A trip to Okomu National Park

0 10
Avatar for Danika
Written by
2 years ago

Hi everyone, it's been quite sometimes since I last posted and this due to the some jobs I have at hand and had to complete. Today I will be sharing my experience at the Okomu National Park, Nigeria. I actually got the opportunity to go see this natural sanctuary through a singles and married forum I attended. The visit to the park served as a break section of the program.

OKOMU NATIONAL PARK

The visit was on a Sunday. We took off around 11a.m and arrived there around 1:45p.m or so. the journey was indeed tiring but our labor was soon rewarded. When we arrived, we were first directed to administration building to get permits and a guide to take us around and instruct us. At the administration building, we were shown the white-throated guenon, a vulnerable primate species, and the dwarf antelope. We were allowed to touch and take pictures with the antelope but not with the monkey. the antelope was said to have a very keen sense of smell and can locate an already smelt object almost 3 km away. We also saw the dwarf crocodiles. Honestly, I actually thought those things were statue, thank God The guides were around, maybe my hands won't have been complete by now. LOL!

After getting our permit and were through with other paper works, we then headed to the main park. The entrance to the park was severely guarded by the forest guards and security men to prevent poachers and tree feller from gaining access illegally. The way leading to the sanctuary was lines hundreds and thousands of rubber trees and palm trees on both sides of the roads. The first segment we went to was the MONA monkey habitat. It was a indeed an interesting sight to see these acrobats display their talents. I was lucky to see the leader of the troop [I knew this because the guide shew me]. From there we went to the residential building and would have gone to the tree house, the Elephant's sanctuary [my most delightful place to visit], the Buffalo forest, the Baboon mountain, and so on but there was no time.

The Truth is most of these animals are being hunted down and killed for their skin, ivory and meat. We have to take up the mission of saving and protecting these natural beauties. They are our heritage, our pride and our resources. Apart from directly disengaging from activities that endangers and destroy wildlife and resources, you can also stop the activities of poachers and wildlife destroyers by not purchasing or endorsing items that are gotten from these means.

REMEMBER FOR EVERY FUR, LEOPARD SKIN, IVORY CHAIN OR LION CLAW YOU WEAR, AN/MANY ANIMALS HAVE BEEN KILLED. SAY NO TO POACHING AND WILDLIFE DELETION, SAY YES TO ANIMAL AND WILDLIFE SAFETY.

So, that's all guys. We really enjoyed ourselves, and I know I would soon go to back and finish my excursion very soon.

1
$ 0.03
$ 0.03 from @Kushyzee
Sponsors of Danika
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Danika
Written by
2 years ago

Comments