Preparation for my grandmother's burial

2 11
Avatar for Danika
Written by
2 years ago

Salut dear readizens. It has been long since I have been active on this great platform. This is largely due to the preparation for my grandmother's burial. She died last year December some few days after Christmas. Though she had lived a long and fulfilled life (she died at the age of 106years), but I still felt a little bit sad because, I will really miss her especially her appraisal. Whenever we go to my hometown to spend the Christmas and boxing day there, she would start singing my appraisal. Oh how chilling and wonderful it always feels. My head would swell up and if I had been feeling sick, the sickness would just vanish🤣 or if I was angry before, I would just start smiling and the cause of the anger would be as though it never existed. Moreover, she is this kind of person that really loves her grand children. If you really want her trouble, try insulting or beating one of her grand children, then will you know she's a lioness in human form😂

Memories

There was a time when I was little, most of my extended family members had come to stay in our family house in preparation for our annual family gatherings. The children are to sleep in my grandmother's room. Her room is the biggest in the whole house aside from the common room where we all gather and hold family meetings. The next morning, all the kids had woken up except from one of my cousin, she was nowhere to be found! My grandmum was restlessness, she was literally shouting, jumping and panicking. She was running to and fro, shouting the name of my cousin. After about an hour, one of my aunt that has gone to take something under the bed of my grandmum, ran out and said she has found the meeting child. Lo and behold, my cousin had rowed under the bed! 😂🤣🤣 When she came out, she was covered with yam flour, my grandmum had kept to prepare for us. We couldn't hide out laughter. It was so hysteric. But not my grandmom, she quickly ran to the girl and was checking all over her body looking for any cut or injury and at the same time repeatedly asking if the girl was okay.

That was the kind of person she was. She would rather go starving than see her children or grandchildren not eating. What I cherish the most is the fact that she hated her children or any other members of the family fighting with eat other. She would make sure that any fight be resolved with immediately effect. She not the kind of pacifist that would say 'you are all right'. No, rather she will point out the wrong of each person to him/her and would tell them to apologise to each other after she had ironed out the dispute.

But now that she's gone, I will really miss her. All my family members would really miss her. She was a real gem. She is also the oldest in the community. Her children said she should be around 115 to 120, the family said they would go with 106 as no one really know her real age. Birth certificate no dey during those days, so man gat improvise😂

Burial ceremony

She would be laid to rest on the 22nd of this month. Her 7days rite as been done, immediately she died in accordance with the traditions of the land. But they had to postpone her burial four good months.

There was a scene from A MADEA FAMILY BURIAL were Uncle Joe was saying something about the difference in a white man's burial and that of a black man's. One problem of the black man is his love for parties and can spend even his future funds to throw a party today. I wish my grandmom had been buried on time instead of been embalmed. In Africa, Nigeria specifically, try throwing a party and you would receive support and funds that would be enough to set up and sustian a mega business for years. But tell them you need help with a project or idea, you will receive little to nill help from both friends and family. I think the only thing they will happily and joyfully give you is Prayer. Although I don't underestimate the works of prayers, yet the Bible also says that 'faith without works is dead!'.

Anyways, I am not here to talk about the black man's dilemma. My grandmother's burial is coming up this month and I'm really looking forward to it. I pray God's grace and approval be upon the chosen day in Jesus name, Amen.

Thanks for reading this article friends, hope to write soon.

P.S: No sympathy please only rejoicing she don live long na🤣😂 For those that don't understand pigin, I meant she has lived long enough. So it's a celebration of life 💃💃💃

2
$ 0.40
$ 0.40 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Danika
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Danika
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Condolences my friend. May our almighty God be merciful to her soul that she will inherit His kingdom.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Amen and Amen. Thanks Han

$ 0.00
2 years ago