The delicate grounds of marriage

1 14
Avatar for Danika
Written by
1 year ago

It's been a long while since I last posted on this platform. I have been quite busy as of late and I haven't been online for quite sometimes now. The reason being that I gave my phone to a friend who needed it urgently cos he lost his and was in fire need of one to get through a business deal.

Moving away form that topic, there was a song that became very popular in my country some years ago. It goes thus; 'eni ma segbe yawo, a se gudugudu meje'. Translation: 'he who is going to marry a woman, will do a lot (monetary aspect especially)'. This is the normal case for people in my country, especially for the Yoruba and Igbo tribe, as for the Hausas, I can't say for sure but I think it should for the same trend. Although, I don't really attend marriage parties often neither am I totally in ignorance about the institution of marriage and some of the preparations to be put in place to have a successful wedding party (my mom is an expert in that area not that she was certified by any known marriage council, rather she was knighted by her experiences and the numbers of wedding party she has attended. I tell you, that woman has attended more parties than the combined numbers of meetings any senator has ever attended in any president's tenure. Moreover she was once a caterer and event planner. Hence, when it comes to the putting things in place to have a very successful wedding party, she's an Ahithophel. And when all this marriage and planning talks are been held in the Chambers of our house, I always pick one or two things from it.

But you know hearing it is never the same as it is with doing it. I often think of the time I will also have mine. The best part where many do ignore or maybe over looked is the aspect of the after-marriage life. This is the real thing but most people have obscured it into the abyss of over confidence, ignorance and carelessness. And most of those who thought of it or plan for it at all did so very shallowly, with levity and without a guide. I believe that with planning, dedication and single mindedness, one can have a successful marriage. Most people would probably be busy planning and drafting out plans to have a successful wedding party but they fail to plan for life after the wedding day. This results in early divorces, broken home, and the likes.

I recently got to know that some people actually get married not because they really want to or because they already have the needed requirements of establishing a family but because they don't want others to start saying negative things about them or to start looking at them as irresponsible. I spoke with someone some times last month and she was of the opinion that so far you are ripe for marriage, u should just go ahead and do it whether or not you have the required materials to sustain the family. According to her, God will provide what you will use to take care of the family. I think this is why we have so many children dropping out of school and Hawking things around the street and along the road. Yeah, God can do all things, but it's also the same God that says 'make your plans known unto him and he shall direct your path'. Meaning God did not expect you to just wake up and do things with plan or based on reflex, rather he expects you to sit down, think and plan for yourself then you can bring that plan to him for approval and empowerment. So, as much as it depends on God (except if he himself tells you to do contrary), you should atleast have something to sustain your family.

Conclusion

On the issue of after-wedding day (Provision, living together and general married life) the Bible gave this insight;

1 Timothy 5:8

But those who won’t care for their relatives, especially those in their own household, have denied the true faith. Such people are worse than unbelievers.

It's good to be back. Although I looked through my unread messages I found out that some of my friends have stopped writing, I hope they come back real quick.

It's also been a while I looked at the charts since the fall. I'm happy to BCH doing well. More wins to the BCH community.

2
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @Kushyzee
Sponsors of Danika
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Danika
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

According to her, God will provide what you will use to take care of the family

I hope she's not your relative o but this is a very foolish thing to say. It's thinking like this that is one of the causes of extremely poor families in the country today. You will see a man struggling to survive and you will think his priority will be about how to make more money, but the werey will just jump into marriage because he heard people saying a wife is a blessing and can turn things around.

Reality sets in when they have given birth to their first child and start buying baby things, then later on they start paying school feels and things escalate quickly when child number 2 and 3 arrives. The worst thing about people like that is they breed like fish; a poor man will just have 9 children, na wa o

$ 0.00
1 year ago