The difference between you and I

2 27
Avatar for Danika
Written by
1 year ago

Bonjour Mes Amis,

It's a new day from my part of the world. Surprisingly I woke up quite early today despite the fact that I arrived home very very late yesterday. I traveled back to school yesterday to sort out some issues as regards my house and also to attend to a very important business. I would have arrived early yesterday if not for the driver that wasted out time and made us take off around 6:15pm. I had to show him some hidden 'agbero' character I have in me. I guess to live in Nigeria, you need to show craze some times if not, they would just cheat you.

Different people, different personalities.

As arrived yesterday, I was shocked to see that most of the other tenants have already packed, leaving just very few of us. There is this particular neighbor of mine that I was informed as also packed. He was a very quiet and easy going person. I always wonder how he was able to maintain such tranquility and sanity considering where he works and who he hangs out with. He such a calm and very very sensible person. Then I decided to find out how he maintains such personality despite all. I decided to go speak with me and get close to him a bit. This is so unlike me. Looking back, most, if not all, of my friends were the ones that approached me first. This is because growing up, I have learnt to stay alone and made a lot of imaginary friends๐Ÿ˜‚ But now, I'm not like that anymore. But during this break, I think I must developed it back.

Back to my neighbor, I met with him and had a brief discussion with him. I got to understand his view about life and his ideology as to how humans should react to things. One thing that keeps popping up in his statement is 'You are you and I am me, and that's not going to change!'.

The world is full of different persons with different personalities. People reason differently, react differently and move differently to different situations. Hence, we don't need to be exactly like another person. Yeah, it's good to appreciate and learn from the good morals or attributes of people but we can't really become them. The best we can become is like them, but not them. I guess what I'm saying in excess is; don't live your life based on others perception or ideologies. You have to carve out for yourself your way of life and mode of doing things. This don't in any ways negates looking up to someone or having someone as a mentor, No! But even at that, we should totally forget who we are and what we are capable of. In learning from others, it should be a plus to us not an eradication of who we are totally.

Many people in my country are forced to go into things they won't do on a normal day became they want to become a certain person. They want to look like, dress like, talk like or walk like a person and at the end, they end up losing themselves. God has created each and everyone with a special character and ability and trying to be someone else is like throwing all the wonderful things God has invested in you into a canal.

An internet fraudster was once caught and when he was interrogated, he said he was into fraud because of a friend of his. He said he wants to live like him (as his friend lives an extravagant lifestyle). At the end, he lost his dignity, his pride and now his time. Everyone is unique. You don't have to do something because any person does it especially when that thing is bad. The truth is nobody is being forced into commiting crime, it's all a matter of choice. When you choose the right choice, then the right thing will happen to you.

The uniqueness of man

During my secondary school days, we were taught during our biology class that no two human beings have the same identical finger print. When I first heard of that, I was really curious and doubting at the same time as to how possible that is. You know we live in a world of numbers and patterns and if you observe carefully, certain patterns and numbers tend to pop up at the same thing either coincidentally or not. So, I've always thought that hypothesis to be wrong. Or we should take to cognisance the people that have lived since the introduction of finger print technology, at least two persons must have a finger print that will match each other exactly, but frankly, it has never occured! Is that wonderful? It means I am the only me for ever. No one can think exactly like me, walk exactly like me, talk exactly like me, eat or do any other thing exactly like me. So, if I'm the one me in the universe, why will I then want to become another person. I'll be denying the my uniqueness and existence and in fact be taking another's identity and personality. And the the advent of doing this, I will lose my originality.

One thing I love about the human mind is the ability to adapt, restructure and reprogram itself. This means that we can become a better version of ourselves. We can work on ourselves to become better to become outstanding.

The difference between you and I

The difference is very wide. It can't be measure with any known measuring method. We are two very different people. This also extends to your friends, family and relations. You are two very different persons. A child may resemble his parent in one way or the other, yet they can never be the same person. If they are alike in mode of dressing they may not be alike in terms of colors. If they are alike a little bit facially, they certainly won't be alike in their Pattern of thinking. Hence; You are you and they are they.

Thank you for reading this article. See you soon.

3
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @Kacy01
Sponsors of Danika
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Danika
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Like me now, I have a people that I fancy their lifestyle especially the extrovert type and want to be like that but it's not just in me and I can't kill myself.๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As in ehh. Funny thing be say many people dry kill themselves put for those kind things o. May God have mercy on us

$ 0.00
1 year ago