Myself

4 39
Avatar for Damideola
2 years ago

There are three very important aspects that play a major rule in my life. They can be categorized as intellectual, social, and spiritual. My intellectual self is interesting because I am mainly right-brained which means that I tend to use my creativity more than my mathematical skills, also making me a visual learner. My social self consists of friends, family, and my surroundings. I spend most of my time at home with my family. Whenever I am with my friends, I observe their behaviors and listen to their opinions. I am more of an independent type of person. Being with different people has influenced me into appreciating different cultures and beliefs. I have learned things that have now been incorporated into my own set of beliefs and…show more content…
I find that I can only recall long-term memories if they are important to me, or if they are dramatic experiences. A few examples of my childhood memories are my mother reading to me, my grandfather playing his guitar, and my dad relentlessly teaching me how to ice skate, no matter how many times I fell. The people who affect my social life the most are my family and friends. I have an extremely close family that has played a major role in my life. They are whom I spend most of my spare time with. My family usually gathers every weekend for dinner. I am also very open to different religions, cultures, and practices because I know many people with different backgrounds and beliefs. Since I've been influenced by various people, I've learned at a very young age to never judge people by how they look, dress, feel, or act. I am very fortunate to have learned these lessons, because many people still do not understand the importance of accepting differences. In a group, I prefer to listen to what others have to say, and then contribute to the discussion. I try to listen so I am able to compare them to my own thoughts. I enjoy working in a group, because it gives everyone an opportunity to incorporate their own ideas. My social self is most greatly influenced by my family and friends. I believe that my spiritual self is the most important out of the three. Although I have a certain religion that I belong to and practice, I Believe in Christ Jesus.

School, to me and among many peers of my age, is not a distant term. I have spent one-third of my life time sitting in classrooms, every week since I was seven years old. After spending this much time in school, many things and experiences that happened there have left their mark in my memory. Some are small incidences while some have had a great impact on me. However, regardless the degree of significance, things that happened all contributed to shape the person that I am now.

I was accused of cheating for the first time when I was in the college. It was during the term final where the performance of the test indicates all the progress the student had made throughout the semester, so its importance was never over emphasized. Though…show more content…
Everything started anew, I was all by myself. While I was busy getting used to the school and making new friends, I also discovered a new passion, dancing. Through dancing I was able to meet some of my most loyal friends. We would often get together and play dance against other schools.

The school required a test for admission, so the competition was getting fierce. The teachers focused a lot on our academics and tried to squeeze as much time as they can from us to study. As the result, we were not allowed to dance during our free time because it hinders us from studying. Maybe it is human tendency to break laws, but the gang of us didn’t want to conform to that rule so sneaking dance class to school and keep it away from the teachers became an everyday challenge. It was amazing the kind of ideas we came up with for this task. Dancing added spices into my otherwise boring school life, and it served as a channel between me and my fellow classmates. Through dance we found a common ground, that we were able to know each other more and support each other no matter what happens. It gave us a sense of unity, and it was very important to me. Even now I cherish the pact I had with them back then - the support that helped me to stay on the right track during my rebel teenage years.

This site has taught me a lot about myself in such a brief period of time. I never thought I could dig as deep as I did, and have a better understanding of who I am as a person just by writing a single article. I was not expecting the amount of self-awareness that I gained through this site. I really enjoyed the hermit crab article, because they really guided me to find my true feelings. It was hard for me to get started writing at first and then once I got started, it was almost impossible to stop.

I love the feeling that I am in control of what I am writing and there are no restrictions and that I can be vulnerable in my writing. This site really helped me show the vulnerable side of who I am. I was sometimes moved to tears while I was writing because, I realized things about myself that I never thought to be true before. I would get so excited that I would read it to my family and friends. This writing was in no way easy, but it was definitely worth it for many reasons. I learned how to become a better writer, I learned about myself as a person, and I constructed pieces of writing that I didn’t know I was capable of.
All special Thanks to read.cash


7
$ 2.55
$ 2.00 from @ewyr
$ 0.49 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Crownofbeauty
+ 2
Avatar for Damideola
2 years ago

Comments

Thank you for sharing your life😊 you are an inspiration. Continue to be confident! Hoping to read more articles from you🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Know thy self. Really at that time can you completely use your latent capacity

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Know thy self. Only then can you fully utilise your potential

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have had an interesting life so far. Faced some highs faced some lows too. What I love about your story is that you don't stay down when you get hit. And you really love making friends

$ 0.00
2 years ago