Age of Mobile Games

3 21
Avatar for DeeBeeGee
2 years ago

As a gamer like me, I spend most of my free time, trying to find the best and most enjoyable yet challenging game that I could get my hands on. From a solo RPG to a more hardcore competitive online FPS gaming. A trend is never an option to me since I grew up playing what I have in front of me, but when I notice a trend of platform transitioning, I can't help but wonder, is this the best move for every big gaming company for the gaming community to embrace and promote future games? In this article, I would like to take you to another side of my weird mortal life; the Gamer Daddy in me. Let's talk about: MOBILE GAMING.

This is a very good idea for young, upcoming mobile game developers to consider and as a gamer, I can relate to this since I'm just starting out on starting my own mobile game. What makes me feel proud of being a gamer is the fact that, with proper platform selection and efficient development, you can make it big in the gaming industry. For instance, I have been working on an FPS (First Person Shooter) game for quite some time now. In fact; by the end of 2023, if all goes as per plan; we are set to release our first Alpha version of our game.

We have been doing this because we know that the gaming community is always moving forward; it's time to embrace new technology and be innovative with our plans. Now, let's get down to what the title of this article is about...

Old and New. The age-old question of which one is better. In this case, I'm talking about Mobile Gaming vs Console/PC Gaming. I'm sure there are gamers out there who would say Mobile gaming has no place in the industry and that only PC/Console games are the true gamer's gaming genre but honestly speaking; you guys need to adapt and don't be so closed-minded.

Mobile gaming is the same as PC/Console gaming, with a few differences but that doesn't make it a bad thing. If you are open-minded, you would understand that Mobile Gaming is the future of the gaming industry. To be honest with you guys; I have tried both and honestly, I have played much better games on mobile devices than I did on Console/PC. Why is that? I have no idea but maybe it's because there are a lot of genres that were not developed for mobile platforms yet.

Here's an example of what I mean; if you want the FPS genre to be known, it needs to be accessible on every gaming platform. Sure you can have your favorite FPS games such as Tom Clancy's Rainbow 6 Siege, Call of Duty, Battlefield, and all the others but those are just a few games that were developed for console/PC and only these few can make up your "FPS" (First Person Shooter) family.

The same goes for the RPG gaming genre. In order for anyone to be able to play a certain RPG, you need to have it on all of the platforms. Let's look at some of the most popular RPGs in existence. We could mention Skyrim, Dragon Age, The Witcher, and all other types of RPG games but what happens when we go mobile? Do we really need all these games with us or are we ready to make some new ones?

The other thing that happens is you can't talk about consoles as one platform. It's not console gaming, it's PlayStation and Xbox. Each of those companies is working to make their own games, pushing their own technology to create the best gaming experience for their players. This is all fine and dandy but what happens when this technology is put into a phone instead of played on television? Everything changes, basically.

The only thing that remains the same is mobile gaming itself. Seem like I'm getting off the topic a little? Let me bring it back, a little. Mobile gaming is growing more and more; this might be hard for console/PC gamers to digest since they are not getting the same gaming experience as they do on their own platforms. They can only play those games on their own platforms but to a gamer like me, who plays on both mobile and PC gaming, I can say that nothing has changed here.

Mobile Gaming is no longer just a small platform for me to play games when I'm bored at home; it's an industry where I have been tinkering with game development. My FPS game was made for mobile phones and it worked just fine. There is nothing that is stopping the industry from being innovative. Mobile devices are now more like laptops or a tablet and this means we can have our gaming experience change and still be prepared for anything. We only need to find the best way to use our mobile gaming platform in order for it to be as successful as possible.

Let's take a look at how gaming consoles evolved over time. When the PS (PlayStation) arrived on the market, it was a great new option for gamers. The graphics were a step forward in the gaming industry and the fact that you had an option to play games at home without having to go to an arcade was amazing. Nowadays, Console/PC Gaming is very competitive since many gamers are into it. They have their favorite consoles and prefer going for those consoles in order to play their favorite games.

When I first entered this industry, I didn't know too much about it but just playing around with different setups made me realize that there are some things that you can do better with mobile gaming than on console/PC where you have limited resources. So that's my little explanation of why console/PC gaming might be a bit more developed than mobile gaming. It's just because there's a higher capability in technology and the industries are more advanced to match this capability.

I've been able to do it and I think it might help some of you guys out there understand the relation between the two. I don't know if this is how it should be or not but as long as we're getting our games on every single platform, we can say that we are still having a successful gaming industry. Console/PC gaming may be better than mobile but that doesn't mean neither one is as good as the other. It's just a matter of time before things become better.

What do you guys think about mobile gaming? Is it something that you, as a gamer, are into? What do you think of the new technology it develops almost every day? Let me know what you think in the comments below. Until next time!

Sponsors of DeeBeeGee
empty
empty
empty

IMAGE REFERENCE:

  • https://www.pockettactics.com/mobile-gaming-future

  • https://www.wsj.com/articles/nintendo-deal-with-tencent-paves-way-for-china-push-1505825294

  • https://kakuchopurei.com/2019/11/20/pc-mobile-gaming-in-sea-to-experience-boom-in-coming-years/

3
$ 4.52
$ 4.49 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Geri
Sponsors of DeeBeeGee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DeeBeeGee
2 years ago

Comments

As a game (engine) developer, as the android craze came in, i have started to receive requests from gamers to port my game engine for android. I resisted for a bit, however 3 years ago i have finally ported my game engine to Android as well ( http://users.atw.hu/gerigeri/maker4d/index.html ).

After doing this, still, all of my costumers came from the Linux world. Not from Windows, not from the new shiny Android platform. I had to learn it at the hard way: raw numbers about the popularity of a platform doesn't necessary translate to buy numbers. Android people dont pay for stuff, they used to watch advertises in games, which of course its not an usable model in game engine development.

Therefore i ceased support for Android, and i also deprecated for Windows. The money is in Linux, and not in these toy operating systems like Android and Windows - at least for me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I understand where you're coming from Geri. Been in the same situation before when I was doing things independently. Let me share with you what I always tell myself every God damn day that I wake up, knowing that I am nowhere near my goal... Let your work speak for yourself, people will not support you, family and friends will ignore you. Until the time that others don't see your work the same way as you do, don't stop. Keep on doing what you love, and when that time comes, I want you to go back to this moment, where you and I spoke about it. This would serve as your milestone. ALWAYS REMEMBER, YOU ARE THE ONLY LIMIT TO YOUR POTENTIAL! YOU ARE INVINCIBLE! DO WHAT YOU LOVE AND CONQUER THEM ALL! Linux, Android, Apple, Windows, whatever it is that needs to be awed! I am with you, my brother!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

well thankyou, but i am more pragmatic, and less sentimental. for me, the solution is very simple: If only linux people pay, then i put my time and efforts into that version, and end of the story.

$ 0.00
2 years ago