Myself, and insecurity.

4 34
  • Lead image from unsplash

Insecurity...

My dictionary defines this as “The state of being subject to danger; vulnerability.”

For me, it’s that moment when I hear gunshots down the street and my grandma, my sisters, and I rush inside and lock the door behind us.

It’s that moment when young guys on the street come out to do what they can to defend the street from intruders.

It’s that moment when I leave home to see broken bottles, vandalized cars that were parked on the street.

It’s that moment when I have the spend so much more money than I should because I can not pass a particular route due to riot.

It’s that moment when I have to cancel my plans because of the unavailability of buses or motorcycles due to the effect of the previous day’s fight.

It’s that moment when I have to cancel my plans because of the unavailability of the route and for safety.

It’s that moment when people on the street run to safety so as not to be caught in the crossfire.

It’s that moment when we wake up to hear that they looted so many people's shops leaving them in debt.

It’s that moment we can’t even sleep due to sporadic gunshots.

Sponsors of Deeepensiverse
empty
empty
empty

Please do check out my wonderful sponsors

It’s that moment the Police come around and throws tear gas at innocent people running for safety because they want to stop the fight.

It’s that moment Police arrests the young guys doing what they can to protect the street and demanding fees for bail when bail is supposed to be free.

It’s that moment we hear some passed away as a result of the fight.

It’s that moment that everyone has gotten used to, when we hear they’re fighting we just go into our apartments and lock the door.

It’s that moment we cry to God for protection because only he has made me and my family safe.

No one cares, the government doesn’t care, the police just use the avenue to enrich their pockets.

So sometimes when I think about everything I’ve been through, I just thank God for his safety net, I thank him for not making me or my family members dead or caught in the crossfire.

When I say I’m used to things like that, I say it in Faith because I trust the Lord to protect me.

Thank you for reading.

 

7
$ 0.11
$ 0.03 from @Fexonice1
$ 0.02 from @Zcharina22
$ 0.02 from @Greatwolfman
+ 2
Sponsors of Deeepensiverse
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Keep trusting God! Keep safe!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Only the lord can truly keep us safe, I can relate to the situation you speak about, the terror of everyone safe inside trying to call their loved ones to see if they are safe. I hope our Nation gets better when it comes to insecurity, if the Nation does not do anything, they will only be forcing the hands of youths to take action.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactlyyyy, I am honestly tired, it pains me

$ 0.00
2 years ago