What I saw killed me emotionally

2 21
Avatar for Davinchysax
2 years ago

The human mind is not empty as we think. There is always the presence of a still small voice that tries to redirect us each time we are on the wrong path. We call this tiny voice the Conscience and it is right there in the minds of every living being. Unlike the animals that live their lives just the way it comes to them, human beings are differently made to not just live life but also to experience life. When a baby is born, he/she is allowed to learn the basic things of life from nature and these things are not learnt from the four walls of any educational institution. Now, given that human beings are made to experience life does it mean that we are free to do whatever we want even when it is clear that we are doing the wrong thing? I have never felt the way I felt the day I saw what I believe most families do in terms of food and wastage.

 

She threw the pot of rice away

Even nature abhors wastage which is why the carcass of any dead human or animal is forced by nature to decay in other to serve as manure to plants. Why does it feel so easy for some of us to waste food even when we know that there are millions of people out there who could benefit from our leftovers? It is very heartbreaking to witness what I saw just a few days ago. I was coming back when I saw my neighbour pouring a pot almost filled with rice in her waste bin, I could not understand it and immediately I asked her why she was wasting the food. It was at this point that it became clear to me that the human mind is truly filled with wickedness. To my surprise, my neighbour looked at me and acted like she never heard me and being the kind of person I am I asked the question again.

 

When she noticed that I was not going to give up on getting an answer she looked at me and said;

“My children do not eat stale food”…

As soon she said this, she began to walk into her house and I could not understand the fact that somebody would waste such an amount of food not because it has spoilt but because her children do not eat stale food. I became very angry and disappointed at the same time. I tried to walk but my legs could not carry me and I had to open her waste bin to look at the food again just to feed myself with the excuse that the food had already spoilt which was why she wasted it. To my greatest surprise, I found out that the food was still very much ok. It was at this time that I wiped for the human race because we have truly lost it.

 

I went into the house and as I tried to rest the thought of what I witnessed could not allow me. I began to ask myself why someone will be so heartless and wicked at the same time. I have always thought the woman to be a good person because of the way she smiles and exchanges pleasantries with everyone little did I know that she was just a devil in human form. I began to count the number of less privileged people I saw on the side of the road begging passersby for money and food. I began to imagine how happy these beggars will be on seeing even a spoon of rice from the pot this wicked neighbour just wasted. The next thing that came to my mind was, does it mean that this woman has been wasting food all these times all in the name that her children do not eat stale food?

 

What is a Stale Food?

Simply put, any food that lacks freshness is seen as stale, but does being stale mean that something has spoilt and is no longer good for consumption? In this woman’s case, the food in question was prepared just the previous day and by that day she had already categorised it as stale food and unfit for the children to consume. Let us look at this simple analysis. I am very sure that the woman knows the quantity of rice her family can finish in one day but she cooked more than they can finish. I am also sure that the woman has a refrigerator in her house where she could have kept the food for it to remain fresh since she knew her children could not finish it. What does this analysis tell you? This is a clear sign that the woman in question is wasteful, heartless, wicked and inconsiderate.

 

I do not know if you have witnessed such evil in or around your community and I do not know if you are a person who takes part in such a lifestyle. What I know is that whenever you begin to leave a life that nature abhors, you will certainly meet your waterloo when you least expected. My candid advice to you is this, never leave a life of wastefulness and try as much as possible not to allow food to get spoilt in your house. Always remember that there are people who will be thankful to you and God for extending a hand of love to them through offering them any food you cannot finish and may not need the next day. God will see us through in this world filled with wickedness.

Davinchy loves you.  

6
$ 2.72
$ 2.65 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Fexonice1
$ 0.02 from @MoonTrader
+ 2
Sponsors of Davinchysax
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Davinchysax
2 years ago

Comments

Many people nowadays suffered for hunger of foods. They could not even eat twice a day. Then wasting food is a disgrace.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's a total disgrace and a show of heartlessness.

$ 0.00
2 years ago