The Road not Taken.

3 20
Avatar for Davinchysax
1 year ago
Topics: Marriage, Shortstory

We walked for about 50 meters before she realised that I meant it when I said; I have sold the car. It was then it all made sense to her and it dawned on her that poverty has taken over the family. Who is to be blamed? We both gave been asking ourselves this very question right from when things began to go down. With no one willing to take the fall, we kept on living our lives in denial of the glaring truth. A life that was already beginning to make great sense. We allowed both indecision and insatiable want to be the lead. Right now, we have nothing to fall back to and yet she still does not understand that truly we have bitten more than we can chew.

The Story of Our Life

The love took us by surprise and before we could understand what was happening, we have already exchanged vows at the altar on that beautiful and graceful day. I could vividly see how beautiful she looked in her wedding gown. Even the officiating Pastor could not stop looking at her. Sometimes I wonder if she was born of this world. In all my life I have not seen any as beautiful as she is. I bet you will not understand what I am saying because you probably have not met her, but I tell you, you will not remain the same if you see her. At some point, I began to fear for my life because I could not imagine letting her leave my presence for a second. At least I remembered the very incident that happened barely one month after our wedding.

We went to the shopping wall to get some groceries for the house and as we were walking around picking up the things we wanted, little did I know that a certain young man was busy following us or should I say stalking us. She was the first to notice that someone was following us but I did not take it to heart because we were in a shopping mall where people will have to walk about to pick the things they wanted. I cleaned the thought from my mind but knowing how beautiful my lovely Sandy was, my mind became restless. We have seen movies where a man is followed and killed by another because of his beautiful wife. This got me scared and I decide to confirm what she said about the guy stalking us or rather stalking her.

As we took the next turn toward the area where we could pick toiletries, I quickly distanced myself from her just to have a clear view of whoever might be following us. To my greatest surprise, I saw a handsome and well-built guy walking toward my wife who was trying to pick some things. I could not understand why or what the man wanted so I decided to watch what will happen. Somehow the man must have thought that I was just another shopper who was busy with whatever he was doing. He walked past me with this skirmish look that got me worried. I followed behind gradually because I wanted to know what he wants with my wife. Before my eyes, this young man touched my wife in a bid to get her attention and it was at this time that I could not pretend anymore.

The Shopping Mall Proposal.

Little did I know that the young handsome guy had already picked a ring from the mall as soon as he led his eyes on my wife. He thought of nothing else other than to marry such a beautiful girl at once. Before my wife could turn around to see who touched her, the young man was already on his knees. As if that was not enough, he brought out a ring and was saying some foolish things with his mouth. At first, it was such a funny thing to see another man try to propose to your wife of barely one month. Even Sandy was just laughing because she could not believe what she was seeing. The fun was immediately cut short when the young man who has been on his knees began to cry as he continued uttering some silly things in his mouth.

It was at this time that I had to step forward because a good number of shoppers had gathered and they were already pleading with my wife to accept his proposal. Probably, they thought both of them were dating and the boyfriend decided to propose to her in the shopping mall. I could not wait a minute because I saw the confusion in Sandy's eyes. She has always had a compassionate her, especially toward strangers and I know if I did nothing to save the situation she might just say yes to the young man not to embarrass him. I could not see such a thing happening right there in my presence. Immediately, I rushed over to Sandy's said and facing the young man I asked him why he was proposing to my wife.

I saw shock and surprise all over the man's face but he decided to ignore me since the lady in question has not said anything. It was at this point that I grab my phone from my pocket. I played countless of our wedding videos to everyone including the young man who was now standing up looking very ready to engage in a fight with me. I had to show them pictures of our honeymoon trip just to make them believe that Sandy was my wife. From that day onward, I could not let her leave my side even for a moment. Yes, our finance suffered because I focused more on giving her everything she wanted even when I had quit my job.

This was how we squandered the entire savings I have made long before I married her. Now, she could not believe that we are trekking under the hot sun, something I would never have allowed to do when I had the money. She kept on nagging at me on the road not minding that we were outside. She even called me a useless husband and a lazy fool. Out of anger, I began to walk faster just to stay away from all her curses. As I walked a few steps always from her, I heard a car horn behind me and as soon as I turned around to see what was happening, I saw my wife Sandy walking towards a fine car and before I could understand what was happening, she had already entered the car. I could not imagine it, I instantly raced toward the car but as I got to the car, Sandy winded down the glass and threw her wedding ring in my face.

I tried to talk to her but everything happened so fast and they drove off. I have been here writing and reading people's posts hoping that she will come back to me soon.

Thanks for reading my little fiction. Hope you enjoyed it...

Note: The name used here is fictitious and should be seen as such.

3
$ 1.17
$ 1.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.01 from @charmingcherry08
+ 1
Sponsors of Davinchysax
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Davinchysax
1 year ago
Topics: Marriage, Shortstory

Comments

and we've been here reading your story

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is a very said story of a man who gave his all for a woman.It seems like a movie.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's indeed a sad story and even though it's fiction, it can happen in real life.

$ 0.00
1 year ago