A Bad Case of the Mondays

11 16
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

Hello Monday, I'm sorry I do not like your presence; it's really not your fault. It's just a drastic change from the freedom and relaxation of the weekends to the hustle and bustle of a new week. I wish we do meet under different circumstances where we are slowly eased from our break to our work life and we don't have to dive right into carrying out whatever endless expectations the week has for us, but as that is not the case, I can only say I'm sorry I do not like your presence. I always long for the end of the day and let out a long sigh when I can finally lay on my bed knowing that the days work is over.

Can you relate to this? This is how I feel most Mondays and I don't like feeling that way so I tried to do some research and also think of the times when I didn't hate Mondays and why. With that, I've been able to put together a list of ways to deal with Monday blues.

  1. Plan Ahead For Monday

For me, during the weekend, I do not want to think of or even be reminded of work and sometimes that means that from the moment I get off work on Friday till Monday, I may not make preparatory plans for the new week. Doing that makes me feel stressed when I realise I have a lot to do so what I do now is from Friday, I prepare every work related thing ready for Monday. I sometimes even draft mails I may send and knowing that I had already done that let's me have a relaxing weekend and makes me grateful on Monday as it reduces my workload. Planning what to wear, packing up your bags on Friday also helps as you won't be stuck thinking about it on Sunday night or Monday morning and packing your bag on Friday helps you not to forget, over the weekend, the necessary things you need for Monday.

  1. Synchronise Your Sleep Schedule

Who doesn't look forward to sleeping in on the weekends. That glorious feeling knowing that you don't have to wake up to an alarm, start getting dressed and heading out for school or work. We probably long for it all through the week and happily embrace the moment when weekend comes. I do this too but studies have shown that waking up at the same times everyday, both on weekends and weekdays helps us not feel so stressed on Mondays. If you've spent all weekend staying up very late and equally waking up late, by Monday we'll feel like we're working too hard to wake up. But, if we wake up at the same time everyday, waking up on Monday morning won't feel so dreadful.

  1. Weekday Fun

Why have fun only on weekends when you can have it everyday. By giving yourself simple moments of fun during the weekdays, you won't suffer from the stress that comes with the sharp contrast between a fun-filled weekend and a work-filled weekday. So, find ways to have some fun during the week. Hang out with friends after work, enjoy a movie in the cinema, catch up on the latest gists and news. Just do whatever you may derive fun from.

  1. Take Small Breaks

It is essential to take little breaks so as not to overwhelm yourself. Sometimes, work gets carried over into the new week from the previous week and by Monday, you may have a backlog of work to attend. It may seem like you have too much to do with too little time but you'll be more productive if you don't let the work overwhelm you. You can stand up from your chair, walk around and observe your surroundings, talk to a colleague, listen to music or even take a quick nap. This will help keep you fresh each time you resume your work, as long as you don't get distracted.

  1. Reward Yourself

For every tedious task, giving yourself a reward or anticipating one works as an incentive that'll make you actually look forward to finishing it. Your weekday fun activities could also work as your reward. After a hard day's work or lecture, you can decide to treat yourself to a meal, see a movie, visit friends etc. It's like a pat in the back that will help you see your day in a better light.

Thank you so much for reading! I hope this helps you get over the Monday blues.

5
$ 1.10
$ 0.99 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.02 from @Theblackdoll
+ 3
Sponsors of Daria
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I'm not a fan of Monday too, it is usually stressful and longer. Though when I'm stressed out, I do rest

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, it's always good to rest

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Still not a fan of Mondays no matter how much I plan haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's hard to love Mondays lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I so get you haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Every Monday, I just messed up with my schedule and recreate a new one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes I pity MONDAY when I considers it being a human. Just imagine the rate if h*te speech this MONDAY receives on a daily, as if Monday created itself. Lol🤣. Right from days of infact schooling, everyone of us hated Monday but somehow we just have to adjust. For some months now, I don't even know the difference of the week days, everyday of the week look so workaholic...for someone that goes to work everyday 🤦

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣 🤣 Monday is just unfortunate. I also feel bad for it because it's not its fault. It deserves better because the backlash it gets is just crazy lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly. We pray it doesn't get angry one day rain its anger on us

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, I hope not

$ 0.00
2 years ago