Are Tailors = Disappointments?

12 84
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago
Date: Monday. 25th of April, 2022.

My tailor didn't disappoint me!

The above is one phrase you will hardly hear anyone say in my country because once a tailor has to make a cloth for you, you are sure to have back and forth arguments about the style of the cloth you requested and the style that was delivered or the timing given for the collection and the reality of the cloth not being ready.

A while ago, a wrote an article about my visit to the tailor who had lots of clothes in her shop that was yet to be made. After that, I wrote about how my friend's cloth was utterly ruined by the tailor that sewed it. Well, I was worried about my cloth being ruined or not being ready at the time we had agreed for me to come pick it up which was today.

Last Friday, I sent the tailor a reminder and confirmed that I had to pick up the clothes today and she confirmed affirmatively. Over the weekend, I tried hard and after much persuasion I was able to convince my mum to go with me to pick up my cloth. I needed her there for two reasons; one was that I didn't quite remember the way to her shop but my mum knew the place, the second was that I needed another pair of eyes on the cloth to ensure that all looked good and I didn't miss any anomaly. My mum really helped with the first but for the second, she always believes that everything looks good. I could be wearing a sack of potatoes and she would tell me I looked amazing, probably so that I don't feel bad lol. I appreciate it though.

The plan was for me to find time to quickly get away from work, go meet my mum at her workplace which was on the way to the tailor's and then head there together. So, before my mum closed for the day she called me to start going there which I did. The plan was simple; get in, get out, and go straight to the tailor but it didn't happen that way. My mum felt it would be a wonderful idea to show me off to all her coworkers, some of who surprisingly knew me by name haha. She took me from office to office and I actually had fun talking to her colleagues. They made jokes, and laughed heartedly, it was heartwarming and I sad glad to see that my mum had a good rapport with the people she worked with.

From there, we headed to the tailor's shop and I was right, I didn't know my way when I got to a certain point. When we eventually got to the shop, I was disappointed when I found out the tailor wasn't around. Her apprentice was there and let us in and immediately, I spotted my cloth sewn and ready. I was shocked. I was actually prepared to have a series of arguments with the tailor because I was expecting disappointments but I had nothing to do with the pent up energy, rehearsed speeches and possible scenarios I practiced for when I got disappointed haha. I just sat down and had a bottle of soda while we waited for the tailor who arrived in few minutes.

I tested my clothes, made adjustments and tested it again in front of the gigantic mirror. She did such a good job that I couldn't stop commending her. I loved the cloth so much that I didn't feel like taking it off haha. For the first time, I experienced a tailor who kept to their word and delivered optimum value. I will sing her praises whenever there are talks about tailors.

That's how my day went today. My colleague covered for me during my absence and I'm grateful for that too.

Thank you all for reading!

7
$ 1.11
$ 0.92 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.03 from @Olasquare
+ 5
Sponsors of Daria
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I remember I was one of the people that told you the tailor might disappoint because of the large number of work she has ok hand, I am glad she didn't sha. The last tailor I used was like this as well, he delivered on time and I was very much impressed

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha that's true, I'm also glad she didn't because I was also worried about the number of work she had

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I rarely see clothes. But I know tailors to be disappointers. It is part of their job 😂😂. If usually tell them I need the clothes two weeks earlier than the actual date.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah! With this tailor I didn't even do that but I know it's common to do that

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tailors and disappointment are twins. 90 percent of them do disappoint people,( this is just my own statistic, not tru in actual fact)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I feel your statistics might be true haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Please nominate that tailor for Grammy, she deserve it.🎉. My personal tailor here(my residence town) delivers too, maybe because he's a young boy and has little things on his head for the now. Congratulations on your hitch free deal with the tailor

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I mean!!! She deserves it oh hahaha. Thank you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sometimes other tailor seem not to meet our expectations. They tend to do what they want. I experience that when I try to approach one of the tailor here. I just said I want a fitted trouser but he gave me loose of it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's just terrible, it's bad when tailors do these

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I thought it gonna end up something bad. Yes, sometimes tailors are hard to please, they do what they want and what we wanted. But there is a lot of tailors who do a great job just like your tailor, they may be lazy sometimes but I'm sure there's a reason for that, and I understand that.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha, I'm so glad it didn't end bad. Yes, there are tailors who do good jobs

$ 0.00
1 year ago