Sunday Happenings

15 13
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago
Date: 27th of March, 2022. 

Hey guy! Happy Sunday and Happy Mothers day to those who are celebrating.

This morning, I spent a lot of time in the kitchen. So, I washed the dishes, cleaned the kitchen and proceed to cook. It was then I remembered that the tomatoes I blended previously and the meat were still in the freezer. I brought them out and put the containers in water to thaw. Then, I started cooking the rice. We don't use a rice cooker here when cooking rice, we cook in a pot. Our method of cooking rice might piss off Uncle Roger (Mr Nigelng), let me know if you know him in the comments.

Anyway, I finished with the rice and took the almost fully defrosted from its container. Then I spiced and started boiling it. Everything was going well until I noticed there was no fire anymore. I turned the knob several times but it wouldn't ignite. That was when I realised that we had run out of gas... On a Sunday! Most businesses do not open on Sundays and living in a predominantly Christian area meant that we were in trouble.

I was about to start panicking when I thought to myself that panicking would not solve the problem, so I remained calm and informed my dad who reminded me that we had an electric cooker... Silly me. To be fair, we hardly used it and it was small, like a student sized cooker for just one pot. Anyway, I turned the cooker on and waited for it to turn red as it heats up but it didn't. I tried and tried but it wouldn't budge and I was already getting really frustrated. After some inspection, it turns out that the wall socket was faulty and shaky. It was like the universe was just against me lol. I still tried to put the plug in the socket in a way that let it connect properly and I avoided shaking it. Doing all these took a while but I was able to resume cooking.

While cooking, a guest arrived. I was worried about going out to greet him because I was still wearing what I wore to sleep so I hid in the kitchen, never to come out haha. While I was there waiting for the guest to leave, another set of visitors came in. This time around it was a family of four. I didn't know them but I knew they worked with my dad. It was at that point I knew that I might as well just accept the fact that I then lived in the kitchen.

I still went about my business and checked the food constantly. The bad news was that I had left my phone in the sitting room where the visitors were so I was hella bored! It is not easy to entertain oneself while they're alone in the kitchen. At a point, I started counting the number of onion slices I had cut and I don't even remember now how many I counted haha.

When it seemed like all hope was lost, the guest announced that they were leaving and that they wouldn't be staying to eat with us because they had a younger child with different dietary needs who needed to be fed at the time. The family left and not long after, the first guest did the same and I felt like I could finally breathe. The first thing I did was to take my phone lol. Funny enough, after the visitors left, I forgot why I wanted to leave the kitchen in the first place haha.

Well, the meal was good and I ran back into my room once I finished cooking. My room is my fortress of solitude and I love spending time in it even though my parents complain about it a lot haha.

Anyway, how did your Sunday go?

8
$ 1.01
$ 0.83 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.05 from @Aimure
+ 3
Sponsors of Daria
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I was reading and imagining the whole scenario. You would have sent any of your younger siblings to fetch the phone for you. If I were the one, I don't think I would be able to stay and keep to the watch till when the visitors leave. Nah!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

My siblings were not at home, just me and my parents

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜…πŸ˜…what a cute Sunday you have. sometimes unexpected things may happen, I also have experience that while cooking the gas run out. Luckily I can use charcoal and so I don't need to panicked πŸ˜…. Anyway I had a boring Sunday yesterday 😁.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha, it is always nice to have a backup. Now, some people are even reducing their usage of gas because of the prices so everyone is getting another option

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know who uncle Roger is. Anyway, like you, I love my room too and I just spent most of my time yesterday (since today is Monday in our place) sleeping.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's awesome haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. Why were you shy to come out with what you wore to bed?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It was kinda revealing

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh. I see. Your name actually sounds northerner-ish. But I read you live in a predominantly Christian community. What am I missing?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🀣 Daria is my middle name, not my traditional name. I'm a Christian from the East

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow. That's good to know, do you also live in the east?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No, I live in Lagos. What about you?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I live in Lagos too. But I have spent most of my time in Benin since 2018 because I school there

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Work is work dear. I enjoyed your writing.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

In office work. But I enjoyed it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago