Relationship talk #1: Going Dutch or??

7 29
  • Lead image by me.

I was thinking about what to write yesterday when I thought of the series 'the smart money woman' by Arese Ugwu. There was this scene that Tami's date, Andrew, told Tami that he expects that the person that initiated the outing should be the one to pay.

What do you think? Do you prefer Going Dutch? What do you think determines this?

Going Dutch

Casually, going Dutch means splitting the bill, it can also mean paying for your own share.

I think going Dutch is more common in the western world.


The big question

For Ladies

If you were asked on a date, would you expect the guy to pay? Would you want to go Dutch? Do you mind paying? Would you offer to pay? What of subsequently? Second or third dates. Do you mind splitting the bill then?

If you suggested the outing, would you expect him to pay? Would you split the bill? Would you insist on paying? Would you offer to pay? What of subsequently too?

For Guys

If you ask a lady out, would you want to pay? Would you want to split the bill? What if she offers to pay, would you allow her to pay? Does the same rule apply to subsequent dates?

If she asks you out or suggests it, Would you expect her to pay? Would you insist that you pay? Would you suggest going Dutch? Does it apply on subsequent dates?


The survey

I decided to conduct a little survey of my own, I asked some of my friends and these are some of their replies.

Guy A believes that if he asks a lady out, he's definitely paying, he insists that for the first few dates, he will definitely pay, when the relationship gets serious, they will discuss going Dutch. He also said if he was asked out by a lady, he would definitely insist on footing the bill.

Lady B believes that a guy should pay if he asks her out but will not rely on that and take enough money with her and If she was the one that suggested it, she would expect to pay but wouldn't argue if he insists.

Guy C doesn't mind if the lady pays if he asks her out and expects the lady to pay if she was the one that suggested it.

Lady D believes that a guy should be the one to pay but she'll discuss it with him before the date in case she can't afford it She also believes that she should pay or go Dutch if she suggests the outing.

Guy E thinks that he should pay if he was the one that asked her out but they could split if she insists and if she was the one that asked him, he could pay or split if she insists.

Lady F feels that the guy should pay on a first date and she should pay if she invites him out but won't oppose if he insists that he wants to pay. She advises a girl to always prepare to pay in case of anything.

Guy G strongly believes that he should pay because he thinks he's a gentleman and that if a lady should ask him out, he would offer to pay but expects her to insist on paying as she was the one that suggested it.

Guy H said that he should be the one to pay if he asks a lady out but if she asks him out then she should pay or they could decide to go Dutch.

Guy I

Thinks that it's only normal for him to pay if he asks a lady out but if she insists on paying, he won't stop her and if she asks him out, he'll try to discuss the person footing the bill.


What do you think of the opinions above? Do they align with yours?

I agree with Andrew, I feel that the person that initiates the outing should pay, it's just easier and much simpler that way. Then if we decide to split the bill, that's also cool.

Please check out my sponsors, they really write the best articles.

Sponsors of Deeepensiverse
empty
empty
empty

Today was really fun, I spent the little time I had asking people these questions, I had fun arguing with them.

Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoyed it.

6
$ 2.17
$ 2.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.03 from @HappyBoy
+ 2
Sponsors of Deeepensiverse
empty
empty
empty

Comments

I believe either party can pay. But in a case that a guy ask a girl out on a date courtesy demands that he pays. Na him go ask the girl now😂

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sheybi😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In both situations, whether I asked her out or she asked me out, I would gladly foot the bills. From my part of the world, you hardly see splitting of bills because the guy bears the brunt of everything except the guy can't afford it and they discussed it before they go on that date. Sometimes not to hurt his ego, the lady might transfer the cash to him to make him feel manly to pay especially when she has her friends around. Seen and heard that crazy arrangement though.

I think the guy should pay and if he can't afford it, he should be honest about what he can afford before they go ahead with it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly, they should discuss it before going ahead with it, sounds like something I can do

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Absolutely.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think it's important for the guy to take responsibility for the bills especially if he's the one who initiated the date in the first place. Although I know friends who hang out (opposite sex) and go dutch most of the time

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, I know people like that too

$ 0.00
2 years ago