Prompt: what have you stopped believing in

6 13
Avatar for Danika
Written by
1 year ago

Hello friends,

So sorry I wasn't able to post any article since morning. This was sure to the fact that we don't have power supply since yesterday and there was no where I could I charge my phone. I had to wait till this evening when the generator was put on in my neighbors house before I could charge my phone. I think it's high time I got a power bank because it doesn't even seem like the power will be back any time soon due to the rain that has been falling non-stop since morning.

*******************************

I decided to write this article after reading a prompt on @Kushyzee channel. It's actually a challenge to write what you once believed in but dog really think it's feasible anymore or what you think should be but can't be because of a reason or two.

Sponsors of Danika
empty
empty
empty

What I have stopped believing in?

I used to believe that education is power and key to wealth

Growing up, my mom make sure that I and my sister take our education as serious as our breathing. She would say it will give us power to be what we want to be. Well, she isn't wrong, because education really helped a lot of people become what they want and it also made a lot of people rich. All you just have to do is graduate from the university with a good grade, then you will secure a lucrative job. I can vividly remember one of my aunt that graduated from a nursing school then, after her NYSC, she was able to secure a job as a nurse in one I think state government hospital. Her first salary was almost #120k plus other dividends.

But it isn't so anymore. Infact, if you don't take time and engage in some side jobs or skill acquisitions alongside with your education, you might be surprised to find that you have successfully wasted all years in school. Kushyzee said 'education is different from life itself'. Where education may equip you with some tools to face life, it take actual wisdom and personally development to make wealth and succeed in life. Education doesn't give you wealth, the best it will do is tell you about it and how to get some.

Apart from this, imagine a fresh graduate being asked by a company to go and bring 5 to 10 years work experience, where in the world do they expect him to get it? All this point to the fact education IN NIGERIA isn't power or wealth maker, wisdom is, planning is, and definitely wealth creation by oneself is!

I used to believe things come easily

Being the only make child of my mom and the only male child of my mom's extend family at that time, I was showered with a lot of gifts and attentions. Then, if I have just slight headache, everybody would be running up and down to get me anything I asked for. I guess I then thought life would definitely continue to be like that, silly me 😂

Omo, growing up to this stage, those aunts and uncles then will not even put a call across to check on me. And if I say I should call them, they will be telling me not be angry that they haven't call me and worst of all, I have one aunt that will use that my card to borrow money from me. It is well.

So, the bottom line is nothing comes free and easy. We say salvation is free, but remember somebody paid for it with his sweat, blood and flesh. People use to pray a certain prayer in my dialect that there is space up there so God use lift to top to occupy that space, well I don't believe that. There is no space waiting for anyone at anywhere, you only create on for yourself! Let me site an example in the Bible; according the word of prophecy which Isaac had placed on his son Jacob and the 'supposed' curse that was on Esau, Jacob was supposed to be exceedingly richer than Esau (on a personal level not generational), but it turned to be the opposite. Infact, Jacob had to work as slave to a master and cunningly acquire properties for himself while Esau took his destiny into his own hands and worked till he became so great and wealth that the land could not contain him. Jacob thought he could appease Esau with some domestic animals and some money but to Esau they were peanuts.

Here is an exerpt;

Genesis 33:4,8-9

[4]And Esau ran to meet him, and embraced him, and fell on his neck, and kissed him: and they wept.

[8]And he said, What meanest thou by all this drove which I met? And he said, These are to find grace in the sight of my lord.

[9]And Esau said, I have enough, my brother; keep that thou hast unto thyself.

So, life is not only about prophecies and prayer but also about working diligently in determination and God's grace. God isn't lazy so why should you be?

I used to think that people will behave to you the same way you behave to them

This one really broke my heart especially when it comes from people you don't expect. The Lord Jesus has rightly said that we should do good to others irrespective of their attitude towards us because he knows they won't do to you what you are doing to them especially when it is goodness. Sometimes ago, I would give my all to people around me but when I need one or things back and I turn to them for help, they will blantantly refuse even when they have it. One happened not quite long, I have the person many times before without demanding anything in return but I need just a small help from the person and though she has it, she refuse to help me and told me I must do something in exchange for it. So, I just took my mind from her side and source the help form other direction. Such person will still need my help some day and I will definitely help her, one to teach her a lesson and two because that is the Lord's commandment.

The point I will make here is, don't expect anything from anyone. If you doing good, continue in it, don't let anyone stop you from being good. Even when they repay with evil, continue doing good for in due season, you will reap it.

Let me stop her for now, my eyes are already heavy with sleep.

Thank you guys for reading my articles. Please and please don't forget to click the 👍 button. Write to you soon.

4
$ 0.09
$ 0.03 from @Kushyzee
$ 0.03 from @BCH_LOVER
$ 0.03 from @Aimure
Sponsors of Danika
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Danika
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Would any of your side hustle be possible were you not educated?🌚

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Nope, but it's possible I might have better ones than I do at the moment. Also, the fees I pay could have made me really successful if I had started a business with it, don't you think?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's what i used to think before too that education is the key to become wealthy but right now as i see to those people who didn't even finish studies yet became successful in life, i realize that education only teaches us some knowledge but it still depends on us on how we shape our life. It is on our hard work, perseverance, good decision making that will make us successful in life

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes you are very correct, education is not a means to wealth

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank God I never believed things come easily. Even though I had lots of privileges as a child, I always tell myself that things won't remain like that forever and I had to start looking out for myself from a young age

Meanwhile check your article's title, there's a mistake there

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I guess so many didn't see it that way. Thanks for the update

$ 0.00
1 year ago