Having a younger brother

0 19
Avatar for DM
Written by
2 years ago

Life is incomplete and scary without those who care for us. With all those connected to us, we share different relations having sanctity of their own. Having a younger sibling is one such amazing gift as they are the ones in your age group, you both grow together and share secrets like friends, annoy each other but at times stand as unshakable support for each other. Younger brother is not just a relation but lifeline for me and I am excited to share the most relatable scenarios with him.

Childhood fights :

I was always the short tempered one and he was the notorious one. There is always those childhood brawls and quarrels over smallest and weirdest of things. Just for instance, I would often fight with my brother over favorite sitting spot and now that I write it here, it makes me feel idiotic. We would often fight and mother would intervene to sort it out. Those are really dearest memories as the smile they bring on our faces reminiscing is rare one.

Trips and visits :

Going to fair in childhood, buying favorite toys after hanging on father's shoulder and trips to grandma's place in our village are some of my favorite memories with my broda. There are a lot of trees of mango, guava and oranges back in our village and we used to climb them for no reason and spent hours over there in childhood. The tree used to be laden with guavas and we used to eat lots of them.

We were always so excited to visit the fair in our small town Srinagar as it is held once in year only and we really enjoyed giant wheel, colombo, tea cup ride, mini train and many more. Dad used to let us buy tickets for at most two or three rides in a day and we often used to get some toy for ourselves after pushing mommy. It is closest to my heart till date.

Grown up versions :

As we grew up we started quarrelling a lot, specially in high school and intermediate classes when we were developing our personalities. We played a lot of football together and were often the ones who gathered the local team to leave for nearest grounds. We were and are till date, partners in crime. Soon when I moved to other city for my college, he became alone and started developing as an individual of his own will. We had clash of opinions for a while when I used to return in vacations but I respected the fact that I now stay away. As the lockdown happened, I got a chance to replenish our bond again and soon it happened. We started respecting each other's space, started sharing loads of secrets and pretty much everything and he started respecting me as a big brother whom he can look up to when needed any kind of counselling or guidance be it studies, life or any other problem. It's very important to understand the psychological process of growing and respecting the changes that are inevitable and welcoming them to be closet to our loved ones. If you won't rationally think about the reason of change in behavior of your younger sibling, you are most probably gonna hurt their ego and then they can't accept or respect you as the bigger one. You need to be understanding and role model type at the same time.

Foodies for life and workout mates :

We eat a lot and celebrate movie nights very often. These are summers over here and ice cream is our all time love. A typical party night for us is after mom dad sleep off in their room, we download a movie after shortlisting as per IMDB and relish it over cheese maggie, chocolate icecream, chips and whatever we can get for night. To compensate all this, we workout together in eves and are running fellas too. We jog and sprint enjoying the open sky of scorched Dehradun these days and burn calories to look smart and stay healthy always. I really enjoy sharing common interests with him.

Lockdown :

Lockdown has its impacts on global level and many people lose their life to this cursed virus, sorry for them. I hate the present scenario too but it gave me chance to relish a time with my family and specially with my brother which would haven't taken place any time soon if it was the normal routine life. I enjoyed and knew the entirely new supportive dimension of brother's bond and love. We have grown in this period of two years as the pillars of family and I am glad to have felt it. Thanks top this platform too, I have been able to make some money of my own to add to our parties and gifts for everyone here.

Having siblings is blissful, try to understand them before judging and making distances with them.

Believe me, understanding brings forward "the heavenly horizons of relations".

Thanks for reading!!!!!

1
$ 0.28
$ 0.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of DM
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DM
Written by
2 years ago

Comments