Got scammed again and again

2 26
Avatar for Danika
Written by
1 year ago

Hello Mes Amis,

One of the many wishes people wish for is not to be scammed or lose their possession to others through dubious means. But what now happens when one becomes a victim of fraud over and over again? Well, that's exactly what I witnessed today.

Some few weeks back, a neighbor of mine was scammed through online registration. It all began when another neighbor of mine told him about an online betting site where sure odds are been shared to prospective members who have registered with them. He said that they regularly post of the various testimonies their supposed members share. He said that the least amount of money he has seen them post is about #150000 (about $190) and that he has even seen testimonies of over #3million (about $3,800). So, he convinced that my neighbor to invest in it with a minimum of #1000 ( about $1) which after much deliberation, he accepted to do. He tried convincing me as well but I told him I don't want to get involved in betting stuffs.

Fast forward, the guy registered and was giving his first game to play. After playing he won #200 (about $0.4) and he was happy that by the end of the week or so, he would be able to withdraw a reasonable amount of money but he didn't know he was up for the greatest shock of his life.

I do keep my money in his account due to the fact that my ATM card has expired and I can't hold it in my account cos the bank kept deducting my money anyhow. At the afternoon of the next day, I went to him to collect his card because I wanted to withdraw some amount. He said he was going to transfer it instead to the POS attendant. After opening his bank app, he was shocked to see #400 instead of #30000 ($38). He thought it was a glitch or the network was misbehaving so he kept refreshing and refreshing it. When it turns out that the amount it was showing didn't change, he decided to used the USSD code method. After trying that the message he received was that the amount of money remaining in his account was #400. He was mad. He quickly dressed up and went to the bank to go and lodge a complaint. He later gave the account of what he met at the bank. The bank official told him that the site where he paid the money had withdrew his money. He had logged in his account details on the site while trying to pay for the registration fee and I think those people must have saved his details and withdrew his money. He was weak to his marrow. All the money in his account at been cleared away including mine. That was the first time I was witnessing that incident. I have always heard of people claimed that they were scammed on a site but that was my first time of hearing that.

After that, we packed out of our former house and went to a new one. I and the guy that introduced my neighbor to the betting site took the same room with me cos, according to him he is in his final year and won't want to go and rent a house for a full year of half a year. So he is currently living me till he graduates. Just This morning he called me and told me he needed my help. I asked him what was up and he said he needed a sum of #20000 (about $28) for something. I told him I don't have that amount in my account but I can only afford #10000 ($13). He said no problem that he would source the other part out from another person. Knowing the kind of person he is, I grew curious and asked what he was going to use the money for. He then told me that he applied for a betting forum and that the game they gave him to play had won a sum of #650000 (about $830) but he needed to pay an appreciation fee of #20000 before his login details can be given to him. I told him that I don't think it's real cos no company would help you to play a game and asked for appreciation fee before giving you your account. The only thing I know they can do is to charge you for the process from the vet beginning and then after you've paid up, they would release your fund not telling you to pay Appreciation fee.

He was still adamant and bent on find the money by all means to send to the person. While we were talking, a neighbor of ours came and he went to meet him to borrow the remaining part. The guy was about to do so when he decided to ask what he wanted it for. He narrated the matte to the guy and the guy told him point blank that it's a scam. He still argued it anyways, so our neighbor decided to prove it to him and try calling the guy through his telegram link but he had already put it on not to accept telegram calls. Later our neighbor collected the guy's number and called him through the phone call and we got the shock of our lives.

My roommate was devastated. He didn't know what to do or think. It was after it was proven that the guy was a scammer that he confessed that he had been sending him money to play the game for him. He said he had sent him a total of #13000 ($17) and if not for he quick intervention of I and our neighbor, he would have borrowed the #20000 and send it to him.

I was somehow angry with the guy because it was because of him our former neighbor got scammed on that betting stuff and he still went ahead to get entangled in it again. Well I told him that he is still safe at least the money wasn't that much. It was at that point he told me that he borrowed some of that money to give to the man. I was just blown off.

So, I thought that was going to be the end only for me to check his phone this evening and found out that he was already chatting with another person on telegram that he wants to invest in a betting forum. It was at that point I concluded that his been scammed days are not yet over, infact, he will be scammed over and over again.

Thanks for reading this article friends. See you soon.

1
$ 0.43
$ 0.43 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Danika
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Danika
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

The guy is a complete "mumu". He's using phone and into betting but doesn't know how a pure scam looks like. The last one really got me thinking... Anything "pay appreciation fee" is a dull scam process that he's supposed to be aware of.

But nevertheless, it's very obvious that village are with the remote of his life

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol. This one na wahala 2.0. All of us just weak for the guy. Thank God say I no borrow am he money, e for pain me

$ 0.00
1 year ago