Salary and mindset

0 20
Avatar for DM
Written by
2 years ago

Transitioning into working population of country and increase in headcount of those earning in family brings in a lot of pride and responsibilities. This is a phase which teaches you what you never knew while spending mom and dad's money. It will inculcate in you sense of controlled expense which was never there. Suddenly, a person like us who never had second thoughts before buying anything will stop and think, is this even important to buy right now. Suddenly, what others need will become priority and not what use might want for ourselves.

Some major changes which I observed in myself since I started earning :

  • I buy things after a reasoning process regarding why I need it and is it even important, or buying it is futile.

  • Though my family is well off, I still think of contributing as much as I can in household expenses.

  • I have this urge of buying things for my family.

  • I rarely spend on myself apart from eating outside.

  • I often plan as to how much should I spend in starting days of month. It's like I spend good amount in the beginning, go at a really slow pace in mid of month and finally I spend nicely again when the month end is there

Shift in mindset and reason :

Everyone mostly take themselves in picture only when they are not earning. Since mom and dad are taking care of everyone's needs and expenses in the family, we never get exposure to look into that domain. We have only wanted things so far and then we request them for it so as to acquire them. Therefore when it comes to thinking before earning, we think of ourselves only.

Soon as we start earning, we learn about what others want. Your sibling might expect something from you and it's your duty to buy them that thing. Also, we sure are thankful to parents for making us capable enough for this day and now, every burden of theirs is our to share. We want them to be happy and enjoying later years of their life. They surely have made many sacrifices to see the day when we finally "stand on our own feet" and now that it's done, it's there right to have some laid back years with minimal effort and maximized joy. In my case also, comfort of everyone who got me here is the biggest factor why I am not me centric now while spending whatever little I make.

There is this thing also that we don't want to ask parents for our own expenses anymore as we are independent. Being independent means we are gonna pay up for our small friends meetup, clothing, fuel, cravings, doctor visits etc etc. Whenever we go out to some relative's place, it's our responsibility now to get something on our own. Sense of independence and living up to it is also a reason.

What I have learnt so far :

I am a fresher to earning and spending. So far I have learnt that :

  • Spending after a reasoning process is good.

  • Being independent is great and you also need to check on your habits so as to be efficient in spending.

  • Well being and happiness of near and dear ones is must and investing capital on them brings happiness.

  • Checking on expenses is good. Keep track of good and bad investments and learn from them.

  • It's generous to give money to needy ones striving hard to make a living, begging.

  • Invest your money on stocks, crypto etc if it is sitting idle in you accounts but learn properly about them first.

  • Being independent is a responsibility also. You have to be cautious of many things, one of them is arrogance which should never take hold of you.

An emotional para :

It's not related to salary but simply an aspect related to any sort of success be it small or big. When you achieve something, you want those who cared about you like anything to be a part of it and want to do something for them too. It's all about people and relations. As for me, my grandma is the one I miss like anything. She always blessed me with elderly praises and it was like god talking to me myself. She always would say that you will become a super successful person some day and now when I could gift her something of my own proudly, she is gone.

Life is about people to a fair extent and whether you are in process or are done with it, never make those upset and be there for them who really are putting their best of efforts into your wellbeing in various ways.

Thanks for reading <3<3<3<3.

1
$ 1.23
$ 1.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of DM
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DM
Written by
2 years ago

Comments