When they push you, you push back harder.

0 24
Avatar for Danny_242
2 years ago

Hi, friends, Its been quite a while here. | thought to share this with you. I hope it blesses you.

WHEN THEY PUSH YOU, PUSH BACK. HARDER!

About thirteen years ago, we were at a camp meeting.

My siblings and I had been anticipating this camp meeting for long, that we couldn't sleep overnight on the eve of our departure from home. I personally left home with fantasies about how I was going to be free to explore and play with other children from other towns.

Don't crucify me yet. That was my definition of a camp meeting as at then.

Trust me, yours truly did all that and more, which included running away from security officers and youth teachers commissioned to gather us for Bible lessons as we couldn't comprehend what was being taught in the mother church.

All was good and fine until it came to queuing for food. If you know how unruly and naughty children can be especially in matters of the stomach, then it won't be that hard for you to picture about a hundred and fifty children pushing and shoving each other, trying to get food first. It almost resulted in a stampede, as we were so tightly packed that my stomach was pushed to the back of the person in front of me. Trust me, it was the definition of being sandwiched.

The heavy shower further compounded the issue. My plate fell twice into the muck, (don't ask me how I cleaned it) and I got pushed at a time that only God and my sharp reflexes stopped me from plunging headlong into the muddied ground.

At that exact moment, I saw my Daddy approaching from the direction of the mother church. Indignation welled up within me that I ran to meet him to report those kids were shoving my brother and I. He looked at me and said something I would never forget. "When they push you, you push back. Harder. These kids are your age mates or even younger than you are. Do you think I'll always be here to pull you up?" With that, I walked away. I half expected him to jump to my defense and probably shout at those kids on our behalf, so that they'll give us space to get our food quickly and leave. I turned, strode back to that queue with a purpose. Don't ask me what I did when I got there.

What he said that day wasn't just about queuing for food. It far surpassed it.

2
$ 0.10
$ 0.09 from @Abhay
$ 0.01 from @Officialrosh1
Avatar for Danny_242
2 years ago

Comments