My Dog's plight

6 21
Avatar for DM
Written by
2 years ago

Its summer over here in India and this time of year is really brutal for us Northerners. Just so you know, I don't have an air conditioner installed at my house yet. But the concern here is not my plight but my dogo's. Weather is really harsh on him. He lies here and there all day long and his activities are reduced to an almost zero. Whenever he tires to go out apart from his walk hours, I stop him as if he goes out and jumps like he usually does, he will soon attain a furnace's temperature.

Source : weather.com

As you can clearly see above, the highest temperature is 37 degrees and its really too much to handle for a dog covered in fur. He keeps his mouth open all the day. We are gonna have monsoon soon and its a matter of some 15 days or so but I am really worried about him. I am a bit relieved after seeing the weather report

What I have tried so far?

  • I get him bathed very often but sun diminishes all its effects.

  • I give him lots of cold water, cold butter milk, cold milk and add cold water to all his meals.

  • We only walk in shade these days.

  • I don't let him go outside like early times when he used to play on roof or porch.

  • I apply water occasionally on inner sides of his ear. I do so because his ear feel so hot when I touch them from inside and I think its only thoughtful to apply some cold water on them frequently.

  • Whenever he goes outside, I ensure applying wet cloth on his paws so that the heat from flooring doesn't make his paws hot.

  • I often mop floor, the areas where he lies so that the the floor gets cooler.

My dog responds really well after bathing but I can't manage to get him bathed everyday as I am a busy guy. Rest all less effective measures and I don't see him much happy after those. Also, it's lockdown here so I can't get any commodities from market which might help him and I am really stuck here. Earlier I used to feed him an ice cream everyday but it's hard to get one these days. I barely manage to get buttermilk from market due to lockdown.

His attitude : in hot weather vs cold :

When temperature falls, he wags tails, he roams here and there in house and seems happy. Also, he doesn't keeps his mouth open all the day and is enthusiastic whenever someone calls him out. I got him bathed on last Sunday only and he was happy as heaven. He also eats his meal properly when temperature is low.

Happy harry

When it's hot outside, he finds refuge under sofa or bedside under fan. He rarely comes out on calling his name, also doesn't looks excited. He tends to skip meal and takes liquid meals only. He shows good craze for walks in such situation too but gets all hot after he is done walking and lies by bed soon as he gets home. His wagging tale becomes a missing site in such scenario. I really miss him being happy and I wish it passes away soon.

Bloody heat

Why I shared all of it here?

My main reason to jot all of this sad tale over here is to get some help form you guys in my situation. Many of you might be having pets and FYI, mine is a 6 years old German Shepherd with a medium hair length. I invite suggestions from you guys about the same and the tricks you use domestically to keep your pet happy in such scorching situations. I have already mentioned my practices above and would love to read as many suggestions as I get. Please share the practices you follow and I would really appreciate domestic approaches and efficient ones in case of buying something online. I hope to get some precious opinions and cures from you guys.

I personally believe this a lot that our pet is our family and we should treat them none other than rest of members. So, my duty is to take care of him and I hope you guys are taking great care of your pets.

Thankyou for reading!!!!!!

Image source : https://unsplash.com/ and my samusung galaxy A71

1
$ 0.42
$ 0.42 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of DM
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DM
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Sorry to hear about your dog. Mine suffer too. The females are the only ones happy with water so I dug a point but there's rarely water in it. The only thing I can do is giving them shade and because mine lives outside that's all next to water and loss of hair. I think it would be better not to keep dogs (any pets) under circumstances they do not belong (mine are wolf breeds). You cannot shave yours but what you can do is make it lose some weight. You should feel his ribs, that's healthy. Dogs sweat by breathing and their those and this is all you can do. Be sure you ventilate the house well and I would say hang in, both of you. Keeping it easy is the only thing you can do next to water, cooling down and make him losing weight.

It's the first year you have him and deal with the heath?

We have no airco either, never had. Also not at the time we kept our dogs inside.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

thats a big relief...no I have him for 6 years but this time, its different. He really has put on some weight and grown hair so its hard for him. But glad to tell you that it's raining since last two three days and monsoon is here so I am a lot relieved of the fear of seeing him out of help. I really ensured to get him bathed in three days and in winters, I will wok on making him lose weight. Thankyou for replying. Your reply shows your concern and that's really awesome.

$ 0.00
User's avatar DM
2 years ago

You are welcome. Make him lose weight. It's no problem to not feed him once a week. This is normal. Otherwise give small portions and keep an eye on him. Dogs like these are vulnerable for over 500 diseases (the reason we didn't take them again). Perhaps he has heart issues or cancer (I hope not). They are tough and go on till they literally drop dead. That's what our dog did, one my friend had too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

no no mine is healthy...summmer will go soon rest I will follow ur advice

$ 0.00
User's avatar DM
2 years ago

Good luck to both of you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thanks a lot

$ 0.00
User's avatar DM
2 years ago