Has Justice been served?What happened to a Pound of flesh?

8 29
Avatar for Davinchysax
2 years ago

Last night was an eye-opener for me on the type of justice system we have in the world. I believe so many of us felt the same way when we heard about the sentencing or should I say the so-called justice which was meted to the officer that killed George Floyd when he knelt on the back of his neck. I could not believe my eyes when I heard that he was giving not a life sentence but a 22 and half years jail term. Let me ask you; if you were the wife or a relative of Derek Churvin, would you not be happy with the sentence? Of course, you will be because all it will take is for him to serve through this jail term and before you know it he will be a free man again but what about the family of the dead George Floyd, will they ever see him again, how do you think they will feel in future when they see Derek working as a free man after serving his jail term? I believe you understand it better now. In all the fuss that was raised because of this case and with all the evidence which was beyond every reasonable doubt, I would have thought that the case would have been given a final closure by giving capital punishment to the guilty. What do I know? I am not a lawyer and of course, I am a black man living in the black pit called Africa. I guess we have been called a shit hole before now and nobody said or did anything to the person who said that.

 

What is Justice?

Source

Looking at the reactions from persons of interests, in this case, I would say that they had no other option than to accept the sentencing and mind you, Derek Chauvin will serve a 15 years jail term inside a prison facility after which he will be eligible for supervisory release for the remaining 7.5 years. Isn’t that very harsh by the judge? As I listened to judge Cahill read out this sentencing include all the points that were raised, I began to wonder, if George Floyd was to be a white man, would such justice have been giving to his killer? Of course, you and I know quite well that Officer Derek Chauvin would not have knelt on the neck of a white man talk more of allowing him to fight for his breath as Floyd did (I can’t Breath), how did we forget that plea for life in such a hurry?

 

“Mr Chauvin, rather than pursuing the (Minneapolis Police Department) mission, treated Mr Floyd without respect and denied him the dignity owed to all human beings and which he certainly would have extended to a friend or neighbour,” source


The above statement was the last words of the judge as he concluded his sentencing. Let us look at that statement critically. If the judge understood that Derek treated Mr Floyd without respect and denied him the dignity owed to all human beings, why then did he give Derek such a sentence? From his statement, he has already proven that Officer Derek Chauvin is not a human being or should I say, he does not deserve to live amongst humans. It is only in the animal kingdom that you will see such barbaric act which led to the loss of life. 

 

Even the USA president Mr Biden had this to say about the sentencing:

“I don’t know all the circumstances that were considered, but it seems to me, under the guidelines, that seems to be appropriate.” source

Mark the word "SEEMS". When the word "seems" is used in a statement, it means that it is not %100 person what it should be. What does that tell you? It means that the sentencing could have been more severe or better still a capital punishment but he was only given 22.5 years of jail term. A life sentence could have been more appropriate looking at the statement of the President of the USA Mr Biden.  

 

I am not a lawyer like I stated above but I have the common sense to understand statements and comments when they are made. Don’t forget that Derek Chauvin was sentenced to 22.5 years because the case was classified as a Second-Degree Unintentional Murder. Mark the word Unintentional. You could remember the last words of Mr Floyd which were vocally captured even on cameras as he said: “I can’t Breath”… Now, the salient question is; how come the case was classified as a Second-Degree Unintentional Murder? I bet you did not see these things I am pointing out. When something is unintentional, it means that the person carried out the act with no knowledge of any kind but if you are asked, would you say that Officer Derek Chauvin did not hear when Mr Floyd was saying “I can’t Breath” repeatedly even as he was struggling and gasping for breath, are you saying that officer Derek did not notice all these? I can believe that we are rejoicing over this sentence because to me, I see no better judgement than capital punishment to Officer Derek Chauvin. You might disagree or yes but for me, that is and would be my stand for better justice.

 

How we forget the events of the past in a hurry. In one of my article, I talked about knowing our history as a means to becoming better both as individuals and a people. Let me take you back memory lane to see if you will begin to understand the extent and level of injustice that has been meted on the black race. Do you remember the conviction and electrocution of 14 years, George Stinney Jr.? It took just 10 minutes to convict a boy of 14 years who was questioned in a room without his parents, lawyer or even his elder brother who was arrested alongside him. How long has the Floyd case been before the so-called justice was given? I guess you know better than I do. The world has always been a place for the survival of the fittest and in all honesty, I think the word racism is still a very vital part of our world. Looking at the sentencing of Derek Chauvin, one will understand that there seems to be no justice in our justice system. The only thing I pray for is for the 7 years old daughter of Floyd to find peace when she gets to the age of reasoning. If this is what they call justice, then so be it but I pray the world and every single police officer will learn from this.

May the soul of Mr George Floyd rest on in the Lord… Amen.

 

Lead image.

You can read the sentencing Here to see things for yourself.

5
$ 3.71
$ 3.56 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.05 from @cxrxlxrts
Sponsors of Davinchysax
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Davinchysax
2 years ago

Comments

So you support a career criminal in George Floyd and have the unmitigated gall to quote a president with dementia who is pandering to Marxists? Gotcha. George Floyd was resisting arrest. The "I Can't Breath" mantra is as phony as a $3 bill. If he could not breathe, how was he continuing to repeatedly talk and resist arrest? Moreover, are you aware of the fact that Floyd was a drug pusher in his community, a counterfeiter, had multiple assault charges, and once held a pregnant woman hostage with a knife and threatened to kill her? People like you make me sick to my stomach. Heck, you leftists have made George the patron Saint of Fentanyl. He had enough drugs in his system to kill at minimum 3 people. Just wow. You have no idea of what justice is. None. Now run out and buy your state of Saint Floyd so you can feel good about supporting a career criminal who received his just due.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We are in a liberal world and as such you have the right to your opinion... I would not want to banter words with you, but I believe you watched the video that was there for everyone to see in the manhandling of Floyd.

All the allegations you have levelled against him would have been proven in a competent court of jurisdiction but, you don't sue a dead man right?

Like I said earlier, we are in a liberal world and you have the right to your opinion but don't get too personal with your opinion by trying to force it down the throat of others...

You said he received his Just due right? This is just what we are talking about, a world where the justice system is no longer relevant can only be described as a zoo or even less.

Did you read about the 14-year-old boy that was sentenced within 10mins for a crime he did not commit? What do you have to say about that or better still, he also got the justice he deserved.

Meanwhile thank you for reading the article.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, the irony! You said not to force my opinion down the throats of others, right? That is precisely what you did in your biased post.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You call the post bias because it's against your opinion... What an Irony.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're an obvious Marxist. Isn't there a BLM or Antifa "meeting" you need to attend today?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I watch that video of George Floyd and even my husband said that if that Chauvin doesn't get jail for that then the justice system is not doing its job. And it's not the first time he did that. Shame!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's a shame that the justice system of the world has this lacuna of doubts and distrust among those who seek true justice...

For me, 22.5 years jail term can not be compared to the life lost... It's a pity. Thank you so much for the upvote.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I know. That's terrible. There's now a doubt to the people who should be protecting us and questioning ourselves "Will they really?"

Cheers!

$ 0.00
2 years ago