Covid-19 crisis and end of college

2 27
Avatar for DM
Written by
3 years ago

The journey of four years came to a sad end as the pandemic hit bad at global level. I am talking about my college life here. It was a four year course but we only got to attend two and a half of the years fully and rest were from home only. Its sad how the best thing, our college journey which we cherished with our souls got its two years wasted due to covid crisis. This post is just out of my deep love and admiration for the changes I went through in these awesome four years of life.

I will give you all a thorough walkthrough and will share with you the experiences of life time you have in college. I am not going into academics here but how as a person, college changed me.

Starting year of my college life(1st year):-

This year was funny if anything. We entered college and we were hostelers. I had no previous experience of living in hostel prior to this. I would really love to share with you all a picture of my college campus just to show you how pretty it is.

My last click of campus(GBPIET PAURI)

It is indeed a beautiful campus in northern part of India and ranks 7th in the list of most beautiful college campus in India.

In the beginning i.e. 1 month or so, everyone who was senior to us used to say that you will soon be loving this place and company. We shared room and there were 4 of us in a room. In the beginning, home sickness were there and we were not used to eating in mess or sharing washrooms etc. But slowly as the time passed, we got into a schedule of our own. The formation of bonds started from this moment only and I really found many gems whom I never wanna loose in my journey. We would go for classes together and soon started making fun of each other. Night time was always fun and we mocked each other endlessly everyday. Only sleep would put an end to our fun. Apart from mocking, we shared school time experiences, those who shared common cities would discuss about the schools they went to, we got to know each other's likeness and past relationship experiences. We started getting comfortable like home with new homies.

We made a group of six in the starting days and we enjoyed things together. We used to play counter strike, a famous multiplayer game amongst teenagers, we would play fifa, pes and many others. We six people still know each other till date and we sure are homies for life.

I was never a an expressive person but this first year taught me expressing myself. I was kind of introvert which the first year took away with it. Before college, I had this habit of going alone to eat out but now, I would pocket some extra money and started asking someone everyone I head out to eat.

There is this strange habit whenever boys pay that they split bill very unevenly and I experienced it in first time in this year only. Every time we went out, one of us would pay heftily while the someone would find a way out of paying at all LOL.......It was fun extracting money out of homie's pocket and calling for a party even at a smallest of events of their lives like even when they get pocket money from home for a new month.

One little suggestion for first year, while learning all the habits try to find out a good friend for you whom you trust with guts and try to inculcate good habits in you. A friend of mine became a smoker, a big addict due to wrong company and direction.

Good foundations in the starting year always leads you towards your goals and since first year is least busy, you can explore everything available in your campus in a positive way and decide how you wanna give time to different things of your choice and also, how you wanna utilize the available resources in your campus for your goals.

Second Year:-

First year always stays in memories as one of exploration and immaturity. Whenever I see photos from our days back, I really can't believe the way I used to be.

Bonding between your batchmates starts intensifying in this year and most of us have already found out our tribe. In my case, I found my love of life in this year and I still praise that moment more than anything when I proposed her. This is the perfect year to start preparing for your goals. Now you know the environment well, all you need is to lay down a schedule for yourself and stick to it. But in the most of the cases in my country, we first do the Btech and then decide what we really wanna do in our lives LOL.

Intense birthday celebrations were a part of my college life and after knowing each other well, it gets even better. Back at hostels, sharp at 12 am, the person having birthday was beaten badly by the friends turned into a mob, as a strange celebration rooted deeply among the hostelers.

One thing which is really worth mentioning, by this time we knew all the secrets of our roommates, got a hang of what actually means to be important to someone and also, we developed habits of living together as a society in residential campus. Every festival of college was like a big zeal to us. Annual cultural fest and sports event were the best among all and it really felt great to be a part of something and striving to make a name of your own. I participated in inter branch football event and it was the big highlight of every year for every footballer.

Helping others at these events, cheering and being cheered, sportsmanship and leadership which I learnt was all so great and will always remain with me as precious values for the rest of my life.

High spirited souls forging deep bonds with each other were the major highlights of second year for me. And among all these events and gatherings, academics and relationships, we grew somewhere and started considering our college as our home. Going to our real homes was less entertaining now and staying in this ecosystem and celebrating together was always encouraged by everyone.

Third and last year staying in college:-

My beautiful college campus after rain

This was the best among all. After the end of our first semester of third year i.e. six months, we were to go on an all India trip exclusively conducted in our college only and all of my friends were excited for it from first year only. Our trip route included beach cities of India and being North Indians, most of us have never been to beaches. Me and my friends really broke a sweat in gym to get a summer body so as to look fit for beach. The sole goal of ours for this semester was only to get 100 percent ready for the remarkable trip ahead. We also asked other seniors about their experiences and if anything, they got us boosted more and more with their crazy experiences. Me and my bae were also excited for travelling together throughout the country. We did all the preparations and the trip did happen at the end of the year 2019. on 28 dec 2019, we left for Delhi from our hometown as all were to gather there and then all of my college students headed to Vizag through train. We celebrated new year 2020 in Vizag and it was an all new experience for me watching how crazy people were about new year in southern part of India. It was a almost twenty day trip and starting from Vizag, we went to Hyderabad, Bangalore, Kochi, Kovallam and finally the famous party destination of India i.e. Goa. It was an experience of lifetime enjoying all of those awesome places with so many people of on college only. For us, it was a dream come true.

After this tremendous experience, we got back home on 20 January 2020 and then we went to college for February only. From march till the date(6 may 2021), we went to college for short intervals only as the corona crisis allowed and finally its officially came to a sad end. We didn't even receive an elegant farewell and were sent back to our homes to attend remaining 2 months in online mode only. Thankfully, I got selected for a job role of software engineer through an online interview and will be joining there along with two of my friends very soon in August.

Covid-19 crisis is hitting all the domains badly and college life was one precious thing which was gracefully destroyed by it for many of the faces. The things I am carrying away from my college are so precious and dear to me and I will always respect them as my idols for life.

Thankyou for reading<3

3
$ 4.79
$ 4.79 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of DM
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DM
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

We all miss our campus life due to covid19 pandemic.. Don't know how long this continue.. But I really want to go back my beautiful campus day...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yes bro...it was something else being in campus and having fun..nobody is gonnna restore it anyhow....hoping for the healthy days ahead. Dont know where we are heading. TC

$ 0.00
User's avatar DM
3 years ago