Superstitions in Yoruba land

10 18
Avatar for Danika
Written by
2 years ago

While going through some articles today, I came across one written by @King_son which he titled 'religion in africa'. I Thought to write on some superstitions in yourba land (a tribe in Nigeria).

First of, let me define it for educational purpose:

A superstition is any belief or practice considered by non-practitioners to be irrational or supernatural, attributed to fate or magic, perceived supernatural influence, or fear of that which is unknown.

-Wikipedia

There are so many superstitions in Yoruba land. I will mention a few.

  • Leaving marks on the ground

While I was growing up, I and the other kids would play a game called 'luske'. It involved drawing lines on the ground and cutting it to rectangulars. There was this day, after playing we were about leaving while an adult called us and asked us to erase what we have drawn. We asked why and she replied saying if housefly should perch it, the mother of the that draws it will die. I quickly clean it up. As I grow up I come to know that it was all a means used by adults to make children clean the lines they have marked on the ground.

Another one is, if you draw a line on the floor and refuse to clean it, it will turn to a snake 🐍 which come to bite you at night. I, being curious, marked and made sure to stay up all night to see that snake. Well, you guessed right, it never did!

  • Hot knife and scorpion

This is another one. If you put hot knife 🔪 in the fire 🔥 then brace yourself for the visitation of scorpions. Being inquisitive as I am, I placed a knife in the fire to mend a damaged plastic. Later that night, a scorpion was actually killed in my house. I was shocked. But science as taught to repeat experiment to ascertain a point. So I repeat the experiment 3times in total (the first included). 2 out of the 3 proves positive, so I'd say it maybe true. You can try it but at your own risk.

  • Sitting on overturn mortal after meal

It is a common one in Yoruba land that if you sit on an overturned mortal (facing upside down) after meal, you will vomit it all. Another one is standing on an overturned mortal, the person will become a witch or wizard as the case maybe. I have only tested the second one and I have not acquired any strange power nor join any occult.😂

  • Crossing over a pregnant woman's leg

This is also very common in Yoruba land. It is believed that if someone crossing over a pregnant woman's leg, the child she is going to deliver will resemble that person. Hence, they will warn you not to cross their legs. This has evolved and spread to even an ordinary person that is not pregnant (either male or female). I remember a time my pregnant aunt was lying on the floor and I was pressed. I stood up to use the convenience and I had no option than to cross her legs. As I was about to, she screamed and shouted at me. I was so shocked. You know superstition can really be a pain in the ass🤣

  • Carrying a bunch of plantain into a certain town.

In my hometown, there is this taboo that no one must bring in a bunch of plantain that is not yet cut into the town. The repercussion is that there will be trouble in the whole town. This is of course is not applicable to those harvested in the town. Actually, I won't call this a myth or superstition because tradition is tradition and I have seen some bad consequences happening to some people that went against it.

  • Killing a duck

Once a time, there was this one that say no one should kill a duck and if a person does, he shall lose his wealth and children. Though, presently people no longer observe this and moreover there are very few people who eats duck's meat. I think the reason the superstition was first invented was to deter people kill and eating duck's meat indiscriminately. They even go as far as stealing other people's ducks. Whatever the reason for it, it is no longer observed.

  • Collecting rain water with your palm

This is by far the funniest to me. My aunt used this on me and it really worked on me. There as this day my aunt came to visit us and rain was falling out. I went outside and was collecting rain drops in my palm. My aunt came out and shouted for me to stop asserting that anyone who does it will be struck with lightening. Oh you had to see the speed with which I remove my hands and ran inside! But in later years, curiosity kills the cat as they say made me test that law. My plan was to collect the rain water as much as I could and when the thunder strikes I'd quickly remove my hands and run inside. Funny right? But thank God it wasn't true if not I know I can't beat the lightening in speed.

Though there are so many other superstitions in yourba land, I will take just one more as I won't be able to them all.

  • The man in darkness

There is this one the adult always use to make their children become calm and stay at home. Whenever a child is proven stubborn and doesn't want to follow his parent or is going outside without the parent's permission, the mother will simply say 'ojuju a gbe ee lo' meaning the demon (pictured as a man in darkness) will carry you and take you away for ever. On hearing this, the child will run to his mother with fear. I guess this works due to the fear of the night.

I will stop here for now. I may continue so times later. Till then, stay healthy and stay happy!

Thanks for reading this article. Please don't forget to hit the 👍 button. See you soon.

9
$ 3.52
$ 3.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Kushyzee
$ 0.03 from @Aimure
+ 1
Sponsors of Danika
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Danika
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Wow. I am Yoruba and I haven't heard about some of this superstitions but I have surely heard about the one of beating a man with a broom

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah there is that one also. There sure many more most of which I find funny 😄

$ 0.00
2 years ago

O.M.G i think superstitions like this and all other kinda superstitions should doe in this era as everyone including me think logically

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehehe. Well not all parts of the world are developed now and then I think people prefer to stick to the old myths than look for reasonable explainations to then

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omo, all these superstitions are new to me, I haven't heard them before except for that last one (ojuju). The first one reminds me of a superstition they have abroad that if a person steps on a crack in the ground, their mother's back will be broken 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wetin be this o🤣😂😂 Make I go dey learn how to catwalk and jump 😂💔

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We don't have that one here in our place. We have also many superstitious beliefs especially when you go to someone's death, you will change all your clothes for I am bring bad luck.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Really? What country is that?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Here in the Philippines. We have also lot of superstitious beliefs here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! I would love to hear or read about it some times soon. Thanks for making me aware

$ 0.00
2 years ago