The Game

0 11
Avatar for Danny_242
2 years ago

"And that would be all." He grinned devilishly. " The job is yours, only if I have the assurance that we can wash each other's hands." He concluded, gesturing with his undersized hands and rubbing it over his ballooned belly.

The man talked nasally, as though Pat had occluded his voice box. I wondered how someone as morbidly obese as he was could have such small hands. He moistened his lower lip with his tongue. That act alone disgusted me, but I struggled not to show it. He sat on a chair that looked custom made. His large body was crammed into it, his shirt almost bursting at the seams. His large owlish eyes sparkled with a certain glint,knowing that the offer of a whooping five hundred thousand Naira salary plus other fringe benefits for a fresh graduate would be hard to resist. He rubbed his hands together and stretched his facial muscles in the semblance of a smile that didn't quite reach his eyes, while waiting for me to make a decision.

The office was large and airy. The large windows behind him offered a flattering look of Lagos city. Skyscrapers in the distance glinted in the morning sun. Art Decor hung at strategic points on the wall, no doubt the work of a very seasoned interior decorator. The Governor and the President smiled down at us From one comer with knowing looks.

My credentials were glowing with recommendations from my dean and lecturers. I graduated with first-class honors, engaged in different community service projects, and spearheaded several projects in school, even receiving awards for them. Getting an internship placement, i thought, would be a walk in the park, but I was in for the shock of my life. This was the third multinational company to invite me for an interview. I had answered the questions very well,even the tricky ones designed to throw me off track.

I sat upright on the high back chair they had been magnanimous enough to provide during the interview. A medium-sized cup of coffee, or maybe it was tea, now cold, was left untouched on the table before me. I was too nervous to remember the reply I gave to the receptionist when she asked. A small plate of delicious looking cookies sat beside it. It was almost as if they wanted you to feel at home, and at the same time feel the loss of not having worked in such a beautiful establishment if you failed.

I took a deep breath, allowing the air to escape slowly through my nostrils and pursed lips, knowing that my family's comfortability in the next Pew years hung on my next statement.

I'm from an average Family and the first of four children. My two immediate siblings were in the university, while the youngest sat for her O'levels a few months ago. My parents were struggling to pay for their fees and upkeep. Getting this job meant an upgrade in our status. I could help sponsor my siblings, patch up the leaky sitting room roof and other renovations in the house, and replace my parents’ wardrobe. Those old, Faded Ankaras would thank me for relieving them of endless wash and wear.

But was I ready to play?

Are you ready to play?

3
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @Mazekin
Avatar for Danny_242
2 years ago

Comments