If I were magical

2 43
  • Lead image by me.

I'm sure most of us as kids fancied magic, I was always amazed at how things could be done by sheer words or by the movement of hands. Needless to say, I watched a lot of magic-embedded movies.

Sponsors of Deeepensiverse
empty
empty
empty

Please check out my amazing sponsors, they're the best.

Merriam-Webster dictionary defines magic as the power that allows people (such as witches and wizards) to do impossible things by saying special words or performing special actions; the use of means (such as charms or spells) believed to have supernatural power over natural forces

My fascination with magic started from children's fairy tales, watching Cinderella's fairy godmother magic Cinderella, reading about the frog prince where the kiss of the princess turned a frog into a man breaking the spell of a wicked witch, or when the prince's kiss woke the sleeping beauty up.

In the part of the world where I live, the eastern world, Nigeria specifically, anything magic is frowned upon seriously. They are portrayed as evil, wicked and dangerous before I was born even till now.

Growing up, despite all these reservations that we have, I still watched and read fantasy. Twilight by Stephanie Meyer, Harry Potter by J.K Rowling were some of my favorites.

I got introduced to Burn for Me by Ilona Andrews last year by my friend and that completely redefined magic for me.

Ilona Andrews is Awesome, Burn for me in under Hidden Legacy series, you can check out the Kate Daniels series too, equally amazing.

In my head magic is categorized into 3:

1) The cool magic: Hidden Legacy series inspired this category.

A) Elemental magic: the ability to command forces of nature

  • Pyrokinesis: ability to manipulate fire

  • Aquakinesis: ability to manipulate water

  • Geokinesis – ability to manipulate earth itself

  • Aerokinesis – ability to manipulate air

  • Psychrokinesis – ability to manipulate ice

  • Fulgurkinesis – ability to manipulate lightning

B) Mental Magic: This type of magic relies on the will of the user.

  • Telekinesis – ability to move objects with your mind

  • Projection – ability to transmit images and feelings to the minds of other people, for example, telekinesis

  • Theriogenology – ability to command animals.

  • Harmonizing – ability to arrange one’s environment to invoke a specific feeling or mood.

  • Elenchus – ability to distinguish lie from truth, also known as truth-seeking.

C) Arcane Magic: this involves using magic by reaching into the arcane realm, a magical realm away from our reality

  • Enerkinesis – ability to manipulate magic energy.

  • Summoning – the ability to cause the manifestation of creatures from the arcane realm.

  • Animating – ability to impart life to inanimate objects.

  • Binding – ability to fuse or bind something found in the arcane realm to a human host to give the host new magic powers.

Source.

2) The animal magic: being able to change forms, in Ilona Andrews Kate Daniels series, there were were-lions, were-bears, were-wolves of course, there was pretty much were-anything including rats, mongoose, hyena

Being an animagus like in Harry potter also falls under this category.

An Animagus (pl. Animagi) was a witch or wizard who could transform themselves into an animal and back again at will. It was a learned skill, unlike the hereditary skill of a Metamorphmagus.

Source.

Being a Metamorphmagus also falls under this category.

Metamorphmagus (pl. Metamorphmagi) was a witch or wizard with the rare magical ability to change their physical appearance through sheer will alone, without the need of Polyjuice potion, or a spell-like most of the wizarding population.

Source.

3) The Enchanted magic: this includes being able to say a spell or power words in Kate Daniels series or even incantations. This can also include blood magic, magic amulets. Mostly actions that include magic that is not in other categories.

If I were magical

If I were magical, I would want to have the power to think about it and be it. It would be cool, It would definitely surpass any form of magic.

I would just think of shooting fireballs out of my hand and I would be pyrokinetic.

I would want to change into a were-lion and I would be it.

It would be that simple.

If I have this ability, it will come in handy when I'm writing exams, I'll just think of being a genius and I'm a genius. I'll be acing my exams without stress.

Imagine being able to think of any magical being and you're it, it's just amazing.

What type of magic do you fancy most or wish you could have?

Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoyed reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it.


  1. Write anything about "If I were..."

  2. Write 100% original content

  3. Join and submit to the community PromptlyJonica

  4. Tag me,@JonicaBradley

  5. Have fun!

7
$ 2.52
$ 2.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Pearlkel
$ 0.02 from @Gaftekloriginal
+ 1
Sponsors of Deeepensiverse
empty
empty
empty

Comments

As much as magic is believed to exist, I feel there is an undertone to practicing magic. From medieval times, it is often connected to witchcraft and many times, the witches uses their powers against humanity. Still, people want to be able to do somethings with such powers.

I had once thought of having such powers to command physical items but it's just a wish that would never be.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know, right, I'll be scared if it happens, it can't even happen, knowing my country, they'll take me for deliverance.😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago