tell my friends about this, I was sure they'll blame me for forgiving him the first time.

Dave called every hour to apologize, the sweet words he used started to irritate me. I didn't want to marry him anymore, I wanted to run but then I couldn't.

It was like I was shouting and no one seemed to hear my voice.

On the day of the wedding, my face was swollen, I couldn't stop my tears from flowing during the night.

I kept hearing the word 'run' in my head.

On the way to the church for the white wedding, I asked the driver to get something for me at a supermarket. Immediately he left, I ran out of the car and boarded the next cab I saw.

The cab driver asked me where I was headed, I said "away from here"


If you've read the article I published a while ago titled 'marriage worries me', you'll know that infidelity in marriage scares me. You can check it out here.

Sometimes people see some red flags before marriage but ignore them with the pathetic excuse that marriage makes everything better.

Some people are pressurized into certain marriages because of the society, they think "what will people say?"

We need to realize that most people don't change.

Sleeping with another person while dating another person isn't a mistake, it's very intentional. It doesn't happen on impulse.

At least Susan ran, if Susan hadn't run she probably would have:

  • Insecurity issues, she would have to live knowing that her husband possibly sleeps with another person. She would wonder why she wasn't enough.

  • She would have probably contracted an STD, maybe HIV from her husband due to his promiscuous activities.

  • She would have to accommodate another wife or other kids from another woman.

  • She would have been very unhappy.

It's time to show off very important people, my sponsors.

Sponsors of Deeepensiverse
empty
empty
empty
They're the best

Thank you for readingšŸ¤—.

Ā©Deeepensiverse.

4
$ 1.02
$ 0.93 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.02 from @Gaftekloriginal
+ 1
Sponsors of Deeepensiverse
empty
empty
empty

Comments

I knew this will happen, she shouldn't have accepted him back in the first place. Thank God she didn't make the marriage work out or else she will regret it for life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago