Loneliness kills

4 30
Avatar for Danyskillz
3 years ago

This is a story about myself and how I survived depression. Depression is real and it kills. Here we go.

I used to be an introvert, though I'm now amnbivert, that is between introvert and extrovert. The third born in a family of five. Was the brightest among my siblings and was the favorite among my siblings. Though I hate the comparisons but there was little or nothing I could do as a kid. Sometimes I deliberately want to fail in school so I can be like my siblings but no matter how I try, I ended up passing.

Life went on like that and my siblings were learning trades but my parents thought I was too good for a trade and should just be in school, get educated and maybe a white collar job with the government. Well everything worked out as they planned, even though that wasn't my own plan. That was how depression crept in. I was working and making money but I wasn't happy.

I do not have friends as I find it difficult to communicate with others. I always think ahead of others, so meeting someone with the same level of thought as mine was kind of difficult. A lone ranger is what they called me in the office because I only talk if I have something important to say. My life was about work, movie, food and music. No human friend.

Sometimes I feel like talking but there was no one to talk to. My parents are no more but my siblings are all scared of talking to me because they feel like I was too important even though I try to communicate with them, they tend to be so far away. Muy life without anyone was actually killing me slowly, even though I have millions in my account, I had no one.

I was so depressed and decided that I was going to end my life but I was too scared to. So I told myself I was going to find happiness at all cost. I started going out often, I don't drink and smoke and at the age of 25, I never had a girlfriend. I was going out more often, going to the cinema and watch people being happy and that gave me so much joy. I just want to be happy.

I wanted to go into business, even though I don't know what to trade on yet, I tendered my resignation at my place of work and they were all shocked. My boss begged me to stay and promised me salary increment and even a promotion because I was very important to them but I've made up my mind and I was a man of few words. I just laughed and told him that I was done.

I opened a boutique and sent money to my siblings and I was feeling kind happy, I employed some people and that was the beginning of me making friends. I became friends with my employees and I spend most of my time trying to catch up with things I have missed all these years. One of my employees asked me a question and I knew it was time. He asked me about my wife of girlfriend and I said he will meet her soon.

Truly, meeting her changed my life.

Depression is real, talk to people and do not feel alone. Go out and make friends.

Talk to people with love, you never know what they might be going through

To be continued. . .

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for Danyskillz
3 years ago

Comments

It is sometimes believed that people feel lonely because they cannot make friends, and therefore, to get rid of this feeling, you just need to improve your communication skills.

The study refutes this notion. A key element of social interaction is understanding how other people are feeling and reacting accordingly.

Perhaps they are upset about something or have been accidentally offended.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am the third born out of five siblings also. I'm also the brightest, but not the favorite though. I'm the most hated and neglected. I felt that no one can understand me. That's where my depression kicks in and got succumbed to rebellion. I run away and stand upon my own. I lived as a working student. Though I ended being pregnant after a few months I graduated and later on become a single mother. I have no choice but to go home. I thought I would be much hated but surprisingly they welcome me and help me raise my baby. I am currently working now and they are one taking care of my child.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow. . .it's good you are doing well now and you've overcome depression. There are better things for you out there, just be happy and take good care of your child. Give him or her the best of life and love him or her unconditionally

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, I am. Thanks for sharing your experience. It's nice to know that someone can understand one's feelings.

$ 0.00
3 years ago