Moving to a new city

0 28
Avatar for DM
Written by
2 years ago

A new place changes everything. With change in environment, many other factors change. You meet all new people following a new city's culture, different means of transportation, nature of people, natural environment and a whole lot of other things which are to be setup : school, work and housing etc.

I will bring light upon this example with a personal experience of mine. I moved to Dehradun(India) some 150 kms away form Sringar where I used to live till 2010. On eve of 31st, I was almost about to reach here. Unlike the city where I used to live earlier, Dehradun is way bigger and capital of state I live in. On my way here on new year's eve, I witnessed whole city wrapped in beautiful lights welcoming new year and it was the first time for me seeing a city this large illuminated in colors of joy.

Changes I witnessed and you can relate to :

  • Changed natures of people: As in my case or maybe most of them, I witnessed that people in big cities are far less involved with other's life and they tend to mind their own business while back at my older city, people were lot involved with others.

  • Diversity : Rich diversity of people from different parts of country is something common to witness in big cities but as in many other cases, I have always experienced people from particular regions only.

  • Transport : Means of transport depend on terrain. According to the geography of the place and connections to other cities, you may witness railways, airways and animal pulled vehicles in cities where farming is done in abundance in India.

  • Playgrounds : I used to play football and was always fond of open grounds filled with players in eve but in new city, I experienced grounds scattered far away and not in reach of every one. It was all filled with houses

  • Food : There was variety of food available here. Some restaurants even offered international cuisines but I didn't even know many of them yet. What fascinated me was diversity of people bringing diversity in food.

  • Language : Of course everyone followed Hindi language(India's National Language) but its the dialect that was worth noticing. Everyone had their own version of the National language and new words were there to learn every now and then.

  • Geography of place : I moved from a hilly town to a city in plains and it was a big change.

  • Weather : Surrounded by rich variety of flora and fauna this place has a very pleasant weather and rains are dominant. Whenever it feels too hot, it rains. It is something my old city lacked in. It was very hot in summers and cold like hell in winters back there though it was very beautiful. You may notice this change easily enough.

Major challenges :

Settling down at new place is heck of a challenge itself :

  • Housing : Securing accommodation is a real deal in a new place. Either you have your own house ready or you have to rent one. In my case, back then, we rented a place with the help of a good friend of Dad's, prior to the time we shifted.

  • School : Admission in new school for your kids is gonna be a challenge too. You need to select perfect one from a variety of choices and for this, you need friends to discuss to.

  • Socializing : You sure do need new friends in new place so as to help you get comfortable with surroundings and they can help you with a number of things like telling you perfect places to buy goods, best snack corners, schools, hospitals etc..and of course, they aren't only for helping you but for making new moments of your own.

  • Getting used to transport : For travelling places within city, you need to know routes and means of transportation native to the place.

  • Getting used to environment : Change in atmosphere, environment asks for your body to get comfortable with it. Some things might not suit you but you need to get accustomed and it gradually happens with time mostly.

My city Dehradun :

image source : unsplash.com

image source : unsplash.com
image source : unsplash.com

Srinagar, where I lived before 2011 :

image source : https://www.euttaranchal.com/tourism/photos/srinagar-photos.php
image source : https://www.euttaranchal.com/tourism/photos/srinagar-photos.php

I wish you settle and manage things nicely, befriend a lot of people and make your mark in new place. As for me, we now have our own house here and I am really very glad that dad got transferred here.

New place bring new changes and challenges and I wish for your share of experiences to be beautiful and awesome.

Thanks for reading!!!!

2
$ 5.16
$ 5.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ewyr
Sponsors of DM
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DM
Written by
2 years ago

Comments