¡We can delete our own posts!

0 49
Avatar for DarthRoison
4 years ago (Last updated: 2 years ago)

Original version in Spanish

It may sound trivial, but being able to delete an article from a social network is a fundamental function for those who value their privacy. However, although I know that the Internet is not immutable and that there will always be the possibility of making screenshots or logs on platforms such as WayBack Machine or Archive.today, it seems to me that if a site lacks the option to remove a post from my user profile that is a relevant indicator of the seriousness of that platform.

Spoiler: that's why I never hooked up definitively with Honest.cash.

Bitcoin Cash and social networks

I can't deny that when they launched Honest.cash I was very happy. My expectations were that with effort the developers of that platform could fill the gap left in the Bitcoin Cash community by the Yours.org network. At that point, after the fork in the network led by faketoshi and Yours.org's decision to take with it what little it had built, it was logical to think that a replacement would be a good thing.

I explain: although Yours was not perfect, it became part of the dynamic and enhanced the interaction between bitcoin cash sympathizers, so it was consistent that after the announcement that they stopped supporting BCH some of us had hope that Honest.cash could match and even surpass what was once considered bitcoin cash's most promising social network during its first year.

In spite of that, the truth is that although many publish there, it is not the same...

Focus and friction

Unfortunately, and from my very modest point of view, there were things that prevented Honest.Cash (even though it has improved a lot as a platform) from matching Yours.org, and among them is an error that also caused the decay of Yours during its last months of "glory"...

In the case of Yours.org, the lack of focus led its developers to stop improving the site to work on the MoneyButton project (a complement that I considered important, and I even doubt if it was started -and I say it with humility- by my suggestion or simply because the Yours team came up with the same idea during those days in which I did not stop commenting suggestions.

By the way, not that MoneyButton was a bad idea, but it was a reason for the social network ("the main thing") to be neglected.

As for Honest.Cash I must admit that the case is not entirely identical.

Improvements have abounded in both the user experience and the interface. But fundamental things have also been neglected; things that are friction for the adoption of it but could be considered trivial, such as the ability for users to remove its content (that would be "trivial" if Honest.cash was still in its first weeks of development or if nobody had made an observation, but that is not the case), which equates the product with Steemit in its worst feature.

Expectations

I've stretched too far. This is supposed to be a short post.

The truth is that read.cash is at the same point as Honest.Cash in its first few months although it doesn't work identically, and the benefit of either platform's victory is to recover or improve the bitcoin cash user experience in the way Yours.org did when it was "cool".

By the way, here we can delete our own posts and comments! which is important, but there is a long way to go. I think I'm motivated to try again.

Who knows if we get it right and we get something great.

For now, I'll just keep reading the details, among which I've seen that:

  • They have a modest referral system.

  • Creating and editing articles is a very comfortable process.

  • They have a system of "topics" (categories).

  • For now the only way to register is with an invitation.

2
$ 0.58
$ 0.50 from @Read.Cash
$ 0.05 from @Telesfor
$ 0.03 from @RanierDistantfellow
Sponsors of DarthRoison
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DarthRoison
4 years ago (Last updated: 2 years ago)

Comments