Non-appetit

6 19
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

Happy Tuesday! This is another day. For the past few days, I've been struggling to keep up with not just writing but also reading and commenting on articles. I have a habit of reading and commenting all the articles I get notifications for and it takes me hours to finish. Since Sunday, I've had to reply late and I notice a lot of people don't read my articles until I reply theirs and I'm thinking of adopting that method too, I think it will save me some time, what do you think?

Today, as with most days, I don't know what to write. I've been staring at my screen but nothing seems to come up. I wouldn't mind having some prompts to follow once in a while. I thinks I should try to use the random word generator.

The random word generator is really cool. I won't use the generated words but when I saw the word "unappetising", it reminded me of a meal I had.

In school, I had this friend who never cooked anything. She always bought fast food or ate whenever I or our other friend cooked. For the sake of this story let's call friend A Anna and friend B Vera. So Anna never cooked and when we asked her why, she said she didn't feel like it. Note that each student are to either cook their own meals or buy from canteens at elevated prices.

She depended on Vera and I a lot for food but it wasn't really fair to us as we spent our money to cook and she never contributed either financially or physically. She was also a heavy eater and could finish a whole pot by herself. So, whenever we cooked something that should last till the next day or more (to save us cost), she'll finish it in one afternoon. Also, when she bought food or anything from the stores and canteens, she always hoarded them and never shared with anyone. Eventually, we told her that she had to contribute to the meals if she was still interested in eating with us. At first she agreed but she too uptight with money. She'd make us split the change to the last cent. It was so embarrassing that Vera and I sometimes left the little change for her. We can't ask the market woman to split something so small and no one wants to owe someone else such ridiculous amount.

After some weeks, Vera and I started running out of money, so we had to spend as little as possible and that included cooking meals that we don't finish at once. So, we ended our collaboration with Anna. I took whatever foodstuff I had and Vera brought hers, together we made plans for our meals. At ghat time, I spent a lot of time at Vera's room because it was closer to my department, so we sometimes cooked there.

One day, after Anna had spent all her money, she invited us over to her room and told us she was going to cook. We were shocked to find out she had some foodstuff all the while but was hoarding it. We accepted her invitation and told her since she had never cooked for us, she'll do it and we won't help. We laughed about it and she started cooking. After what seemed like only 15mins, she said she was done. I was surprised because the food was supposed to take longer than that. When I looked at the floor, I realised some of the ingredients were still there and she hadn't added them. Vera called her attention to it and she laughed and poured everything into the pot after the food was ready! The stock cubes, crayfish, stock fish, etc were so raw. The food didn't look good and we would have helped if she had said she didn't know what to do. Because we were so hungry, Vera and I ate the food and of course, we had stomach upset later.

Till this day, she can't cook anything but says she will marry a rich man who will take care of that. It's OK to not know how to cook, I guess but don't depend on someone else to take care of your basic needs because you don't know what the future holds. I told her to try to make her own money.

If you don't know what to do, ask questions and someone will help. You may feel embarrassed for a while but after that you'll be good at it and forget the embarrassment. What's worse is that my friends and I all had things we couldn't do before university and we usually watched and assisted the person who could do it till we learnt it. Anna usually ignored us when we were trying to learn to prepare a local meal from someone; she would tell us she knew how to cook every meal even the ones that were not local to her hometown. There is no harm in asking for help and also, don't allow hunger to make you eat bad food lol.

Thanks for reading! Thank you @Rezanur for renewing your sponsorship, I'm so grateful

7
$ 1.78
$ 1.57 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @fantagira
$ 0.03 from @Kushyzee
+ 4
Sponsors of Daria
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

This made ma laugh. I used have a husband that cooked everything for me, but after I divorced him I had to learn to cook, but it's not really my favourite thing to do ;)

As for the reading/commenting - we all find ways that work for us. I am subscribed to so many people that it would be not possible for me to read and comment on every post everyone makes every day. Even if I didn't sleep and eat! So I just scroll notifications for interesting topics or people I love reading the most. I don't really do the exchange thing - you read me, I read you. Not a fan of it, but I know many people work this way. Just find the way that works for you. For me the content and general interaction are the most important things 💙

$ 0.02
2 years ago

🤣 Haha, I don't like cooking either, I do it because I have to. I tell people I'm involved with that I don't really like it, I won't mind having someone that cooks lol. I just didn't like that my friend wasn't contributing in any way and always made us feel bad whenever we were trying to learn something new. I also feel like if you want someone to handle something for you, you should show support or appreciation in some way rather than just laying all the burden on them.

I don't do read for read, I don't really like the idea of that. I'm just trying to look for what works without offending anyone. Going through all the articles of people I'm subscribed to is really not easy lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As long as the earth remains, People like this will never seize. The ones that claim smart by hidding their stuffs to eat on other peoples'. The ones that will never ask to know something they don't know because they will feel embarrassed

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes oh, they'll keep thinking their wise until they realise that they no longer have any real friends because of their behaviour

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hate people who are a complete burden to others. Dude it happens that man helps once or twice but what about people who are ready to be a burden forever

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, some people are comfortable being a burden to others and that's bad

$ 0.00
2 years ago