Family Games

8 27
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Ganes, Family, Fun, Daria, Family games, ...
Date: Saturday. 16th of April, 2022. 

I can't believe we're only just completing half of the month. April for me seems just as unending as January tends to seem. I assume it might be because I have had, and still have a lot of activities going on in the month.

Today was fun, I visited family members I haven't seen in a long time. We ate and laughed together, and we caught up in things that had been going on in our lives. While we were there, I started thinking about possible games we could play and I did some research. From my findings, I will be putting together a list of games families can play. These games increase the bond between families and also serves as a learning process. The games are:

  • Charades

To play charades, you need to work with your imaginations. The family is divided into teams of two or more and a representative from each teams gets to play. A word is usually written in a paper which someone picks and the representatives of the teams get to act out the word without saying anything so that the rest of their teammates will try to guess accurately what the word was. For example, a name of a movie can be written in a folder paper and get picked. If the movie name is spiderman, the team reps can gesticulate so that the others can guess correctly. This can be done by moving ones wrist in a web spinning moving and attempting to climb the walls.

  • Drop a Hint

This game requires 2 teams of at least four people to play in each team. In this game, one team plays at a time while the other follows after. Each team is to choose a representative who will be the guesser. The team will pick one from a bunch of cards or paper which will have different random words written on it. The team members will then take turns to drop one word hints for the guesser. They can only give one word at a time. After the first person drops a hint, the second follows and then the third. This order continues till it is guessed right. For example, if the word on the card says lobster, the first person to drop a hint can say aquatic, the second can say claws and the third can say crustacean while the guesser tries to guess the correct word.

The guesser has only one chance to guess the right word while the team has only only 2 minutes to keep dropping hints. If the guesser guessed the wrong word or the 2 minutes expire, the second team then takes over.

  • Two Truths and a Lie

This is a fun and common game that helps people know each other better. The instruction for this game is simple, someone gives three sentences two of which are true while one is a lie. The rest of the players are to then guess what the lie is. This game is fun especially when people have done some ridiculous things you wouldn't expect to be true.

  • Would you rather

This is another common game where players are given instances or scenarios and are asked what they would rather do. It usually involves crazy and sometimes unrealistic scenarios and one can learn more about their family members from the answers they give. For example, would you rather fight with a lion or jump from a high fence?

  • Mother Tongue

This is a game played with my family whenever we get together. This game is for those who are bilingual. Here, someone mentions an English word (usually difficult words that may not have literal translations) and asks for the closest translation in our native language. Or someone mentions a native word (usually old and rarely used word) and asks for the English translation. It is a fun way to bond and learn more about one's culture and ancient words that are going out of use.

What other games do you know??

10
$ 1.88
$ 1.70 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.03 from @Kushyzee
+ 5
Sponsors of Daria
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Ganes, Family, Fun, Daria, Family games, ...

Comments

I have played charades a couple of times and I do better if I am the one interpreting the acting, I am very good at that especially if my partner is a good actor 😆 as for the mother tongue game, I am very good at interpreting from Igbo to English. I understand Igbo very well, but I can't speak it fluently

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's been a long time since I played games with my family. Ahh, I am missing those days. Well! I just love the truth and dare game. Giving crazy dares to mom is next-level fun. Enjoy your time, mate.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love charades. Perhaps is because I have never lost when I play it. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We usually used to play"Truth and dare" in family get-together ,last game that you mentioned seems quite interesting I'll surely gonna play "mother tongue" with my family btw Interesting article😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Never heard of the game "mother tongue" which actually seems very interesting to hear.. these are all fun

$ 0.00
2 years ago

happy to know you enjoy your bonding time with your family Daria

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am the king of Ludo Kind. Hey Daria You are welcome to play Ludo King with mine.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ludo and chess. Guessing songs too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago