Shopping List

9 32
Avatar for Daria
Written by
1 year ago
Date: Saturday. 28th of May, 2022.

I did it again! I went to the market without a list. Foolish mistake, but most of us have been there at least once right?

Well I planned to hit the market today with my elder sister and my friend. My sister didn't need to be there but I begged her to come because between my friend and I, we're terrible price hagglers πŸ˜… The seller could say an item is 2500 hoping that we'd make a bargain of 2000 (his intended price with a juicy profit) and we'd do just that, falling right into his trap. It's even worse when we haggle for 2,200 lol. The funny thing is how they would still act like they're doing you a favour despite knowing that they are ripping you off.

For me, I usually feel bad if I have to stand for too long haggling with a trader. I feel worn out easily and give up. What's worse is that I usually used to have trouble walking away after making bargaining with s trader without buying, I feel like they would hate me for that lol. Nowadays, I've learnt to just walk away from the situation if it's not acceptable to me and I realise that despite them wanting to make sales, they understand a customers need to go elsewhere and they don't dwell on a customer that left but rather move on to the next as the business must go on and money must be made.

Today, I set off to get myself a sneakers as I no longer had any. I also planned to buy a few other things I had on my mind all month. Now, the wise thing to do would have been to put those things down in a list with their possible prices so that I am better prepared financially and I don't forget what I wanted to get but I didn't do that. I took the money I had and planned to just buy stuff and hoped the money would be enough (and the planner of the year award goes to *insert drumroll*, β€”not me!).

Now, another problem with not making a list is that you get attacked by so many other beautiful things that you then go off your plans; one minute you're trying to get a nice shirt, the next you're paying for ripe tomatoes and fresh onionsβ€” thankfully, that wasn't my case, yet.

On getting to the market, I was bombarded by beautiful clothes and clothing accessories. I chanted my mantra "look away and keep moving" while I kept a straight face and looked right ahead, ignoring the calls of the traders. This tactic usually works but then I made a mistake of looking to my side, when I did a double take at the cloth that stared at me was when I knew I was gone, they had gotten me.

Did I still get the sneakers I had in mind? No, but I got a different shoe I had always wanted and it was worth it. I don't think I need a sneaker anymore, maybe not at the moment.

It was still nice to get a few new stuff and the best part about it is taking out what you've bought from the bag when you get home. It's even more exciting when you find something you forgot you had bought; it kinda feels like a gift from yourself to yourself lol.

How did you spend your day today? Do you make a shopping list or just wing it?

Thanks for reading, you are awesome!

7
$ 3.52
$ 3.32 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.03 from @Kushyzee
+ 6
Sponsors of Daria
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Daria
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Hi Daria, Incase you happens to come check here one day. Please drop a clue on how to reach you please. Or better, search for. OKPALA KINGSLEY on FB. Thank you

$ 0.00
4 months ago

I usually make a list before going to market whether to buy phones, electronics, wears or food stuffs and I know how to play deaf ear to those callings. The times I was going to market for foodstuffs,,,,I move straight to my customer direct. I know that it'll be a bad temptation if I try to navigate in the market

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha, that was funny. Well! I don't make any list before shopping and that's why everytime I got insulted by my mom.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ You wan try market? I am a good one for haggler though, and it is something I learnt from my mom as I used to follow her to the market a lot. I walk away and don't look back. In fact, once I walk away, it is usually difficult for me to come back even if yours is cheaper than others. But before I walk away, we must have had a decent negotiation and I have a gut feeling you are stubborn and what to rip me off πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I like to do shopping because my dream to be in abroad and enjoy life as like foreigners. I want to see my kids as stylish one too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I always plan ahead anytime I am going shopping and I usually make allowance for the items I am buying just incase the price has increased. For example if I am planning to buy a shirt I know goes for 5000, I carry extra 1000 just incase. And if it turned out that the shirt is more than the 6k, then the seller should start wearing it or wait for yahoo boys πŸ₯±

$ 0.00
1 year ago

haha same here, I am not good in bidding prices, I felt shy

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Whenever I go to the market, I always make sure that I have my list. Sometimes I am very forgetful to what should be bought. I might be scolded by my mother if I didn't buy what's important.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow I love shopping.

$ 0.00
1 year ago