Faceless

4 29
Avatar for Danika
Written by
2 years ago

Hallo friends. It's getting more and more difficult for me to write on this platform and this is solely due to my grandmother's burial. I have mentioned it in quite a number of my recent posts. The preparation to make it a successful and fulfilling one is quite time and energy consuming. Most of my friends are at home using this period of ASUU strike to either work to earn more money or invest their time in productive activities. I, on the other hand here, am here trying to see in what way I can help my mom make her mother's burial a huge success. I guess that isn't so bad right?

Amma Darko

Amma Darko is an African prolific writer. She has written a couple of very interesting and outstanding novels, the likes of Beyond the horizon, The housemaid and Faceless (which I, personally really enjoyed and am recommending it). Amma is one with very mesmerizing style of writing, the way with which she toys around with words and woven the treads of events into each other is, to say the least very intriguing. Though with her style of compositions and character display, it seems to me that she's more of a feminine activist than a general preacher. She has this pattern of digging up histories and interwoven it with her own imaginary event to create a learning and entertaining material which is not so common in most novels.

Amma's Faceless

The novel, though constructed to reveal the Lost of moral authority of parents over their children through their carelessness, lackadaisical and misplaced priority and also the glaring failure of the government in providing the necessary environment for the proper growth of a child (both mentally and physically), is based on the life, struggle and dream of a street girl, Fofo, who lost her sister Baby T, a young teenager who was forced to work as a child prostitute in a brothel under the supervision of Mami Broni because her mother didn't want her to stay in the same house with her so she can enjoy and keep her new so-called husband who has had a carnal knowledge of the girl. The story setting is Ghana.

The story tells the life of two totally different individual, Fofo the fourteen years old street Hustler and the ever amazing disturbed mother, enduring wife, hardworking MUTE activist and an old model VM Beatle, which she named 'Creamy, owner. The writer has proven to be a cunny script writer, bringing the paths of these two different world across each other.

Faceless is a real-life/comedy/education/awareness novel. I love the various use of words, onomatopoeia, and mostly pun and of course alliteration. The gradual introduction of the characters and scenes is a wonderful art of a curator. All in all, I really enjoyed reading the novel. Though I had read it sometimes past, around 2018 or so, I still wanted to read it again. I got the novel yesterday and I am almost done reading it.

So, dear friends, I would like to recommend it for those of us that is looking for an interesting and educative novel to read and also for those looking for something to kill time with.

An excerpt from the novel

Chapter 21

It cuts across genders, but it seems to be more prevalent with young males. Maybe it has to do with the Faceless formless masculine thing, whatever that 'thing' is. What appears to be the case, though, is that it is more difficult to break the 'streetness' in boys from the streets than in girls. Abused young males, in particular, are also more prone to becoming abusers themselves...

Chapter 2

..."money is for spending, mum, you know," she would go on, like a crooked preacher from a disoriented pulpit. "We came to meet it. We will leave it behind."

Then she would drop the surprise, something like, "but if you like, I will hold on with my blouse till tomorrow."blouse? What blouse?" Kabira would tell between the desire to shove a piece of cloth inside Essie's mouth and her maternal urge to exercise control and be patient even in the face of such an outrageous and inconsiderate provocation from no less a person than one of the three in her life to whom she had given out her womb free of charge for a whole nine months, not one single month's rent charged...

Happy reading guys🤩

Thanks for reading this article. A big thank you to all my friends and sponsors, you guys have been awesome. I hope to write often on here, maybe that would be after my Granny's burial. Till then, stay safe❤️

7
$ 2.36
$ 2.29 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @Talon
$ 0.03 from @Kushyzee
Sponsors of Danika
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Danika
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I remember reading that book. It was an absolute beauty. It delivered its message so clearly

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah it did bro

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bro, I can't remember the last time I opened a novel to read, it's been long😴. The little time meant for me for reading has been stolen by readcash. Seems you're good in diverse reading 👍

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh I'm not really that good in diverse reading but I try my best to keep my reading spirit alive by reading some novel. Readcash as stolen my time as well, just trying to regain my sanity😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago